Eat Fat, Lose Fat: The Healthy Alternative to Trans Fats and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$7.70
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: No writing, underlining, or highlighting. Tight binding. Only very light wear on DJ.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Eat Fat, Lose Fat: Lose Weight And Feel Great With The Delicious, Science-based Coconut Diet Hardcover – December 16, 2004

249 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$29.45 $3.22

Popular New Release: Kale and Coffee
Read the popular new guide to health and happiness, by Kevin Gianni.

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

In this new addition to the fast-fix diet book shelf, Enig and Fallon attempt to correct what they see as Americans' false belief that tropical fats and oils (such as coconut and palm) are unhealthy, asserting that those fats (and coconut, especially) are beneficial saturated fats that should be more heavily incorporated into our diets. Enig, a biochemist and nutritionist, along with Fallon, president of the Weston A. Price Foundation (a non-profit dedicated to helping people implement healthy approaches to nutrition), say "high-fat, low-carb really works," eschewing the disastrous effects a high-fat diet can have on a person's heart. They like the Atkins diet, but say it doesn't take advantage of the "metabolism-boosting" powers of coconut oil. Their approach skews more toward traditional diets and away from modern diets (e.g., chose animal fats over vegetable oils; raw or fermented dairy products instead of pasteurized ones). Though based on considerable research, the book is somewhat off-putting. Its emphasis on one ingredient-in the recipe section, for example, one sample menu has readers eating a dish with coconut in it seven times in one day-seems nutritionally suspicious.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From the Back Cover

"If permanently losing weight while improving your health is a real goal, I highly recommend Eat Fat, Lose Fat."
—Dr. Joseph Mercola, bestselling author of The No-Grain Diet

"Dr. Mary Enig and Sally Fallon are two of the most important voices in the wellness revolution. Eat Fat, Lose Fat is a must read."
—Jordan S. Rubin, author of The New York Times’ bestselling The Maker’s Diet --This text refers to the Paperback edition.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 296 pages
  • Publisher: Hudson Street Press (December 16, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1594630054
  • ISBN-13: 978-1594630057
  • Product Dimensions: 6.3 x 1.1 x 9.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (249 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #349,939 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

476 of 483 people found the following review helpful By O. Brown HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on August 16, 2006
Format: Hardcover
*****

This book has been my dietary bible since reading it a year ago. It is a sourcebook for people wanting to eat a traditional diet, which is a diet solidly grounded in current dietary research, not unproven theories of the past. Look past the gimmicky cover here, as this is not a book about fads. It is a book about coconut oil as the foundation for an overall diet that is health-enhancing.

"Eat Fat, Lose Fat" is part of the growing body of literature supporting the eating of "real food", which is food that is healthy, tasty, not disease-promoting, slow, of exceptional quality, nutrient dense, organic, vital, traditional, local, seasonal, and clean. "Real foods" are the opposite of "fake foods", which are foods that are processed, dead, fast, nutrient poor, chemicalized, devitalized, rotten, spoiled, dead, old, or contaminated with antibiotics and growth hormones. It is based on scientific studies published in journals such as the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, Lancet, and even JAMA. It is also based upon looking at the dietary practices of people of different cultures, a fascinating anthropological study that illuminates how indigenous people throughout history instinctively knew things that we are just now "discovering" with modern scientific methods.

The authors are Mary Enig, a world-renowned biochemist and nutritionist who spearheaded, with her research over 25 years ago, the recent move against trans fats at last, and Sally Fallon, The book is written in an interesting style, and is full of facts, explanations, how-to's, tips for

Chapter 1 sorts out the facts versus the fears about fats, debunking fat myths one by one, citing recent studies. The authors explain contradictory findings and flaws with past studies.
Read more ›
16 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
269 of 277 people found the following review helpful By Kaayla T. Daniel on April 26, 2005
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Underneath this book's mainstream title and flashy hot-pink packaging lie a revolutionary premise. Real foods - including meat, eggs, butter, cream, coconut oil and other traditional high-fat foods - are the keys to weight loss, high energy, brain function, feelings of wellbeing and disease prevention. So throw out those low-fat, highly processed and packaged foods, forget about being a vegetarian, "bread-atarian" or "soy-atarian" and go back to enjoying the whole foods that your healthy ancestors really ate. In the process, you'll not only regain your health and find your perfect weight but totally enjoy your food. This book is a simpler version of the authors' grassroots classic NOURISHING TRADITIONS with the same sound science but a new emphasis on the healing power of coconut oil. As a Clinical Nutritionist, I have found that coconut cream and oil are very healing to the thyroid and greatly speed the recovery of former vegetarians and heavy soy eaters. The book also answers the many questions clients have about trans fats, vegetable oils, cholesterol and the dangers of the currently popular low fat/high protein diets. Highly recommended.
7 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
267 of 283 people found the following review helpful By C. Langberg on January 4, 2005
Format: Hardcover
I have been using coconut oil and coconut milk for awhile. The oil is great for cooking and the milk tastes great in a shake! The fatty acids in coconut milk are the same/similar to those found in breast milk; now all baby formulas contain coconut oil. It makes sense that these fats are good for adults, too. Also, since adopting many of the principles from Nourishing Traditions, I have had much more energy, much less fatigue and no weight problem. My mother-in-law is always asking me how I can eat so much without gaining weight... I have also tried to feed my son this way. He's 15 months and is VERY strong and healthy - no ear infections and only 2-3 colds/viruses. It's science and it's common sense. Eat healthy to be healthy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
82 of 86 people found the following review helpful By Health Enthusiast on December 25, 2004
Format: Hardcover
For fans of Enig and Fallon's NOURISHING TRADITIONS (and I am one), this book is a must-have because it shows you how to implement their dietary approach for weight loss, as well as delving into the rationale for their nutritional wisdom. I began incorporating coconut before the holidays, and it is satiating and supports their easy to follow weight loss guidelines. I've lost five pounds! Plus, the recipes (by Sally Fallon) are fabulous and easy to prepare. This has got to be the tastiest diet on the planet-- and it works!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
234 of 256 people found the following review helpful By Sandrine Love on December 31, 2004
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I serve as a chapter leader for the Weston A. Price Foundation, and as such have been following the Nourishing Traditions principles outlined in Sally's book for some time. I had not been consuming coconut oil however, nor consistently limiting my meals to three a day. I wasn't quite sure how to integrate coconut into my diet on a daily basis. The book offers many recipes - including simply adding coconut oil to a smoothie! After an initial couple of days having difficulty consuming the recommended 1 T. of coconut oil melted in warm water or herbal tea 20 minutes before each meal, I am now drinking it easily and find that my appetite is definitely surpressed!

I found the book to be very well written and compelling!

What I most appreciate about Sally and Mary's plan is the great importance they place on the QUALITY of the food consumed. Namely organic, sustainably produced, natural, whole foods. Animal protein from pasture raised animals who are treated humanely. Real, raw (as opposed to pasteurized) milk products. Instead of the artificially sweetened diet sodas which are typically recommended on other diets, this plan recommends kombucha, beet kvass, kefir and real ginger ale. It includes enzyme rich foods such as sauerkraut, mineral rich bone broths and soups ... and traditional superfoods such as cod liver oil. There are many generations of nutritional wisdom in this book - it is not merely the latest fad approach to health, wholeness and weight loss.
10 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: fitness