Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Father's Day Gifts Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis X-men Apocalypse GNO Outdoor Recreation

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
Price:$3.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 23, 2005
This disc is so compressed, that the movements look like painted animation! If Platinun Disc would release these as two to a disc, they would look much better. Don't bother with this 4-movie DVD, you can not watch it!

'NEATH THE BROOKLYN BRIDGE - Similar to the Alpha/Gotham edition but with more artifacting from the compression. Watchable.

PRIDE OF THE BOWERY - Unwatchable! So compressed that it is annoying to try to watch. There is a trade-off, the Alpha/Gotham copy has distorted & noisy audio which you can not understand.

MILLION DOLLAR KID - Similar to the Alpha/Gotham edition but with more artifacting from the compression. Watchable.

BOYS OF THE CITY - Unwatchable! So Compressed that it is annoying to try to watch.

Unless you plan to watch this on a 15" TV screen you had better look for other copies, even VHS copies!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
The description said it was closed captioned and it is NOT. I am hearing impaired and that is why I order this and two others and all of them said closed captioned and none of them were. I sorted through multiple items looking for the closed captioning so I am angry.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
"Boys of the City" has been a favorite movie of mine since I was a small child. To this day I can't watch it without laughing out loud. The other three movies on the disc are added bonuses, all entertaining. The service was great, and the product is just what I would expect from decades old movies, a few slight imperfections, but nothing that would take away from my enjoyment. I love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2015
Love 'em. Insite into the world of New York in the 30's and 40's if you weren't there. Soft gangs who had fun and some small trouble but were harmless otherwise. Funny movies with fun characters and concise stories. Some slapstick and crude humor, but no pofaniy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
There are two types of people- those that like the East Side/Dead End/Bowery Boys movies and those that don't.
If you fall into the former, then the question becomes - how bad is the print? These are not bad prints, not great, but until somebody ponies up the money to do a professional remaster, it is the best we can get.
If you are a fan, enjoy- if not- save your money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
Finally [they] are beginning to make these comedy classics available in quality commercially produced boxed sets. For years (decades) fans of these movies have had to scrounge them from late night TV broadcasts and they were always chopped up (edited) to allow for commercial interruptions. If you are a fan of these guys (as I am) then these are a must have. - SBJ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
Loved the Dead End Kids and their evolution to the East Side Kids and beyond. Would recommend to those that enjoy the Kids and serials.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
I love the East Side Kids because it captures the spirit of the people of that time period, not to mention that it is hillarious!! Good quality filming, a little fuzzy but very wachtable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2015
amusing very amusing, i loved these kids when was at school,many moons ago,and i still love them ,even though they are no longer with us,sad to say.w lester
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
My husband was extremely pleased with his Birthday gift! The old movies brought back many a memory and they are in excellent condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.