Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amiable counter-clash comedy with a dark undertow.
Although it never deadens itself with too much period detail, you can almost touch the 1940s atmosphere in Wayne Wang's film, the dark rooms and grey streets occasionally filtered by cold sunlight. 'Eat A Bowl Of Tea' recreates a crucial moment in Chinese-American history - the relaxing of inequitable immigration laws that had prevented Chinamen bringing their women into...
Published on February 25, 2002 by darragh o'donoghue

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more emasculation of Asian-American men
This film is important and needed for three reasons. One, you get to see supa-fine Russell Wong. Two, rarely do you see a movie with so many Asian-American men. Three, this movie illustrates that Asians did live in the US before 1965's liberalization of immigration laws. Still, in this movie, when Russell is a gigolo for a white female client, he's sexually active...
Published on October 18, 2002 by Jeffery Mingo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amiable counter-clash comedy with a dark undertow., February 25, 2002
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Although it never deadens itself with too much period detail, you can almost touch the 1940s atmosphere in Wayne Wang's film, the dark rooms and grey streets occasionally filtered by cold sunlight. 'Eat A Bowl Of Tea' recreates a crucial moment in Chinese-American history - the relaxing of inequitable immigration laws that had prevented Chinamen bringing their women into the country, and the subsequent influx of young female life into the sterile world of old men - with little historical fanfare, and maximum attention to human experience. Wah Gay is a successful club owner who hasn't seen the wife he left behind in 20 years, and who despairs at ever seeing his frivolous son, who served in the US Army during the war (the mass of Chinese who had done so causing the laws to be repealed) ever settling down and continuing his line. He sends him back home to marry a friend's daughter, bring her back, take a good job and start a family. All these pressures, unfortunately, make the young man impotent, and his frustrated wife is forced to take a lover.
As the film starts, with its wisecracking Greek chorus, its warm 40s look and its 40s jazz standards on the soundtrack, you might almost be watching a Chinese Nora Ephron film. The struggles of individuals against the community begins to take a starker turn as the film progresses, and characters become alienated from each other. The film is full of images and situations in which Chinese and American cultures confront one another, sometimes to harmonious effect, but just as often clashing. For instance, during the arranged courtship in China, the couple's first moment alone on screen is against the backdrop of an open-air projection of 'Lost Horizon', a famous American film about the Orient, whose English is translated by the village sage (the media and representations are important elements in 'Eat'). When the couple holiday in Washington to try and escape the pressures of community and finally make love, the familiar American landmarks are overlaid with Chinese music. The very real human problems - family, marriage, impotence, work - are shown to be indistinguishable from crises over identity; Ben Loy's impotence, his failure to continue the line and complete the Oedipal process, is a sign of his inability to unite Chinese and American, old wisdom and new entrepreneurialism, communal expectation and private desires.
The increasing sobriety of the film's themes is matched in Wang's style, in which the camera rarely moves, as in the cinema of Ozu, another Eastern film-maker who dealt with tensions of family and modernity. Wang doesn't seek Ozu's serenity, however, and the still camera is countered by great movement within the frame, stylised compositions and frequent cuts. Like a Sirk melodrama, the surface realism is undercut by artificial tableaux that encourage us to read against what we see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more emasculation of Asian-American men, October 18, 2002
By 
Jeffery Mingo (Homewood, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is important and needed for three reasons. One, you get to see supa-fine Russell Wong. Two, rarely do you see a movie with so many Asian-American men. Three, this movie illustrates that Asians did live in the US before 1965's liberalization of immigration laws. Still, in this movie, when Russell is a gigolo for a white female client, he's sexually active. However, when he has a cute Chinese wife, he's impotent. This seems like some disturbing white-worshipping to me. It's kinda anti-Asian woman too. Haven't we seen and heard enough of historical stereotypes of Asian men as not true masculines?! Then, the end is too fast and illogical. This movie had so much potential that it did not meet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be Warned - Different Version, June 11, 2008
By 
arbekeal (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea (DVD)
I am very disappointed. I purchased this DVD assuming that it is the same version as the one I saw many years ago on TV, and that original movie highly reflect what my grandfather told me what life was like for him back then. Some of scenes were changed. The biggest change is the scenes when Russell Wong was arrested by the police. The original version I saw didn't have the Russell's father cutting off the ear of the adulterer and the police come to arrest Russell for the crime. In the original movie, the problem is handled by the Wang Family Association, where a couple of tough looking guys spoke quietly to the adulterer and ask him to leave town and never come back. The Chinese Americans back then normally don't report their problems to the police, because the police don't care. That goes with the rest of the American society. Another example is the banks. Back then, Chinese Americans don't go to the bank to borrow money. They go to their Family Association or the Chinese American Association instead.

There are other scenes that have been changed, all to down play the injustice and inequality that the white Americans assert to the non-white minority, and in this movie the Chinese Americans. After watching this DVD, I throwed it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't eat (or drink) this Tea again!, August 12, 2007
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea (DVD)
The title of this film alludes to a remedy prescribed to one of the characters. If I was to be more specific and explain what the remedy is for I would ruin the plot, so, I won't do that! I will tell you, since I take writing these capsule reviews very seriously that I don't believe that this film is worthy of your time. Based on a novel by Luis Chu, EAT A BOWL OF TEA examines 1940s United States and the Chinese-American experience in this country. Due to a stringent immigration act, all Chinese men coming abroad the USA to seek work were forced to leave their wives behind. Chinese women were not allowed to accompany their husbands, when they came seeking jobs to support their families back home. Thus, the older Chinese men who had settled in this country twenty years before, were aging alone, without the possiblity of bringing first born sons into the world, to continue their familial lineage. In spite of miscygenation laws, Chinese and Chinese-American men would sometimes keep company with Caucasian women, as is depicted in the example of the young main character, Ben Loy (Russell Wong). Ben is sent home to China, by his father, to meet and marry a nice Chinese girl. When he finds her (Cora Miao) and they get married, Loy becomes impotent (one factor possibly being stress--especially, the stress of producing an heir--something that is mandatory in the eyes of Ben's father, as well as their community). This leads to unfortunate circumstances and choices based on frustration and embarrassment.

Why didn't this film work for me? Well, for starters, themes of family obligation, extramarital affairs, and bicultural identity were handled in a very clumsy way and the poor acting certainly didn't help. Russell Wong's delivery of the lines was wooden (at best) and the other characters seemed more like poorly-developed caricatures. What's more, a seduction scene that should have been sexy was more creepy. In fact, more than one of us watching this scene thought that it almost came off more as a rape scene, which was incredibly disturbing. Skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Chinese men gossiping., April 1, 2000
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Ben Loy is one of the first Chinese men in New York to marry and bring his bride back to America. The old men, most of whom have their wives in China, are thrilled. They see Ben's marriage as a new beginning for their aging hamlet. But the weight of everyone's hopes on his shoulders renders Ben impotent. His lonely wife has an affair and soon concieves a child. The resolution is funny, but the acting is occasionally lackluster. Still, it is worth the trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Played, February 20, 2007
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea (DVD)
I had to watch this movie for a class, and I was sorely disappointed. You don't need to have read the book to see how abridged the movie is, condensing long periods of time into a few unconvincing seconds. This isn't helped by the fact that Russell Wong has the emotional range of Keanu Reeves. There were only two scenes in the film that I thought came together in every respect - both starring Victor Wong - but the fact that they were such good moments only made the poor quality of the rest of the film that much more apparent.

I felt the script was bland and unoriginal, and the actors seemed to lack any real personality on the screen because of this. It seemed exactly like a dozen other American movies, only this one starred Chinese actors. None of the decisions within the movie seem believable, and the ending feels tacky and schmaltzy and all those other things I can't stand in a movie.

It's definitely not the worst movie, but I had much higher expectations from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original and poignant story, October 10, 2005
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film deserves a special place in the Chinese-American pantheon. It's not about the "clash" between old and new, East and West, a theme that too many movies and books have beaten to death. It's about family, love, relationships, and history, without any cliches. The story touches on subjects very rarely dealt with, such as impotence, brilliantly so. The love story is romantic and realistic. Everyone puts in wonderfully authentic performances. This is my favorite Chinese-American film. If you like it, you may want to read the book, which is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, September 25, 2005
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea (DVD)
This movie provides audience with the discussing topic for cultural conflicts and interference. It reveals how a Chinese women immigrate to America on the basis of marriage, and how she represents the so-called Chinese virtue to masculism society in teh early time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great story, and an invaluable lesson on Chinese American experience (1940-1960), July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea (DVD)
I use this film in a class that I teach on Asian Americans. It is first rate because first of all its a good story that entertains, but it also informs the audience about the realities of Chinese American life in America (1940's-1950's). The script follows the original novel by Louis Chu. Second, the plot is engaging, with both comedy and dramatic highs. The actors succeed in bringing alive both the plot of the story (the ups and downs of a father-son and newly wed husband & wife relationships) and the broader epic of Chinese American life in the period 1940's through early 1960"s. Third, the film also does a very good job of laying out the changing landscape of American (White society) and Asian (Cantonese-Chinese) American relations when resident Chinese in America were no longer viewed as the "Yellow horde" or the "Chinaman", but were evolving into what became known as "The model minority". In the same time period the "N" word became the "negro"....and "Chinaman" became "Chinese-American" Both evolutions were critical, where an overt hostile racist mindset evolved to a more subtle, but no less racist one of benign and nuanced prejudice and discrimination. The one negative aspect of this film is that it projects a "happy ever after" ending, where cultural assimilation is both natural and a panacea for racism. This of course, is unfortunate because it undermines the critical reality and importance of ethnic identity for Chinese Americans- and more generally all people of color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny film..., February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eat a Bowl of Tea (DVD)
I read the book for comparison, and I like the film better. Funny, well-acted, and somewhat historical if you pay attention closely. Has some sad moments, too. A story of forgiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eat A Bowl Of Tea
Eat A Bowl Of Tea by Wayne Wang
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.