Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction To Origami
This book is a good introduction to anyone who is interested in exploring origami and what it has to offer. The models in this book can be done by anyone, even if they have never had any origami experience. The diagrams are clear, concise, and to the point. By constructing the models in this book, one not only can create various paper works such as fish, birds,...
Published on June 19, 2000

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts simple and stays simple
This is a good starter book as it claims to be.. but as I leafed through it I realized that anyone who has had even some remote experience with origami or paper crafts will find this book ... perhaps too basic.

I was hoping for at least a couple of more 'exciting' or slightly advanced projects at the end of the book, but the book stays simple till the end...
Published on May 6, 2008 by Gouri Vidwans


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction To Origami, June 19, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
This book is a good introduction to anyone who is interested in exploring origami and what it has to offer. The models in this book can be done by anyone, even if they have never had any origami experience. The diagrams are clear, concise, and to the point. By constructing the models in this book, one not only can create various paper works such as fish, birds, boats, windmills, but also learns basic origami folds and techniques which are fundamental to more intermediate and advanced folding, if one wishes to continue in this discipline. All in all, I highly recommend this book to beginners and newcomers to origami.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect starter book for origami, August 3, 2002
By 
Susan (Ramona, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
I teach an art program for children. Of the many glamorous origami books that I've used with my students, this is the book they always want - the book they grab and fight over! In fact so many of my copies have disappeared that now I need to order more! The price is right which is another great thing about this book. The projects are organized in a logical manner starting easy and getting progressively harder. Teachers: I always start my students off with guided instruction on the first few lessons, then they are usually capable of managing on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Craft Book for Kids, September 2, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
My daughter used this book immediately on the day it was received and continues to use it. The instructions are clear and easily understood. It is an excellent beginning origami book. My 8 year old daughter has enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As easy as you can get, April 15, 2004
By 
A. Hinojosa (Sleepy Hollow, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
This book is one of the simplest out there. I use this book with 4th-6th grade children who have never paper folded before. Although the direction key is at the beginning of the book, written instructions are still included with each figure enabling the reader to connect the symbols with the folding results. It such a great book to go at your own pace. The ease of the instructions allow the individual to begin to trust their own decisions of going back and redoing a particular fold.
A little disclaimer: The simplicity of the first few pages are helpful to increase the comfort of paper folding. However, because they are not elaborate in design, some of the objects require a little imagination to "see" the animal or subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST for learning Origami, January 10, 2004
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
I bought this book a long time ago and trust me I did not pay $3.95 usd for it. I think back then the Canadian currency was really bad so I ended up paying about $10 cdn. It's a great buy! If you are interested in origami and feel intimidating that it's hard to learn, do not worry! Like previous reviewers that have given it a perfect 5, this book definitely deserves it.
First off, if you have no idea how to make a perfect "square" with a standard 8" by 11" paper, put it horizontal to the 8" side making it a tall-building-like-rectangle. Let's call the bottom facing you Side A. Let's name Side B be the 11" side that is on the right side. On Side A, take the bottom-left hand corner and bring it across to the opposite-adjacent (Side B), until the center of page makes a vertical crease across the page. You will see a rectangle, left over on the top above Side A's corner. Cut this rectangle excess off and now you have a perfect square! ^_^
Okay, now back to the actual book ^_^; it includes a basic introduction step-by-step on "base" origami along with a "symbol" page, as in an loopie-arrow would mean to flip over or something. All of the origami projects are step-by-step with pictures! It's read from left-to-right since it's in English =P and has number steps. For each step there is a diagram (shaded in grey and white, to contrast the front from the back) and below gives simple instructions. I had this book since I was in grade 4 so it's that EASY! It's a very affordable price (aka cheap =P) BUT does not hold out on details for beginners.
After going through all these projects, it's time to promote yourself by buying actual origami paper. Trust me, after completing all 32 you will probably be bored with all the white origami paper around you. Thankfully Amazon sells paper but I'm sure you can find them at local asian area. There are a lot of paper-quality and are very beautiful like kimono patterns. I love the foil-sparkley-flower-pattern kind but they can be a bit more expensive than regular origami paper. Most origami paper comes in pretty colours and some even with simple patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts simple and stays simple, May 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
This is a good starter book as it claims to be.. but as I leafed through it I realized that anyone who has had even some remote experience with origami or paper crafts will find this book ... perhaps too basic.

I was hoping for at least a couple of more 'exciting' or slightly advanced projects at the end of the book, but the book stays simple till the end. Also, paper with both coloured sides looks better even for some of the basic designs.

Other than that, it offers exactly what it says on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice stocking stuffer, August 7, 2006
By 
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
This little bookk, at a great price, makes a nice intro to origami. It is very basic. I found that most of the paterns in this book are repeated in Montroll's "Teach Yourself Origami," so I passed this on on to a cousin who was intrigued when she saw what I'd been doing. It's fine as far as it goes, but it isn't intended to go vary far. You can't beat the price. I thought it was a misprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody likes a penguin, October 4, 2004
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
If ever there was a perfect harmony between a man and his folded paper, one example stands out above all the rest. This book is a great buy in my opinion if for no other reason than the origami penguin. The penguin is a very complex animal. Mr. Montroll takes all of its real world complexity and channels that energy into one of the most easily constructed origami projects.

As of the writing of this review, I have folded 162 penguins. The $3.95 makes up for itself in the money you will save on gifts. 133 of my 162 penguins have been doled out to family and friends on special occasions. The other 29 decorate my humble home. With a little paint work, the origami penguin traverses all religious holidays: Yarmulkahs for Hanukkah or candy canes for Christmas are both appropriate.

Sadako's 1000 origami cranes is easily within my grasp, I am currently averaging 6 penguins per day with an all time high of 14* (*the 14 were unpainted) in a single day. I will concede that Sadako was quite sick during her origami career. For this reason, I will consider myself the origami champion if I complete 1500 penguins.

I do have one caution. If you do not immediately fall in love with one of the 32 projects, the book should be discarded immediately. If you are as lucky as I was and are smitten by one of the projects, you too will find a lifelong friend in origami.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Origami - A great book, August 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
If you're a novice to origami, Easy Origami is the book for you. With simple, clear instructions, it helps you to create the most beautiful projects. A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Montross...., October 4, 2004
By 
This review is from: Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) (Paperback)
...The next Akira Yoshizawa. In this exhilarating triumph, Montross conscientiously but fervently makes the case for easy origami. In a world where the art of origami is quickly becoming an obscure relic, practiced largely by only a few extremely advanced innovators and American 3rd-6th graders, "Easy Origami" pioneers the edge of the origami frontier, and, mark my words, will make Montross a figurehead in the new origami movement.

I loved this book and I recommend it to anyone on either side of the origami culture war which has become so divisive in the paper-folding world. The simplicity and elegance of Montross's diagrams are unsurpassed in origami literature today. While many of today's leading origami artists remain obsessed with complexity and increasingly abstract paper-folding visions, Montross brings origami back to its roots. His figures are evocative of a gritty nostalgia which any true origami fan must admire. But he isn't bogged down by tradition, either. He controversially suggests on page 21 that one should feel free to experiment with the color of one's figures and even goes on to diagram-get this-a purple frog! Whether it's his take on the traditionally marginalized occult and fortune-telling figures or his emphasis on basic folding techniques, you can't miss with John Montross here. He's the new Noam Chomsky of Origami.

People in origami will be using this book for years to come. Thank you, John Montross, for showing the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft)
Easy Origami (Dover Origami Papercraft) by John Montroll (Paperback - October 5, 1992)
$3.95 $2.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.