Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Clint Eastwood Western Icon Collection (High Plains Drifter / Joe Kidd / Two Mules For Sister Sara)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2008
I'm a huge fan of Clint Eastwood ---- and always will be ---- so naturally I just had to get this collection. This is basically a three-pack set containing three of his westerns from Universal Pictures: High Plains Drifter (1973), Joe Kidd (1972) and Two Mules for Sister Sara (1969), all of which are great films. The color and picture transfer for each is nice, complete with a high-quality anamorphic widescreen presentation. My only complaint against this set is a total lack of any extra features for any of the movies, save for a theatrical trailer for each. Other than that, there's no commentaries, no deleted scenes, no extra footage, no featurettes, not even so much as a scene selection option on the main menu. Even the original single-disc editions of these movies had that! The three movies are contained on 2 discs ; disc 1 contains 'High Plains Drifter' and 'Joe Kidd', while disc 2 contains 'Two Mules for Sister Sara' solo. All in all, I'm not disappointed at having gotten this collection ------ I'm glad to have it, but the complete absence of any extra features that would have enhanced the viewing experience is unfulfilling. These are good Clint Eastwood films but they deserved better, more thorough dvd treatment than they received here. One gets the impression that this collection was hastily assembled and released just to make a quick buck. This set still gets my postive endorsement, but just be advised that you will find nothing here other than the movies themselves.
22 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2007
All three movies have been digitally remastered, but unfortunately the sound wasn't. Just the basic Dolby recording which is disappointing. And the only extras offered are the theater trailers; no deleted scenes, interviews, photo stills or any of the other things we've come to expect from these types of collections. Great movies but delivered in a mediocre way.
22 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2011
If you are not looking for special features and just want an inexpensive way to own three great Eastwood westerns, all for the price of one, this set is for you.

The films included are High Plains Drifter, Joe Kidd, and Two Mules For Sister Sara. They have all been remastered and look great here. This would be a good, inexpensive way to get your Eastwood western collection started. And unlike many similar sets, none of these three films are duds.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My wife and I like to watch movies late at night before we go to bed. Lately, we've been watching a lot of Clint Eastwood movies, including the Western Icon Collection. This set includes three real fine Eastwood movies: "High Plains Drifter," Joe Kidd" and "Two Mules for Sister Sara." I'm a geologist and I got a kick out of viewing "High Plains Drifter" in that it wasn't filmed in the High Plains at all but rather at Mono Lake in California. Joe Kidd was filmed in the foothills of the eastern Sierra Nevada near Lone Pine in California. Both settings appealed to me and I have visited them many times prior to even being aware of these movies.

A word of warning is due. All Clint Eastwood movies tend to be violent in one way or another. So many people are killed in this set it's hard to keep up with a body count. Add fist fights, beatings and miscellaneous mayhem. If this bothers you in any way, don't order this set and then complain. Personally, I have no objection as it's just action-packed fiction and makes for excitement and good story telling. Plus, the people biting the dust are generally really despicable characters. In a way, all the violence and the despicable heavies actually present somewhat humorous watching.

"Two Mules for Sister Sara" is a rather unusual Eastwood movie. Here, Eastwood rescues a nun from three creeps who are about to do her no good. The nun was played by Shirley MacLaine. Well, after Eastwood and MacLaine reluctantly team up we gradually find out that she's a hard drinking, cigar smoking and foul mouthed Sister who's totally comfortable with blowing up a trainload of soldiers. The train destruction is spectacular, by the way. In any case, the tale ends up as something of a romance and makes for a rather delightful story.

This is an excellent set of DVDs, I'd rate each movie as five stars, and the whole packet is not only good but it's inexpensive.

Gary Peterson
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 21, 2008
You have to admit the price for this Clint Eastwood Western Icon collection is hard to beat, but what you get is a bare-bones product. Three movies, two discs, and only the theatrical trailers as extras. Oh, you get them in another language if you want. I looked to see what other languages were offered on Two Mules For Sister Sara and was surprised to find that French rather than Spanish is the viewer's only alternative to English. There are no liner notes to speak of except for the rather simplistic one-sentence summaries of the movies on both the clamshell cover and it's protective box.
High Plains Drifter is one of the best Eastwood-acted and Eastwood-directed westerns. That he learned well from mentor Sergio Leone is quite apparent throughout. Though the setting is hardly in the high plains (looks like Mono Lake in the eastern Sierras to me), it is an ideal setting, both high and lonesome, for the saga that unfolds. If you watch and listen closely, you will notice that Eastwood's character is the incarnation of the spirit of a murdered marshal the townsfolk had heartlessly buried in an unmarked grave after arranging his being whipped to death in order to protect the interests of local businessmen. The marshal's spirit has a plan and the calculated way he takes his revenge is a delight to see! There are a few anachronisms in the film, see if you can pick them out.
Joe Kidd is on the same disc with High Plains Drifter. I'd never seen nor heard of it before but found it to be a powerful film. The story pits Anglo land-grabbers who have "the law" on their side against indigenous and Mexican residents of New Mexico who hold Spanish and Mexican land grants that pre-dated the Mexican war of 1848. The greediest of the Anglos will stop at nothing, even mass murder, to enforce their claims while dispossessed native land owners take up arms in desperate opposition since the territorial courts refuse to acknowledge their prior ownership. Though Eastwood was hired by the wealthy Anglos as a guide into the country where rebel leader Luis Chama and his band are holed up, his usual keen sense of justice has him turn on his employers when mass murder of unarmed peasants appears imminent. And that's where the fun begins. As with the preceding films, Joe Kidd contains a number of anachronisms. See if you can spot them.
Two Mules For Sister Sara takes us south of the border into the middle of the Juarista battle against the French interlopers who conquered Mexico in the mid-19th century. The action begins when Eastwood rescues a putative nun from a band of greasy would-be rapists and then learns she is on the run from the French as a Juarista spy. As it turns out, Eastwood has a deal with a Juarista colonel in which he stands to make a lot of money if he comes through. Eastwood's single-minded pursuit of money juxtaposed with the more other-worldly concerns of the "nun" make for a lot of comedy and a lot of action. The ending is a thriller! Those who appreciate the inventive sound-tracks of the early Clint Eastwood westerns should especially appreciate Ennio Morricone's unusually bleak, sun-baked compositions for this film.
It is important to remember that these films go far beyond mere shoot 'em up thrillers. For those who can look beyond the frissons of delight generated by the vengeful but judicious violence, there are a lot of issues raised that stimulate the intellect. Try to understand the lessons that Eastwood imparts while roaring with delight as each bad guy receives his condign punishment.
Since I liked all three movies a lot, I would give this set five stars were it not for the cheap production. Despite its drawbacks as a box set, I still recommend it highly for any who like Eastwood's style.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2015
With me, being Conservative, Christian, and Career Veteran, Clint did in olden days, on film, what we did, modern day on water (or under water, as mostly my case). Excellent film, Fantastic lesson to learn, Defend your freedom, or some as....ole will try to screw you out of yours. AMEN (Oh, the movie is excellent, all by itself, also (Grin)).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2015
An incredible collection at an incredible price!
Picture Audio and Video Quality Superb Throughout!
Scripts taught, expressive and well performed.
Surprise fun endings throughout! Just a fun, pleasure to watch. "Stolen" for $7.79!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
As usual Clint is fearless and shoots a bunch of deadbeat cowhands. All in the name of justice. He actually climbs into bed with a couple of women, but Clint was younger when these films were made. In High Plains Drifter, the town is located by a beautiful seashore. Preachers are always depicted as cowards and hypocrites. Joe Kidd is good also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2014
In the Collection you get High Plains Drifter where Eastwood plays a mysterious stranger, Joe Kidd which I have never seen before, and Two Mules for Sister Sara in which Eastwood plays a cowboy falling in love with Shirley MacClaine posing as a nun but in reality is a whore in a brothel. Sister Sara in my opinion is humorous and an adventure film in one. P. Corti.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2014
these westerns are classic and are great for any Clint fans the set contains TWO MULEES FOR SISTER SARAH JOE KIDD AND HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER CLASSIC WESTERNS PACKED GOOD IN A KEEPCASE WHICH HAS TWO DISK TWO FETURES ON ONE ON ANOTHOR any clint fan should buy this set because it is 3 film for the prince of one and is simpler to obtain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.