Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Goo-goo Dolls Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 21, 2002
Oh MAN this album is awesome.i wish i could have been into this band way back when this album came out.bob rusay and jack owen kill on the guitar and paul is an insane drummer.chris barnes has got to be the greatest death metal vocalist ever.you can actually understand what he says at some points.for those of you [female dog] about the lyrics, why were you listening to a band called cannibal corpse in the first place?yet you complain about not understanding what hes saying?.death metal vocals are hard, believe me ive tried.anyway you looking to get into death metal? start here. the best songs are shredded humans, edible autopsy, put them to death, scattered remains splattered brains, rotting head, bloody chunks, and the absolute killer track a skull full of maggots.any metalhead will love this album.cc kicks [rump].
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2004
Any one who is new to cannibal corpse and is thinking about buying one of their cd's don't go neer the bleeding and don't even think about the god-awful wretched spawn! This is cannibal corpse with chris barns and(i know what your thinking)sounds nothing like six feet under! If you think chris is good in six feet under your dead wrong because before chris lost his vioce he was in a band that released shocking album's and brutal music and what will always be remembered as one of the best the best death metal vocalist of all time. Eaten back to life is a classic debute album that launch the new wave of death metal in the early 90's! And out of all the death metal bands in the early 90's cannibal corpse was the most heaviest,sickest,and offensive. Some people thought the gore lyrics and the offensive artwork was to shocking for them so they strived away from this band and never gave them a listen and stuck with other bands such as sepultera,obituary,morbid angel,(good bands)and others. Than were the people who thought they were childish to write music about killing and gore and just labled it as talentless noise(wich is 100% not true)or either they thought the music was to extreme or heavy for them. Well those people sure did miss out on what still is one of the greatest death metal albums of all time, The guitars aren't as technical as in later releases but who cares! They still made some sick catchy hooks and brutal riffs that aren't found in later releases. The drumming is top notch. This cd will just make you wanna sing along to chris roaring out those brutal tales of horror,bang you head till it hurts,and beat the living piss out of someone! This also contains some of cannibal corpse's most memorable songs. Shredded humans is a shocking story about a mad-man in a car trying to kill a family of five on there way home having enjoyed a day in the sun(there encounter with gore has just begun). I love it how the guitars just shredd along on the part were chris say roars out"HIS SEATBELT WAS USELESS FOR HOLDIN HIM BACK,IT SIMPLY JUST CUT HIM IN TWO,LEGS WERE CRUSHED,OUT LEEKED HIS PUSS AS HIS SPINAL CHORD TOOK OFF AND FLEW" and than goes "THE MOTHER TOOK FLIGHT THROUGH THE GLASS,AND ENDED UP IMPALED ON A SIGN,HER INTESTINES STRETCHED FROM THE CAR DOWN THE ROAD,and than menacingly says"FOR A QUARTER MILE!"<(THAT PART BRINGS A SMILE TO MY FACE EVERY TIME!) All right, i think I have said enough about this album! Cannibal Corpses first release is strait up death metal,with awsome head banding riffs,and sing along verses that every death metal fan MUST own!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2002
Let me just say, you guys (or gals) who are giving this CD 1 star are no better than people who give it a 5 saying "It rocks!!!" But I think the people who rate it 5 stars are much closer to being right. Below is what I think of this album.
Music: 4 stars
The music for the most part is really good. The riffs are every bit as hard to play as any of the Metallica riffs that I can play on guitar, which include "Fight Fire with Fire" and "Ride the Lightnening" and also Slayer's "Angel of Death". I just think they could be more well writen, but are still good most of the time and even flat out amazing every now and then. The riff 2 minutes into "Born in a Casket" is my favorite, and one of the best guitar riffs I've ever heard. This band has talent. The vocals admittedly sound bad, especially in the beginning of "Shredded Humans", but are still decent most of the time, and even truely great sounding at times. Strangely enough, "Shredded Humans" also fetures some of the better sounding vocals on the album. They can really have a hair-raising sound at times. On "Edible Autopsy", when he says
"Skinned live...live...live...", it sounds especially creepy.
Lyrics: 5 stars
Why 5 stars? Is it because I'm a gore obsessed freak? (no pun intended) No, I'm just open-minded enough to give them credit for being able to write such grotesque, vile lyrics that no one else can come close to. Reading the lyrics made me like them even more. I simply cannot comprehend anything that's more violent and grotesque than their lyrics, and at the same time, their lyrics fit the beat of the songs well and rhyme a lot of the time, maybe most of the time. It was really a mind-blowing experience reading the lyrics of "Mangled" and "Shredded Humans" while the songs were playing. "Mangled" was so damn fast I still got lost the 3rd time through.
Closing Comments:
The truth is, I did get some satisfaction from the violence, but does anyone think that people listen to Nsync for the music? Well, partly, but it's obviously mostly their good looks. I liked the music before I even bothered reading the lyrics, so I listen to them for both reasons. I like their music, and the violence. But mostly the music. I only gave the lyrics a higher score because I think they have the most talent in that area. I hope this reveiw has been helpful.
Overall score: 4.5 stars
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2002
Cannibal Corpse is an awesome band.Simply Put. This album is very brutal, talented, and it has well written lyrics about blood and gore. This album is a must for metal heads.So just buy it unless you have terrible musical tastes.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
Fans of death metal, thrash metal(especially Sepultura and Kreator fans), and wacky 70's and 80's horror films will love this album. The production on here is warm and enjoyable, unlike the over produced garbage of today. Every song is solid, filled with thrashy hooks and groovy death metal break downs(not death-core douche-baggish breakdowns, real metal ones)and supreme growls by Chris Barnes. On this album, Chris Barnes does not have the deep bellowing growls yet that he is famous for on Tomb and Butchered, he has more of a thrash metal edge to his voice similar to Max from the classic Sepultura albums, and it sounds perfect. All fans of extreme metal should pick up this and the rest of the 1st 4 Cannibal Corpse albums. I recommend this album to all fans of extreme metal, people new to death metal will also dig this album. This album along with Deicide self titled, got me into death metal, pick it up today if you don't own it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2003
yes i have already written a review of this album but it just such a brutal masterpiece that i have to write it again. this is the 1990 debut of one of the greatest death metal bands i have heard. for a debut, it is so greatly written that it simply shocks me. chris barnes' vocals are pretty raw on this album and he doesnt growl real low yet. bob rusay and jack owen crush everything with their brutal riffs and alex webster somehow keeps up with his insanely fast bass playing. and who can forget the drummer paul with his maniacal drumming? every song is brutal, fast, and easy to headbang to. shredded humans kicks things off with great intensity and its about a family who gets hit by someone in a car accident. you can totally see in your mind the family dying as chris bellows his guttural vocals. born in a casket is a classic, it starts out slow, then gets faster and heavier. you also gotta love scattered remains,splattered brains. i just dig that riff that plays during the chorus. you also have short one minute bursts like put them to death and bloody chunks, both fast and insane. and of course who can forget the death metal classic A SKULL FULL OF MAGGOTS? it is a short song barely clocking in at two minutes, but it is packed with so much insane playing you cant help but listen to it over and over again.
as for the lyrics, yes they are pretty sick, but from a band called cannibal corpse, what else would you expect? dont listen to the airheads that claim this is not talent, id like to see them play with half the speed these guys play at. plus, think about what they consider good, [stuff] like limp bizkit, linkin park, and avril lavigne. i rest my case there. these bands couldnt even IMAGINE music this fast...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
Possessed, Death, Obituary, Sepultura, and a few other bands might have formed before Buffalo’s Cannibal Corpse did in 1988, but C.C. are still easily one of the most influential death metal groups in the history of the genre. They are so influential, in fact, that one would not even be very far off base to go so far as to label the almighty Corpse as “the godfathers of death metal.” After all, their vocalist (at the time their debut, “Eaten Back To Life,” hit store shelves in 1990), a fellow by the name of Chris Barnes, was definitely one of the first-ever (if not the first) to use “Cookie Monster” vocals, and do so en mass.

And furthermore, Barnes’ lyrics could not be more extreme or metal. With a title like “Eaten Back To Life,” you can imagine just how gnarly and disturbing the subject matter is on this album; and all of your assumptions would probably be correct. The lyrics primarily concern death and destruction, but also venture into even more extreme realms like cannibalism, necrophilia, and that sort of thing. These lyrics, although usually indecipherable, would go on to become a staple in death metal music in the not too distant future (as would the already described vocal style). But hey, they don't call it "death metal" for no reason!

It all begins with “Shredded Humans,” which kicks off with a grumbling, bottom-heavy bass intro before giving way to thrashy chugging. And around a minute and eight seconds into the song, it adopts pounding blast beats, and Chris’ signature frog-throated, Cookie Monster growling. Two fiery, shredding guitar solos also pop up near the song’s end. “Edible Autopsy” continues shoving the brutality right down the listener’s throat, as it is a whiplash-fast assault of blistering, cymbal-heavy blasting, blazing guitar leads, and dirty-sounding bass rumbles. And so does “Put Them To Death,” which finds a dirty, washed-out-sounding bass tone anchoring pounding thrash riffs.

And it doesn’t stop there. “Mangled,” with its pounding, cracking, snare-heavy blast beats, scalding, buzzsaw riffage, and blistering guitar-solo trade-off section is a great song, and possible album highpoint in and by itself. And when some backing shrieks from guest vocalist Glenn Benton (of Deicide fame) are added to the mix, this possibility becomes a very likely reality. And elsewhere, following the jackhammer-fast “Scattered Remains, Splattered Brains,” “Eaten Back To Life” then opts for a concertedly much slower and more groove-oriented approach in “Born In A Casket."

Elsewhere, “The Undead Will Feast” and “Bloody Chunks” are two more decapitating, and nearly overwhelming death-grind assaults; and so is “Rotting Head,” which marries blast beats that are as pummeling as they are rapid-fire with Slayer-inspired picking (a careening, glass-shattering solo is included, here, natch.) “A Skull Full Of Maggots,” an oddly catchy, mid-tempo grind with chugga-chugga riffs, is another standout, and the closing “Buried In The Backyard,” which is half an instrumental piece with more machine gun-fast guitar work and cracking drum blasts, is another.

Granted, this is not the type of album you should come to if you seek much variety in your music. But even if “Eaten Back To Life” is not without some moments of monotony, it is still a very enjoyable, raucously exhilarating, eminently auspicious, and unsurprisingly satisfying record. And yes, it is one that is very, very memorable, too -- whether you want it to be or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2004
While many people hate early CC, but love later CC, more people hate all CC, including true Death Metal fans. CC will never get true exceptance, but their fan base is always growing and are probably the most popular DM band ever. People hate early Corpse cds because of the lack of the extreme technicality that bands such as Suffocation and Carcass were displaying. Also the lyrics appeared to be very cheesy to all who didn't like CC (and some who did!) but there were still those (idiots) who were actually scared of it.
While I'm not the 1st one to admit that anyone can create these kinda lyrics with a tad of a sick mind and minimal imagination. I mean, Chris Barnes must've written the whole album in an hour. While some people my read this and think I'm saying Chris Barnes has no talent, not true. The real focus is how Chris actually 'does' the lyrics. Chris Barnes is so brutal here its not funny. New fans won't recongise the p*ssy who fronts Six Feet Under and even those who don't have anything before The Bleeding will find it a shock that Chris sounded like this once.
All that being said, Chris Barnes gives a fantastic performance on this cd, lyrical gore bleeding from his mouth like he just had an acupuncture with 6 inch nails. While his lyrics are not hard to write, the are quite shocking, especially Shredded Humans, which I won't go into detail about. The rest of the band is obviously still developing their later skills, although Paul's drumming is already great. The guitar work is not up to CC standard, although Jim and crew create some absolutely sick riffs and hooks. The guitar work is fast, but not remarkably fast and is certainly not very technical. Production wise, you can hear everything very well and keeps a the 'raw charm' that many DM fans adore. The cd itself is very heavy, with the bass chipping in to create one of the heavier cds of its time. The bass is pretty good on this album, displaying some of that awesome speed, but not quite as much as later albums.
Every track on the album is worth a mention and the album is a fair length to boot. My picks would be Shredded Humans (one of my all time DM favs) and Scattered Remains, Splattered Brains. The much hated monotony, blandness and zero-progress is not present on this cd, but is something they should've worked on with later cds, so don't be scared if this will be your 1st CC cd.
The overall brutality and solidity of this Death/Grind cd would not allow me to give it any lower than 5 stars. This is a Cannibal Corpse classic and a Death Metal classic in general.
A must have.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2002
This is the first Cannibal Corpse album that I ever bought. I bought it way back in the spring 1993. Back in those days, I was just getting into death metal which all started with Malevolent Creation and their first 2 albums which are The Ten Commandments and Retribution. So I had a lot to learn about death metal. So anyway, my first introduction to Cannibal Corpse all started with an announcement about a concert that was going to happen here in Florida and one of the bands on the bill was Cannibal Corpse. That was the first time I ever heard the name Cannibal Corpse but this was like in late 1992. Than, it wasn't too long before this that a classmate from my computer class at school kept bringing Cannibal Corpse albums to school. At this time, the Cannibal Corpse album catalog only consisted of this album, Butchered At Birth, Tomb Of The Mutilated and maybe the Hammer Smashed Face EP. Anyway, this guy kept bringing the first 3 Cannibal Corpse albums on cassette to school. This was because he was listening to them on his cassette walkman on his way to school. So on one occasion, he brought this album on cassette to class. So I asked him if I could see the tape. As I looked through it, I found the lyrics to be the most sickening lyrics that I have ever read in my life but what was more disturbing was reading the lyrics to the song Born In A Casket and the line the goes "I love to f--k the dead, demons in my head, tearing through my brain." That was pretty shocking. Than the teacher asks the guy if he could play the tape in front of the class and the guy says yes. So the teacher pops it in and starts playing the first parts of Shredded Humans but when Barnes' vocals quickly kick in, the treacher stops the tape. Than, he reads the song titles to the class and the class has a laugh. Than, he gives the tape back to the guy. After that event, I was left in limbo rather to buy this album or not. I mean I didn't like the lyrics because after all, I was only new to death metal but at the same time, I was very hungry for some really heavy, brutal music. So I thought long and hard for probably a month or 2 until I finally had the nerve to buy the album and that's what I did. So one day, I went to Spec's and bought this album along with Biohazard's Urban Discipline both on cassette. When I got home and put the tape in, I played Shredded Humans about 2 times. The song was killer but than I listened to the rest of the album during an episode of the old Headbangers Ball and it was brutal.

Now before I do my review, there is something important that must be addressed. There are 2 versions of the first 3 albums which are this album, Butchered At Birth and Tomb Of The Mutilated that are available right now. The first ones are the orignal versions and the second ones are the newly remastered ones with the old artwork and inner art layout enhanced and the CD's with bonus tracks. The version of this album that I'm reviewing right now is the original version.

Now for my review. This is the first Cannibal Corpse album but since it's the first one I ever bought, it's still one of my classic favorites. The lyrics are sick, shocking and outgrossing. The music itself is very brutal and heavy as hell just like every other Cannibal Corpse album. The vocals are scarry. The production may sound a little muddy but the album still rules. Some of my favorite songs here are Shredded Humans, Edible Autopsy, Mangled, The Undead Will Feast, Born In A Casket, A Skull Full Of Maggots and Buried In The Backyard. Get this album and get eaten.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2007
This is what I imagine it would literally sound like if I had a working time machine, went back 150,000 years into Earth's past, found 5 of the brightest troglodytes and enticed them into my time machine with potato chips and beer, flux-capacitored to 1980 A.D., taught 3 of them how to play stringed instruments and one of them, to the best of his ability, English, then gave them 5 years to practice, then another 5 years to write 11 songs and practice them, and BOOM! this album debuts in 1990 A.D.!

This is the most primitive, basic, low-brow, and unsophisticated music I have ever heard! Notice I didn't say crap or bad. The genius here can be evasive if one listens to what it is not instead of what it is; hearing the genius depends entirely on listening without comparing it to other death metal, or even subsequent CC. And the genius is that this is Music for Your Inner Caveman; a unique death metal gem because of its extreme brute primitiveness. It is also kind of funny because of this, at least for me. Sort of a half joke half serious album. I mean, cavemen playing metal - it is absurd! I also like Morbid Angel, Deicide, Cryptopsy, Disgorge, Demilich, Suffocation, so what?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.