East Lynne and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$22.99
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
East Lynne has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

East Lynne Paperback – July 6, 2010


See all 79 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, July 6, 2010
$22.99
$22.99 $8.99
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Best Books of the Year
See the Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.


Frequently Bought Together

East Lynne + Lady Audley's Secret (Oxford World's Classics)
Price for both: $34.34

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 446 pages
  • Publisher: FQ Books (July 6, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003VQRN00
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 1 x 11 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.8 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,834,993 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Excellent introduction, nicely presented. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

From the Publisher

The Broadview Literary Texts series is an effort to represent the ever-changing canon of literature in English by bringing together texts long regarded as classics with valuable, though lesser-known literature. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Domestic Virtues on April 5, 2006
Format: Paperback
I picked up an old copy of this Victorian novel in a used bookstore. It's not the sort of book I usually like much - the oft-told story of a woman seduced by a villain into leaving her happy home, and the shame, remorse, and misery that follow her downfall - but I found it very readable, I would even say a page-turner. Plenty of pathos and moralizing, as there generally is in these things, but much better than I expected.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By lesley9 on February 15, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I read the free public domain version of this book.
Its strength is its storyline. For modern readers, you may feel its weakness is in the context of its Victorian era, with the way it characterizes the actions, looks, and language of the people in it.

Children who say "hark", women who are constantly turning as pale as their clothes, men who shiver in horror, etc.

If you can get beyond this, you will find an enjoyable book with a fairly complex number of main characters with an increasingly twisty plot that solves a murder and at the same time adds a tale of love gone upside down. Mistaken identities, facts, motivations rule the plots.

A man is shot inside his house. The apparent murderer says he didn't do it but the one he accuses seems innocent, mostly because he couldn't be placed at the scene. On another front, a man and woman marry and start a family in happy circumstances. Then the man appears to fall for another woman, putting the wife in deep despair. She goes off with another man, later to regret abandoning her husband and children. Thinking her dead, the husband remarries only to have the first wife reappear in disguise to be the governess to their children.

The book sucked me in for hours at a time wondering what was going to happen next. Its also stayed with me well after I finished it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful By Kathleen M. Anez on March 1, 2002
Format: Paperback
I loved the novel "East Lynne" and am now reading it for the 2nd time. I could not put the book down and kept reading and reading. I recommended it to my mother and she also read it and loved it. It is Mrs. Henry Wood's greatest triumph. The reader feels so greatly for Lady Isabel, one wishes the ending were happier for her. The deaths of little William and finally Lady Isabel bring many tears. No wonder it was such a success in the Victorian era and it should be printed again in this time, to counter so much trash and vulgarity that is written.
I certainly can believe how successful it must have been when it was first printed in 1861. I also believe anyone who reads it wishes Lady Isabel back in her ex-husband's life and Barbara Hare out! Wonderful!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Robert G. on July 15, 2010
Format: Paperback
Potboiler, purple prose, hyperbole... perhaps. Frankly, I found this book to be addictive in its plot twists, melodrama, and suspense. Upon publication, East Lynne was indeed hugely successful, sellling over a half a million copies by the turn of the century. Twenty years after this Victorian bestseller's first appearance in 1861, its author, Mrs. Henry [Ellen] Wood, managed to garner more votes than Shakespeare and Dickens combined as polled reader's 'favorite author'(based, one supposes almost entirely on the popularity of East Lynne). Personally, I found this now-forgotten suspense classic to be highly engaging, artfully plotted ~ and certainly, one of the finest sensation novels ever penned. Highly recommended for devotees of romantic suspense ~ and a must-read for fans of Wilkie Collins, M.E. Braddon ~ or even Dickens.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer VINE VOICE on February 19, 2013
Format: Paperback
This 700-page novel published in 1861 is enormously enjoyable. East Lynne has everything to grab a reader’s attention and never let it go: a murder investigation, a love triangle, adultery, mystery, creepy but irresistible seducers and seductresses, and the kind of plot where something exciting happens on every single page. Of course, I can’t address every aspect of this great novel in a short review, so I will concentrate on the theme that interested me the most and that, I believe, is central to the novel: emotional stupidity.

Archibald Carlyle, the novel’s protagonist, is a good man. He is hard-working, sincere, loyal, honest, and kind. However, he possesses one tragic flaw that makes all of these admirable qualities completely useless. Mr. Carlyle has the emotional intelligence of a door knob. He is completely incapable of noticing that other human beings have feelings. His indifference to the emotional experiences of others rises to the level of sociopathy. As a result, Mr. Carlyle, who never willingly commits a bad or unkind act, ends up destroying people who are the closest to him. He loves his wife Isabel but it never crosses his mind to take her feelings seriously. Her husband’s utter emotional stupidity eventually drives Isabel to abandon her family. She is willing to do anything but continue living by the side of an emotionally dead man.

Whenever Mr. Carlyle is forced to confront the unexpected reality that human beings have feelings of their own and don’t move through life as smiling machines, he becomes very perplexed and dismisses this unwelcome realization. He walks through life leaving pain, suffering, and death in his wake. I think we have all met a few people who have the same flaw as Mr. Carlyle. Such folks might be very well-meaning and nice, yet their emotional stupidity makes them fatal. I don't fear a nasty evil-doer half as much as I do somebody who is emotionally stupid.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?