Qty:1
  • List Price: $11.99
  • Save: $1.40 (12%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for *FREE* Super Saver Shipping! Excellent customer service, qualifies for Amazon A to Z satisfaction. All pages and cover are intact (including the dust cover, if applicable). Spine may show signs of wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. May include "From the library of" labels.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Easter Bugs : A Springtime Pop-up by David A Carter Hardcover – February 1, 2001


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$10.59
$1.89 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"


Frequently Bought Together

Easter Bugs : A Springtime Pop-up by David A Carter + Where Are Baby's Easter Eggs?: A Lift-the-Flap Book (Karen Katz Lift-the-Flap Books) + Duck & Goose, Here Comes the Easter Bunny!
Price for all three: $24.07

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Kindle FreeTime Unlimited
Free one month trial
Get unlimited access to thousands of kid-safe books, apps and videos, for one low price, with Amazon FreeTime Unlimited. Get started for free. Learn more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 2 - 5 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool - Kindergarten
  • Hardcover: 14 pages
  • Publisher: Little Simon; Brdbk edition (February 1, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0689818629
  • ISBN-13: 978-0689818622
  • Product Dimensions: 7 x 0.8 x 5.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (64 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #204,335 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

David A. Carter, paper engineer extraordinaire, is back with more pop-up bugs! Fans of The 12 Bugs of Christmas, Alpha Bugs, Love Bugs, and the other silly pop-ups in Carter's insect series, will be delighted at the new surprises in store with Easter Bugs. "Spring has sprung and left winter behind. How many Easter Bugs can you find?" Who's in the dip-dyed rainbow egg? How about the egg with baby blue dots? The jeweled egg? The purple peekaboo egg? Inside each brightly decorated egg waits a new bug, unlike any you'll ever see in nature (unless genetic engineering goes awry). There's the fluffy yellow Chick-Chick Bug, with touchable fleecy soft fur. And some shiny silver Raindrop Bugs. There's even a bucktoothed Bunny Bug with turquoise spots. For a spectacular finale, Carter constructs a basket full of every insect depicted. Kids will have a grand old time guessing what kind of creepy-crawly critter lies behind each egg. Here's one delicious Easter treat that won't cause cavities! (Ages 3 to 6) --Emilie Coulter

From Publishers Weekly

Carter (The 12 Bugs of Christmas) gussies up his tried-and-true format in this pert pop-up, this time concealing his whimsical "bugs" behind Easter egg-shaped flaps. "Who's in the ruby red speckled egg?" asks the text on the first spread; pull down the flap of the speckled egg on the facing page and out slides a tulip-shaped "magenta Blooming Bug" behind three tall pop-up leaves. Carter's creations reflect spring: readers can stroke a fluffy yellow "Chick-Chick Bug" or admire the foil overlays on "shiny silver Raindrop Bugs." On the last spread, all the bugs appear in an elaborate pop-up basket of woven cardstock. The small, fits-in-a-basket size contributes to the considerable gift appeal. Ages 2-5.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.


More About the Author

David A. Carter is the mastermind behind the powerful Bug phenomenon that began in 1988 with the publication of How Many Bugs in a Box? Since then he has created a series of Bugs books with combined sales of nearly six million copies. His work, One Red Dot, was a New York Times best-seller and was highly praised by Newsweek and Entertainment Weekly magazines. He is also the author of the popular Blue 2. His Easter Bugs was a #1 New York Times bestseller for three years, and Halloween Bugs has been on that list for two years. He has also collaborated on Let's Make It Pop-Up!, Curious Critters, The Elements of Pop Up, and The Nutcracker. He lives in Auburn, California, with his wife and two daughters.

Customer Reviews

My 2 1/2 year old twin boys and I love this book.
LilyCat
My daughter laughs every time we come to that one.
daisykay
Well constructed & easy for little hands to work.
Susan Parker

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful By Autism Help Today, LLC on December 8, 2004
Format: Hardcover
My little boy is 10 months now, and ever since he got this book (when he was 6 months) he loves it. I mean L-O-V-E-S I-T !!! As soon as I pull it out he shakes with excitement. He LOVES flipping the easter eggs to discover the bugs underneath, and the last page is especially adorable, with all the bugs in a single easter basket. What an awesome concept. I have had to make some repairs with tape because it is hard to teach a 10 month old to be gentle ! ha ha. But it is SO worth it. This book is HIGHLY recommended even for little babies.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful By G. Bowser on April 21, 2003
Format: Hardcover
Different colored eggs on each page lift up to reveal the bugs in different costumes but the last page made me gasp as a beautiful Easter basket pops up by itself.Little bugs dangle from the handleof the basket filled with more delightful bugs. the child is then asked how many bugs he or she`found which encourages more careful observation of each page. This book is a real winner and a great bargain for the low price for a new book. Buy it now for next EAster because you will love it as much as your child. A three year old child who loves and respects books can handle this one alone but for the younger child, put it up to be read by an older child or adult. You don't find bargains like this one very often.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on March 30, 2001
Format: Hardcover
We received this book as a gift and both my 15 month old and four and a half year old loved it. It has very colorful pop outs,with a nice surprise at the end. The easter bunny must get this one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on October 9, 2009
Format: Hardcover
My boys (now age 5 & 9) ADORE David A. Carter's pop-up books in his "Bug" series and have for years!! We have a rather large collection of them. We haven't found one yet that they didn't enjoy. The artwork is engaging, the pop-up's are creative & the writing is silly & funny!

I probably wouldn't recommend the books for under the age of 3 to read/play with (unless the caregiver is handling the book) as some of the tabs & artwork can be torn if handles roughly. Once the kids have the hang of "touch nicely", these books are great for fun for all!!

Highly recommend!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By K. Coltabaugh on February 23, 2010
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is a cute book, but it's extremely fragile....Parts of mine were ripped when I received it - would never have made it through a week with my nephew. Concept a bit young for older kids, but too delicate for younger - not sure what the target age would be.....
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By M. Gundy on March 21, 2007
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I love David A. Carter's pop-up "bugs" books! I've bought several for my grandchildren, ages 5 and under, and they love them too! The pop-ups are so unique - unlike any others I've seen. I WILL be buying more of these books in the future!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By E. Masterson on May 12, 2007
Format: Hardcover
I loved this book, the pop ups were really delightful. I would buy the entire collection for my Grandson!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By ShannonPitt-Not on December 22, 2011
Format: Hardcover
I have a few of the Matthew Van Fleet books and my 18 month old loves them. I purchased this for a change of pace but it is very "tender". My son can't pull the tabs yet as he would pull them off. He can't even touch the pages or they will get ruined. This will be a fun book when he gets older though.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?