Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic but yet Powerfull
If your going to France or anywhere where English is not the primary language, you should at least pick up a book that will help you get by. I travel from time to time to Paris and I found it very useful to have. It is small enough to carry around.
Published on July 30, 2001 by Brian Huey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Search Other Places
This is a great book to have when learning french, but make sure to buy it somewhere else other than on amazon.com. The book originally is $2.00 and I got it on here for $4 because of shipping and everything. This book is slim and easy to understand but still lacks small essentials in fully understanding the language, so don't think to highly of it. I was somewhat...
Published 23 months ago by 8888


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic but yet Powerfull, July 30, 2001
By 
Brian Huey (Kennesaw, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
If your going to France or anywhere where English is not the primary language, you should at least pick up a book that will help you get by. I travel from time to time to Paris and I found it very useful to have. It is small enough to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Phrase Book, September 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
Excellent traveler's tool: concise, lightweight, easy to fit in handbag or coat pocket. All of the basic subjects covered. Pronunciation guides easy to use. Helpful index. Bare-bones approach to help non-French-speakers communicate while traveling within French-speaking populations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neat little book & handy too, February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
I especially like to phonetic pronunciation that goes along with standard French spelling of entry words. Also, the index at the back is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent phrase book, February 6, 2012
By 
Shailah (Madison, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
This book is surprisingly thin, but the content is helpful. If you don't know any French, this is the book for you. It provides some common phrases on a variety of subjects, and also includes pronunciation.

One note: This book was originally published in 1956, so some things may be out of date. For example, asking to develop a roll of film, and calling a waiter garçon. I've been told by my French teacher that it's rude to call waiters garçon nowadays (which means "boy"), so, be warned. As far as I can tell, though, everything else is accurate and simple.

This book doesn't teach you how to have a conversation with a French person. It teaches you how to say basic things (Such as "where is the train station," "how much does it cost," "thank you," etc.). This would probably be a particularly good book for tourists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the basics, October 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just returned from France. This book was a good value, and gave me a good base for interpreting some things. I found it somewhat lacking on menu terms - common ones are in here, but not enough to figure out what each basic component was (for example, toppings to be added to an omelet). It was easy to search when needed. I'm glad that I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, November 8, 2011
By 
Valerie Norman (EL PASO, TEXAS, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
I love this book. French was not easy for me to anunciate so this book helped a lot to show how to. It shows the english word, the french word then the phonics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lifesaver...not in a literal sense, but in a general one., April 3, 2012
By 
Amie (Dallas, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
I was not able to save a human being from the clutches of death, but I was able to order, request the check, and make very low level French conversation with Parisians while on vacation.

The book breaks it into settings, so you won't be too lost for the right page when you're in a hurry. I had no trouble being understood, and people were happy to hear me try, and then switch to English if they spoke it. Although the switch was probably because they would have given anything to stop hearing me butcher more of the beautiful language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic french phrase book., March 28, 2012
By 
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
It worked for me. Basic French, was able to go shopping in Paris on my own with my very limited French. I really appreciate the pronunciation hints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and Handy Little Book to Refresh my Memory!, May 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
This is a nice and handy book with "just enough" information! It also has a glossary, and a section on different scenarios, with different sub-headings; for example: "Restaurant", "Train Station", and more! Also handy: was a section of the most important words; for example: from, with, besides, next, there, here (basically, this book has all of those little words that we use all of the time). This book is light-weight --and I can see that it would help most people pronounce the words properly --and even have a great time --in France (or French speaking countries)! This book is small --but extremely well-organized!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Search Other Places, October 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy French Phrase Book: Over 750 Phrases for Everyday Use (Dover Language Guides French) (Paperback)
This is a great book to have when learning french, but make sure to buy it somewhere else other than on amazon.com. The book originally is $2.00 and I got it on here for $4 because of shipping and everything. This book is slim and easy to understand but still lacks small essentials in fully understanding the language, so don't think to highly of it. I was somewhat disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.