Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, but no features
The transfer quality is nice, and all of the episodes are here. That's likely the best any EWJ fans are going to get, so I've probably won you over with that. Unfortunately there are no special features whatsoever on these discs. That's a little disappointing as even the old VHS releases of two episodes each had a short production feature. Including those four...
Published on December 4, 2012 by Kevin Holt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Show is great, presentation is poor.
Such a classic show based on a great and extremely challenging videogame series! This series has many memorable characters such as Peter Puppy, Queen Slug for a Butt, and of course Jim himself. All the episodes are here, which is great, but they definitely haven't been retouched at all since their original run.

This is one of the poorest retro releases I have...
Published 17 months ago by Brian G.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, but no features, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
The transfer quality is nice, and all of the episodes are here. That's likely the best any EWJ fans are going to get, so I've probably won you over with that. Unfortunately there are no special features whatsoever on these discs. That's a little disappointing as even the old VHS releases of two episodes each had a short production feature. Including those four segments on here would seem to be an easy add-on. Really though, the main draw are the funny, eclectic episodes of this unique series, so it's not a big lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It arrived today!, October 27, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
Yes, the region 1 version does exist! The case looked stepped on and at least one of the discs is scratched but that is just a hazard of buying anything through the mail. There really isn't much to say about this set. It has no extras whatsoever. The picture quality seems okay. It is NOT a bootleg and says NBC Universal on the cover and on each disc. It is a three disc set in an typical plastic case. The case is a good one, this one just has damage. There are 23 episodes which we think is all of them. There are 7 or 8 episodes on each disc. It should please any North American Earthworm Jim fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite Kids' WB cartoons back in the day!, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
I'm very happy to finally get this. I was afraid Amazon will not get anymore copies. This a very funny show and I love the comedic voice acting. If you or some geeky friend of yours watch cartoons, I recommended this cult classic. Now they have to get Road Rovers, Histeria!, Static Shock, Detention and !Mucha Lucha! on DVD next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad this finally saw the light of day, January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
I was a bit young when Earthworm Jim was actually airing on Kids' WB, but I do certainly remember the toyline and the general popularity of the franchise. In watching most of these episodes for the first time, I have been relatively impressed at how legitimately funny they are. EWJ is a lot like The Tick or Animaniacs, in that the humor is appropriate for kids but contains a lot of pop-culture references that only teens and adults would really appreciate. Simply put, there's enough dry humor and sarcasm to make the episodes worth watching today, regardless of nostalgia. Also, the voice acting is top-notch, especially Dan Castellaneta as Jim.

On the downside, the video/audio quality is mediocre (as some reviewers have noted), but clearly these were not taped off the air or anything like that. Additionally, there are no special features, which is even weirder considering that the VHS tapes had behind-the-scenes clips regarding the making of the show. On a final note, some of the episode titles in the menu are incorrectly flipped.

Also, I would like to add that I truly believe this set is NOT a bootleg--it is simply a lower-quality third-party distribution of a show that otherwise would never have made it onto DVD. As fans of EWJ may know, the rights to the character are a mess, so we're lucky that this set even exists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Show is great, presentation is poor., August 31, 2013
By 
Brian G. (Ottawa, ON CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
Such a classic show based on a great and extremely challenging videogame series! This series has many memorable characters such as Peter Puppy, Queen Slug for a Butt, and of course Jim himself. All the episodes are here, which is great, but they definitely haven't been retouched at all since their original run.

This is one of the poorest retro releases I have ever seen, worse than any Cookie Jar release to date (even C.O.P.S.). Universal has COMPLETELY dropped the ball on this one. The episodes have that classic tv blurriness, nothing serious but I have come to expect more from the DVD releases of my childhood favorites (see ReBoot, She-Ra, and Transformers for some amazing remastering). The absolute biggest disappointment has to be the way this was thrown together. The packaging is 100% bland, which is surprising considering what a ridiculous (in a good way) show Earthworm Jim was. The case is clear plastic, yet inside of the case is just plain white, no episode list, no artwork..... just the crisp white back of the cover slip. To continue our theme of ultra-boredom the on-screen menus are a single motionless picture of Jim, with the only options being "Play All" and "Episodes".

So in summary, the show itself was hilarious, this release however is nothing more than a rushed, effortless release aimed to capitalize on nostalgia...... and unfortunately if you were a fan of the show like I was, this is the only place to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What fans have been panting over for years, July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
I never thought I'd see this come into reality. Earthworm Jim was an animated series that ran for two seasons from 1995-1996 on Kid's WB TV. It's based on the surreal humor video game for Super Nintendo and Sega Genesis. The cartoon was unlike any other animated show. The show constantly breaks the fourth wall, which they do it in a way that is original.

Every episode leaves you laughing every second. There is not a dull moment in this series and that is something that most cartoons these days are lacking.

If you think that an extraterrestrial super suit that fell from space and landed on an earthworm then granted him super powers is funny and freaking awesome, then prepare to place an order.

Finally, the complete series of Earthworm Jim is here on dvd. The product is truly the best Earthworm Jim as ever looked. All 23 episodes of the series are here spread over three discs. There are no special features, but who cares? We finally have Earthworm Jim in complete series form.

The video and audio quality is the best Earthworm Jim as ever held. And now this dvd set is at a price that is unbeatable.

So log on to your amazon account and place an order for Earthworm Jim: The Complete Series. You will enjoy every second of this amazing animated series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Show is amazing, dvd's in this set not so much, August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
I love the show, what I hate is the unwatchable discs. I sent the first set back because it was about half mosaic/stopped playing altogether. I returned it, it was quickly replaced. The second set does the same thing; is unwatchable. I tried it on 2 different players and it is just poorly produced. Maybe you'll have better luck, but 2 bad sets in a row is not good news. I think I will ask for my money back and see how it goes, what a disappointment - I was so happy to find a complete series set...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what I hoped for., November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
always been a fan of this series was glad to see it get a dvd release at all if you love the series it's all here minus any extras but still better it got released at all then not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earthworm Jim, Hooray for him!, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
The Earthworm Jim cartoon was one-of-a-kind, and it is wonderful to be able to own the complete set. Not only does our somewhat naive but good-hearted annelid super hero stand out among the crowd of super heroes, he inhabits a totally zany and often hilarious world. A world where the lead evil scientist somehow ended up with a monkey growing out of his head, where a goldfish customarily plots planetary domination with the oratory style of a televangelist, where the furry sidekick copes with stress by turning into a monster and attacking our hero... can you think of any other fictional worlds anything like that???

The one annoying thing about this dvd is that the menu was done rather carelessly -- some of the episode titles got switched.

One other fact of interest for many Earthworm Jim fans is that the creators have finally gotten back together on another project, a new video game called "Armikrog". At the moment Armikrog has an open crowdfunding campaign in order to get enough funding to finish the project. If you're interested, try googling around to find the page for pre-orders or maybe even the finished game (depending on how much later you're reading this review).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm happy to be able to share some of my favorite ..., October 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Earthworm Jim (DVD)
I'm happy to be able to share some of my favorite cartoons with my 5-year-old. She requests them over and over, and of course the adults love them, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Earthworm Jim
Earthworm Jim by Na (DVD - 2012)
$29.98 $10.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.