Customer Reviews


655 Reviews
5 star:
 (555)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


191 of 195 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive collection at last
There have been Eagles compilations before but this by far the best. It contains all the songs that could be found on earlier British and American compilations, plus a few songs never before included on any of them. And everything has been digitally re-mastered, sounding better than ever.
All the famous songs are here including Desperado, Take it to the limit, Lying...
Published on October 22, 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars perhaps spiteful?
Any 2 disc Eagles 'best of' that fails to include 'Try and Love Again,' 'I Wish You Peace,' 'Hollywood Waltz,' 'My Man,' 'Saturday Night,' and 'Twenty-One' is highly questionable. That goes double when something like 'Those Shoes' gets included. This collection over-emphasizes the final period of the Eagles and thus neglects the first four albums. I have no idea what the...
Published on July 14, 2008 by James Cantrell


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

191 of 195 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive collection at last, October 22, 2003
This review is from: Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD) (Audio CD)
There have been Eagles compilations before but this by far the best. It contains all the songs that could be found on earlier British and American compilations, plus a few songs never before included on any of them. And everything has been digitally re-mastered, sounding better than ever.
All the famous songs are here including Desperado, Take it to the limit, Lying eyes, Hotel California, Tequila sunrise, New kid in town and Best of my love to name just a few.
Aside from the obvious songs, you also get Please come home for Christmas (a song that has since become a standard), two songs from their Hell freezes over album (Love will keep us alive and Get over it), their recently recorded Hole in the world and several great album tracks, of which I particularly like Midnight flyer and Victim of love. A nice booklet with extensive liner notes is also included.
If you only buy one Eagles collection, make it this one. It has everything that most people will ever need, although there are still plenty of interesting songs on the original albums that couldn't be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


131 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Very Best of" that actually is, June 4, 2005
This review is from: Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD) (Audio CD)
After years of putting out "Greatest Hits" and "Best of..." packages, the record companies are now having to resort to greater hyperbole to sell the collections. The current trend of "The Very Best of..." sets is, in most cases, just another issue of the same old stuff that has, at least usually, been remastered. That is not the case with this set.

The Eagles are as much of an emblem of the American '70's as the Beatles were of the '60's. Each album that was released showed a band that was changing and maturing, both as musicians and as songwriters. By the time they got to the end of their run with "The Long Run" (no pun intended), they moved as far from their roots as the Beatles had in 1969. And like the Beatles, it was all good.

This collection manages to showcase this transformation in elegant style, taking the best from every album. There are at least 3 songs from each of their studio albums with "On the Border", "Hotel California", and "The Long Run" each contributing 6. The lone selection from their 1980 live album is also the only reason to own it, "Seven Bridges Road". Also included are the two best new songs from "Hell Freezes Over" and their post 9-11 tune, "Hole In The World".

Greatest Hits collections are seldom satisfying to the more than casual fan, leaving those of us who delve deep into back catalogs the desire to go and get more. The remarkable thing about this set is that over the course of two discs, a great band's career is effectively and satisfyingly summarized, leaving very little for further investigation that is truly of note. Which is not to say that this is all that the Eagles were. It is to say, however, that for everyone from the curious to the hardcore fan, this is a collection worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a Complete Eagles' Greatest Hits, October 27, 2003
This review is from: Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD) (Audio CD)
It's been a long time coming, but we finally got an Eagles package that includes all the hits and the choice AOR songs from the seventies. The question would be "what took them so darn long?!?" Part was contract disputes (there was supposed to be a complete hits collection in the 90's, but squabbles derailed that) and the question of the original albums being poorly mastered to CD. So I figure that, once Bill Szymczyk did the massive overview of each Eagles album in 2001, the band was willing to get behind a well made hits collection that combined their first Hits Disc with the much lamer Vol. 2.
It was well worth the wait. The sound quality is uniformly excellent throughout. You get all the great songs and no trumped up "bonus material" (crappie demos, alternate versions, hip-hop mixes, etc.) to distract you as the hits keep piling on. It's hard to imagine that these sounds were revolutionary in the early seventies, but they darn near soundtracked the period. There's the biker band rock of "James Dean," the country bluegrass feel of "Midnight Flyer," the decade defining "Hotel California" and "Life In The Fast Lane," and one of the all time great romantic ballads in "Take It To The Limit." It also helps that Henley and Frey were such great, visual songwriters - how can you not hear "Desperado" without a widescreen image of the west as defined by Los Angeles 1974 unraveling in your mind?
Add the exemplary liner notes from Don Henely and Glenn Frey as they discuss the origins of each song, and you have a five star collection to reminisce over and enjoy. All meat, no filler, flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Eagles greatest hits collection!, March 20, 2009
This is the best and most comprehensive greatest hits album available for the Eagles. It includes all of their big hits like "Take It Easy", "Best of My Love", "Lyin' Eyes", "One of These Nights", "Hotel California", "Heartache Tonight", and the more recent "Love Will Keep Us Alive". It also includes several classic album cuts that received airplay including "Desperado", "On the Border", "Victim of Love", and "In the City". It covers everything from their 1970's heyday right on through their 1990's reunion. To get a more comprehensive collection, you would have to buy a box set.

The only complaint I have about this set is that they left off one of their minor hits, "Outlaw Man" from 1973's "Desperado" album. But that is a relatively minor omission. This is still a great set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation of great music, March 6, 2005
This review is from: Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD) (Audio CD)
If there was one band who could successfully mix rock with country, it was the Eagles. Throughout their 30 year career in music, they have made some of the greatest and most memorable rock songs. From "Hotel California" to "Tequila Sunrise" each song is great. If you're an old fan of the Eagles or just a beginner, this is a must-have in your collection. Easily a 5-star album! I would have preferred songs such as "Life's Been Good" or "Dirty Laundry" (Don Healy) in place of either "James Dean" or "Doolin-Dalton" but overall it's a great compilation.

Disk One

1. Take it Easy- 10/10

2. Witchy Woman- 10/10

3. Peaceful Easy Feeling- 9/10

4. Desperado- 10/10

5. Tequila Sunrise- 10/10

6. Doolin-Dalton- 6/10

7. Already Gone- 10/10

8. The Best of My Love- 8/10

9. James Dean- 7/10

10. Ol' 55- 8/10

11. Midnight Flyer- 4/10

12. On the Border- 8/10

13. Lyin' Eyes- 10/10

14. One of These Nights- 10/10

15. Take it To the Limit- 7/10

16. After the Thrill is Gone- 8/10

17. Hotel California- 11/10

Disk Two

1. Life in the Fast Lane- 10/10

2. Wasted Time- 10/10

3. Victim of Love- 9/10

4. The Last Resort- 11/10

5. The New Kid in Town- 9/10

6. Please Come Home for Christmas- 8/10

7. Heartache Tonight- 10/10

8. The Sad Cafe- 10/10

9. I Can't Tell You Why- 10/10

10. The Long Run- 10/10

11. In The City- 10/10

12. Those Shoes- 10/10

13. The Seven Bridges Road (Live)- 8/10

14. Love Will Keep Us Alive- 10/10

15. Get Over It- 9/10

16. Hole in the World- 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Works Of Hits By The Eagles!, January 17, 2004
By 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD) (Audio CD)
This superb double disc work is surely the event of the year, given the fact that we finally hjave in one place all of the terrific folk-rock of one of the 1970s and early 1980s super groups. Well, all things are possible to those who wait, and our wait has been rewarded with a richly textured and memorable effort that covers many of their best previous songs as well as several new ones. Thus we trip from "Tequila Sunrise" to "Hotel California", from "New York Minute" to "Desperado", and from "Take It Easy" to "Life In The Fast Lane". The simple fact that they are out there creating and working together gives one hope for future works, and given other recent efforts like "A Hole In The World, included here, it appears they are again gathering and recording. Hope we don't have to wait for Hell to freeze over again. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best compilation of Eagles, May 29, 2006
This review is from: Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD) (Audio CD)
I'm really wondering, if their 1971-1975 Greatest hits went 29x Platinum why this release which includes their legendary "Hotel California" has been only certified 3x Platinum

It's been a long time coming, but we finally got an Eagles package that includes all the hits and the choice AOR songs from the seventies. The question would be "what took them so darn long?!?" Part was contract disputes (there was supposed to be a complete hits collection in the 90's, but squabbles derailed that) and the question of the original albums being poorly mastered to CD. So I figure that, once Bill Szymczyk did the massive overview of each Eagles album in 2001, the band was willing to get behind a well made hits collection that combined their first Hits Disc with the much lamer Vol. 2.

It was well worth the wait. The sound quality is uniformly excellent throughout. You get all the great songs and no trumped up "bonus material" (crappie demos, alternate versions, hip-hop mixes, etc.) to distract you as the hits keep piling on. It's hard to imagine that these sounds were revolutionary in the early seventies, but they darn near soundtracked the period. There's the biker band rock of "James Dean," the country bluegrass feel of "Midnight Flyer," the decade defining "Hotel California" and "Life In The Fast Lane," and one of the all time great romantic ballads in "Take It To The Limit." It also helps that Henley and Frey were such great, visual songwriters - how can you not hear "Desperado" without a widescreen image of the west as defined by Los Angeles 1974 unraveling in your mind?

Add the exemplary liner notes from Don Henely and Glenn Frey as they discuss the origins of each song, and you have a five star collection to reminisce over and enjoy. All meat, no filler, flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When music was music, November 14, 2003
By 
james r moreno (huntington beach, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD) (Audio CD)
In my opinion the greatest singing song writing duo of my time. Sorry Paul and John i was only a gleam in my daddy's eye in your prime. I have a brother that is 8 years my elder, my parents made him drive me everywhere. He had a black 68 mustang with an 8-track player. Foghat, steely dan, steve miller,areosmith all the greats. But there was one band i couldn't get enough of, The Eagles. The Long Run Had just been released, his girlfriend at the time got 2 as birthday gifts and gave me one. My first album, i played it everyday. Unfortunatly they broke up soon after, but the release of their greatest hits both volumes, the double cd live with seven bridges made me love them even more. The Hell freezes over album was o.k. but it was great to know the band knew why people loved them: hotel cal,tequela sunrise, etc, and they didn't dissapoint when i was fortunate enough to see them live at the rose bowl. i was blown away. Than again in 2002 i believe they played the forum. They opened with the 4 of them walking to the front of the stage and opening with seven bridges, incredible.
To sum this up thats exactly how to describe this album incredible. All the greatest hits on 2 cd's with a little mini diary of thoughts from both don and glen about each song.
An awesome gift for anybody who loves good old fashion rock and roll with people who can sing and play an instrument.
Thanks amazon for giving me the opportunity to let people know how great this double cd is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its the eagles I mean really, October 13, 2009
whats not to like here. I have always like the sound on this compilation...the flow is good and the feel or mood of the album just seems nice like a great radio station you know but its all eagles all the time. The sound is clear and its truely a greatist hits ...no B sides here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already Gone, October 26, 2008
Well folks, I suppose everything must end sometime because there is always a New Kid in Town. And, although it is true that I've been On the Border for some time, there is a need to Take It to The Limit and Get Over It. Right now, I am writing this from The Hotel California, and I'm seeing them dance in the courtyard with Those Shoes. Yep I definitely can see another Heartache Tonight. All these people are a Victim of Love and, what would you expect with their Lyin' Eyes? It's almost as sad as The Sad Cafe. I tell ya.

As far as the Presidential Campaign goes? I realized I became a Desperado and so, withdrew from the rat race. Now I Take It Easy and have a Peaceful Easy Feeling within. I will explain it all to you One of These Nights. I have no desire to live Life in the Fast Lane any longer.

While I was In the City I realized that After the Thrill is Gone, all you wind up with is Wasted Time. In The Long Run, I suppose it's best. I Can't Tell You Why this is so, perhaps it's just The Last Resort.

Now I am free. I can sit back, relax, and watch the Tequila Sunrise and know that Love Will Keep Us Alive. Oh sure, there might be some Witchy Woman out there, ready to put a Hole In the World, but I'm not worried. No. I got a James Dean haircut and will drive my Ol' 55 to hunt her down. After all, she could be the one behind all this mess.

Now I must go. And, please, no begging me to Please Come Home For Christmas. My lectures are booked up through 2010.

In summary - A superb collection by a premiere American Band. Essential to your musical collection.

Take care my people, many blessings to all, even those who didn't like my reviews. Be well.

"Oftentimes it happens, that we live our lives in chains,
and we never even know we have the key.."

Love, Metamorpho ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD)
Eagles : The Very Best Of (2CD) by Eagles (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.