Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat This and Live for KIDS
Oh I LOVE this book! It's colorful and has LOADS of GREAT information for parents. We all want to feed our children healthier choices but it can be difficult in this time of rushing! This makes you feel less guilty by giving you healthier choices when you are out! This book addresses from the womb to beginning adulthood! Just a GREAT book!
Published on September 2, 2010 by M. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good information, but nothing earth shattering.
If you are already knowledgeable in healthy eating, this will not tell you anything different. If you are looking for something that will shake you up and challenge the standard American diet (SAD), I would recommend Nourishing Traditions or the Makers Diet.
Published on September 26, 2011 by PrairiePeace


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat This and Live for KIDS, September 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
Oh I LOVE this book! It's colorful and has LOADS of GREAT information for parents. We all want to feed our children healthier choices but it can be difficult in this time of rushing! This makes you feel less guilty by giving you healthier choices when you are out! This book addresses from the womb to beginning adulthood! Just a GREAT book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make Informed Decisions on Healthy Eating, Immunizations, and MORE!, October 29, 2010
By 
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
Are you confused by the multitude of conflicting information out there on healthy eating? What is healthy eating? Should you eat more meat, or less? Are whole grains good for you, or not? What about dairy? Is cow's milk healthy for humans, or is it incompatible with our digestive systems? I don't have the answers. Four years ago, I thought I was preparing healthy meals for my family, and then I was diagnosed with cancer. After four rounds of chemotherapy, and five separate individuals asking me, "Has anyone talked to you about what you are eating and how this may have contributed to your health," I started to research what it meant to "eat healthy," and what I found was one contradiction after another. Even the experts can't seem to agree!

In his book, Eat This and Live! for Kids [Siloam; 1 edition (September 7, 2010)], Don Colbert helps parents to navigate the complicated world of healthy eating for kids, addressing everything from prenatal health and infant needs on through necessary dietary changes for teens and young adults. The information, although plentiful, is presented in a colorful, easy-to-read fashion that is manages to keep from becoming overwhelming in the least. Although I'm sure there are experts who will disagree with some of what Mr. Colbert has written, he provides solid reasoning for his recommendations, allowing the reader to chose for herself whether or not to incorporate the recommendation into her food/health considerations for her family. Eat This and Live! for Kids attempts to inform the reader and assist her in forming her own theories on healthy foods, eating out, supplements, and immunizations,among other topics. There are even sections on special diets such as GAPS and GF/CF.

I received Eat This and Live! for Kids from Anna Coehlo Silva, Publicity Coordinator, Book Group, Strang Communications in exchange for my honest review. The thoughts printed in this review are entirely my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat This and Live for Kids, October 14, 2010
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
Eat This and Live For Kids by Dr. Don Colbert is a full color, informative and doctor approved resource for parents to help children eat what is healthy for them. Dr. Colbert collaborates with Dr. Joseph Cannizzaro on many of the medical issues that are addressed in this book concerning nutrition. This book begins with basic nutrition and focuses on the good feeding of children from birth to teens. Many pertinent questions are answered and many surprising facts surface such as bottled water is less regulated and more toxic than tap water. Dr. Colbert gives recommendations for supplements as well as benefits for regular exercise for children called FUN! He gives a great list for food to have on hand at home and what acceptable meals to purchase when eating out. There is also a chapter on special diets.

I was amazed at the abundance and practicality of the information in this book. I was really enticed by the wonderful photos of food and all the little charts and boxes that explained things in simple language. This was very parent friendly and very encouraging especially for those who have not made an effort to train your kids to be healthy. It's never too late to start. This is a wonderful resource to have in your cookbook section. I highly recommend every parent and grandparents to read this book for a better understanding of why feeding your kids healthy food is so essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Resource For Health at ANY Age!, September 10, 2010
By 
Stacey (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
"Thank you" to Don Colbert and Joseph A. Cannizzaro and their publisher for sending me a copy of "Eat This and Live! For Kids" to review for them. I am truly grateful for this generosity. I really appreciate the time, effort and expense it takes to make a reviewer copy available to me.

"Eat This And Live For Kids" by Don Colbert and Joseph A. Cannizzaro is a terrific book for parents about making wise choices in food and exercise. It's not just for kids, either. My initial attraction to this book was based in a desire to change my own family's eating habits. This book is not only colorful and eye-catching, it talks about nutrition for children from the very beginning - pregnancy. There is also a great deal of information about breastfeeding and bottle feeding. Valuable information about what foods to choose while shopping may surprise you, as will the section on making good food choices when eating in restaurants.

This book is a valuable tool for women who are expecting, have young children or older children, or for adults who really need to get back to the basics of eating right. It is imperative to get good, healthy eating and exercise habits starting at as early an age as possible. Still, it's never too late to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat This and Live, Kids!, November 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for anyone interested in raising healthy children. I am a Grandmother and ordered one copy for myself and another for my daughter-in-law. Hopefully, our little ones will be healthy and grow up with healthy eating habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
Excellent information!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changed the way I fed my kids!, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
Great book, full of helpful information. Dr. Colbert puts things in a way that doesn't make you feel guilty for eating the way you have always eaten, but makes you want to change so that you and your family will feel better. This is a great book that complements his other books and gives great tips to get your children on board with your healthy lifestyle. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
As all of them are! I have about 8 of these books they are very informative and always fun to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thanks
Vs
Need to write more words to submit comment, so thanks a lot Don Colbert. Bless you and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Better Play On 'Eat This, Not That' Directed At Kids, December 5, 2011
This review is from: Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids Will LOVE! (Paperback)
One of the most popular book series in the diet and health arena in recent years has been the Eat This, Not That! Thousands of Simple Food Swaps that Can Save You 10, 20, 30 Pounds--or More! series of books. And family practice physician and bestselling author Dr. Don Colbert knows that. That's why he created this book in that same vein with colorful pictures and graphics that mimic that format. Thankfully, this book is a million times better because it has some really fabulous information on the health benefits of consuming foods like meat, eggs and non-starchy vegetables while eschewing sugar, high-fructose corn syrup and other starchy carbs. If you have a little one here or on the way, then give this book a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eat This And Live For Kids: Simple, Healthy Food & Restaurant Choices that Your Kids  Will LOVE!
$17.99 $5.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.