Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $10.95
  • Save: $1.68 (15%)
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
Only 17 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Each Breath a Smile has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by Empire Media
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: COVER HAS WEAR TO CORNERS AND OR EDGES, SCUFFING AND SHELFWEAR. A5-424 Acceptable Condition: May include notes, markings, underlining, highlighting. Bent corners, scuffed edges and creased pages. Cover may have minor small tears, creasing, denting, scuffing, chipping, worn edges and shelf wear. Staining and water damage may be present in parts of the book. Your purchase of this used item will go towards the funding of programs for the Goodwill Industries of the Redwood Empire where we are "Changing lives and strengthening communities, through the dignity and power of work!"
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Each Breath a Smile Paperback – August 10, 2005

4.6 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$9.27
$3.50 $2.48

Top 20 lists in Books
Top 20 lists in Books
View the top 20 best sellers of all time, the most reviewed books of all time and some of our editors' favorite picks. Learn more
$9.27 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. Only 17 left in stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Each Breath a Smile
  • +
  • Peaceful Piggy Meditation (Albert Whitman Prairie Books)
  • +
  • Buddha at Bedtime: Tales of Love and Wisdom for You to Read with Your Child to Enchant, Enlighten and Inspire
Total price: $24.78
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Story by Sister Susan (Sr. Thuc Nghiem) a nun in the tradition of Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh; Illustrated by Nguyen Thi Hop and Dong.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Interested in the Audiobook Edition?
If you’re the author, publisher, or rights holder of this book, let ACX help you produce the audiobook.Learn more.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 3 - 7 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool - 2
  • Paperback: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Plum Blossom (February 1, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1888375221
  • ISBN-13: 978-1888375220
  • Product Dimensions: 8.6 x 0.1 x 11 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #198,312 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Each Breath A Smile by Sister Thuc Nghiem (Susan Swan) is a delightful picturebook based on the teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, a Vietnamese Zen master who has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. This gentle and charming book, illustrated in cheerful pastel colors, shows children how to relax and enjoy happiness through mindful breathing. "Breathing in, I see myself as a mountain. Breathing out, I feel solid. Mountain, sold. / Breathing in, I see myself as space. Breathing out, I feel free. Space, free." A thoughtful, reverently spiritual book, highly recommended picturebook for young readers.
Comment 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This beautifully simple book is deeply spiritual without being "religious." I have read it aloud in Grades K-3 including Special Education classes, and it always has a calming, reassuring effect on the children (and on me too!). It can be an introduction to quiet imagination/visualization activities or a concluding activity to help relax and focus a group. The book itself can be a kind of meditation exercise, since part of the text suggests breathing and calming the body in gentle, repetitive language. This is an excellent book to have on hand; it may be used regularly with the same group or in one particular lesson. Unique and highly recommended.
Comment 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Beautiful book for children to read. There is a real peaceful feeling throughout this book. Love the illustrations. Great introduction to the idea of mindful breathing for children.Every time I read this story...the kids seem to calm down. I also use A Boy and A Bear and Indigo Dreams to take the breathing concept a step further and actually teach the children the mechanics of breathing, I recommend Each Breath a Smile and I recommend teaching kids to breathe correctly. Also try Baby Buddhas for more ideas on how to teach
Comment 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book has beautiful pictures, and is good at teaching deep breathing. What I did not like, was that it sent the message that being mindful makes everything better. This is not the case, especially when the book is used in therapeutic situations. It also specifices how "beautiful" mother is, and how "wonderful" father is. This book is not appropriate for all family constilations.
5 Comments 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Love this book.

I bought this book for my 3 year old and the whole family loves it. It is a basic "story" that introduces skills for young ones to manage stressful situations and introduces them to the basic concept of meditation.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I was looking for a book to help me introduce concepts of mindfulness and meditation to my 22 month old toddler. This book does so in a simple, lovely way that is perfect for very little ones.

I wasn't sure whether my son would respond to the book, but I was pleasantly surprised (he's a big fan of Elmo, Grover and Ernie). The illustrations are both calming and engaging (lots of little kids for my son to ogle). I read the book slowly so we sometimes don't make it to the end before he jumps up to find another book, but most of the time, he asks me to read it again. I highly recommend it!
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book introduces children to mindful breathing and awareness, but steers clear of any explicit religious teachings. The text uses simple, repetitive phrases to create a sense of calm, and the pictures are in soothing but cheerful pastel colors. As other reviewers have noted,reading it was a meditation in itself, and both my daughter and I were noticeably more relaxed at the end. I think it can serve as a springboard for introducing children to spiritual contemplation of any type.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I have a little grandson who is 21mos old. I'm going to visit him in a few weeks and I'm taking this book. I think it will help the little guy learn to meditate.

I originally bought it for an older child and when I saw it I knew it wouldn't work for him.

If small children can learn to meditate they will have a powerful tool to have a clearer mind and a way to focus. This is very helpful in all areas of one's life. How nice to find it earlier than later.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Each Breath a Smile
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
This item: Each Breath a Smile