Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 early Eastwood films at a great price!
This mini 4 film collection is deal and a half. All 4 look great in their original aspect ratios and are enhanced for 16 X 9 widescreen TV's.
Audio is still the original mono but it sounds clean and clear.
Some good extra's on the Play Misty For Me disc, incl. a Clint Eastwood interview and the others have trailers and production notes.
Can't beat the value...
Published on February 18, 2009 by Darin K. Giard

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars these aren't as good as I'd hoped
I saw Eiger Sanction for the first time a few years ago and thought it was a pretty cool lesser known Clint film. This time around it nearly put me to sleep.
Coogan's Bluff is fairly well done but Clint's character is kind of a tool -but I guess that was cool for back then.
Haven't gotten to The Beguiled yet, not really interested in the Civil War.
Play...
Published 23 months ago by deeznuts


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 early Eastwood films at a great price!, February 18, 2009
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
This mini 4 film collection is deal and a half. All 4 look great in their original aspect ratios and are enhanced for 16 X 9 widescreen TV's.
Audio is still the original mono but it sounds clean and clear.
Some good extra's on the Play Misty For Me disc, incl. a Clint Eastwood interview and the others have trailers and production notes.
Can't beat the value for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Quartet of Eastwood Features, February 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
"Clint Eastwood: American Icon Collection" is a box set containing four Eastwood feature films. In his directorial debut, "Play Misty For Me," Eastwood stars as a radio DJ who becomes the victim of psychotic obsession when he tries to end a torrid affair with a fan (Jessica Walter) in a forerunner of "Fatal Attraction." "The Eiger Sanction" is an action thriller about a professional assassin who is forced out of retirement to avenge a friend's murder in the Swiss Alps. "Coogan's Bluff" finds Eastwood as a soft-spoken, no-nonsense Arizona lawman whose unusual methods of capturing an escaped murderer cause havoc with a tough New York City police lieutenant (Lee J. Cobb). "The Beguiled" is a psychological thriller that combines love, betrayal, and hidden passions. Eastwood is a wounded Civil War soldier who finds shelter in an all-girls academy.
In "The Beguiled," Eastwood's John McBurney is more of a sexual character than Eastwood typically portrays. Geraldine Page plays the wary headmistress and Elizabeth Hartman is the teacher who falls in love with him. Director Don Siegel shifts the tone of the film to one of horror about midway through, incorporating a good deal of violence.
The three-disc set includes many bonus extras, including a featurette on the making of "Play Misty For Me," a photo montage, production notes, and a featurette in which Eastwood and director Don Siegel discuss their five-film collaboration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome price for these four remastered films...they look terrific! And The Eiger Sanction in anamorphic widescreen, November 1, 2011
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
Just got to say, Universal did a fantastic job on remastering these Eastwood classics. Never seen The Eiger Sanction look so good and anamorphic widescreen!! The colors aren't bleeding everywhere and the dirt is finally cleaned up. Play Misty For Me looks just as good! I am shocked these titles look this good at this super low price for these four classics. Could be because Play and Eiger have their own discs, where Coogan's Bluff and Beguiled share a disc. Even with two movies crammed on one disc, never seen The Beguiled look this good!
The video quality alone is worth the price and not the lack of special features. Would one day like to hear some Eastwood commentary on Play Misty for Me, but that is a small thing compared to this great package!
Now Universal needs to go back and remaster the three western pack (they look good, but could be better).
If you love the Universal films Eastwood did in the late '60s and '70s, do yourself the favor and grab this set. It's hard to believe all these together are under ten bucks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally Anamorphic., March 12, 2009
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
This group of 4 movies are not Clint's greatest, but they are all finally done widescreen anamorphic.This is a big improvement in picture quality. The sound is good , but still just mono. Same audio/video quality as the previous "Western Icon Collection". My favorite in this group is "The Eiger Sanction", been waiting a long time for a decent presentation, and it's finally here and bargain priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant go wrong with Clint Eastwood, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
I love Eastwood's films. This package has 4 movie s on 3 disc. The Beguiled and Coogans Bluff come on one disc. But the disc is not double sided. Other 2 movies on separate disc. Good price for the four films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movies, Bargain Basement Cost., September 15, 2010
By 
Gary Peterson (San Diego, California USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
My wife and I have been enjoying watching Clint Eastwood movies and we found this "American Icon Collection" of four of his movies (Play Misty for Me, The Eiger Sanction, Coogan's Bluff and The Beguilded). I don't regard this as a collection of Eastwood's better movies, but all are quite good entertainment. Plus, as packaged, the movies cost only a little over four dollars each and to get high quality movies at this price is indeed a bargain.

I reviewed each of the movies separately, so I see little need to go back over the reviews here since you can get my thoughts by going to any of the titles. My favorite was "Play Misty for Me. "My least favorite was "The Beguiled." "Coogan's Bluff would rank second and "The Eiger Sanction" third. I gave Misty five stars and the other three four. Any of the movies are excellent, it only a matter of individual taste in the ranking. The main benefit here is a package of very good movies at a bargain basement cost.

Gary Peterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Very Good Eastwood Films + 1, October 7, 2011
By 
Craig Case (Oklahoma City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
We found the Eiger Sanction to be a complete and total bore but the other three more than made up for it. These films have been reviewed over and over here so I'll get to the point. We hadn't seen "The Beguiled" (which is our favorite) totally intact before. We didn't see it in the theater and when it got to commercial TV it was criminally butchered for our own protection. I don't want to spoil it for those of you who haven't seen it but it was like seeing the film for the first time. There is some very disturbing information about the family that was "edited" out as I said for our own good. "Misty" and "Coogan" are great fun and as good as ever. The test of a good film is the desire to view it over and over even after you know the ending. The fun is getting there. Honestly this package is one of the best bargains I've ever encountered. I couldn't see "punishing" the other three films which I give high ratings. Eiger Sanction by itself would be a 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice collection, October 22, 2009
By 
P. Johnson (Vancouver, BC CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
A good collection of his early films, including his first time as a director. Not much extra beyond the films except for a well done segment interviewing him about his role as a first-time director. an excellent segment, making the collection worth purchasing if you have seen all the films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood: American Icon Collection, April 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
Play Misty For Me is a great thriller, up there with Alfred Hitchcock! The other movies in the collection are enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 GOOD MOVIES AND THE EIGER SANCTION, November 14, 2009
This review is from: Clint Eastwood American Icon Collection (Play Misty for Me / The Eiger Sanction / Coogan's Bluff / The Beguiled) (DVD)
I stumbled across this collection at Wal-Mart and snatched it up. I figured for $12.00, it was a low-risk purchase.

Turns out, it was a great deal. Each of these movies has been remastered and looks/sounds great. "Misty" was the first film Eastwood directed, but even back then the man clearly had talent. "Misty" is, in fact, a very good suspense film, with plenty of clever touches and intelligent subtext to match. (Note at the beginning of the film, Eastwood's character is outside his former girlfriend's house looking through the window. Here HE is the stalker.) The only flaw in the film is a rather amateurish soundtrack. Eastwood had a limited budget, and the composer he hired had never scored a film before. Also, there's an extended romantic scene between Eastwood and Donna Mills that frankly seems to belong in a different film.

The "Beguiled" is definitely one of director Don Siegel's most ambitious, artful films, and it's entertaining seeing Eastwood play a character who's a lot more complictated than, say, Dirty Harry.

"Coogen's Bluff," was also helmed by Siegel. The story is fairly entertaining, but the real fun is seeing an Eastwood character making his way through a New York City setting. As far as I know, this is the only film where that takes place.

As for the "Eiger Sanction," the less said the better. The script is incredibly stupid, which goes to show Eastwood is a good director only as long as he has a decent script. It's hard to believe how he gave a pass to some of the lines the characters in this film utter.

Along with the movies is a good documentary about "Misty" with interviews by the participlants thirty years later, and a second documentary about the films Siegel and Eastwood made together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.