Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning the alphabet in the produce aisle
Lois Ehlert's Eating the Alphabet: Fruits & Vegetables from A to Z contains illustrations of 74 fruits and vegetables, from the everyday apple to the exotic jicama. Each letter of the alphabet is represented in large serif font in uppercase and lowercase and is represented by illustrations of one to eight fruits and vegetables. The illustrations are captioned with...
Published on September 14, 2004 by Kara Reuter

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I really like it, but my nieces don't get that much into it.
Maybe it's a little too long? Maybe the text (like many books of this genre, it just lists the words, nothing else) isn't captivating enough? Perhaps it's the illustrations? I just don't know.

I do like that there's a guide in the back explaining the history of every bit of produce listed in this book (this book only mentions plant foods, so it's great for...
Published on August 3, 2008 by Ulyyf


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning the alphabet in the produce aisle, September 14, 2004
By 
This review is from: Eating the Alphabet (Board book)
Lois Ehlert's Eating the Alphabet: Fruits & Vegetables from A to Z contains illustrations of 74 fruits and vegetables, from the everyday apple to the exotic jicama. Each letter of the alphabet is represented in large serif font in uppercase and lowercase and is represented by illustrations of one to eight fruits and vegetables. The illustrations are captioned with spellings of each fruit and vegetable, once in all uppercase and once in all lowercase. The illustrations depict the fruits and vegetables as they appear at the supermarket, even including the wide rubber bands often found on asparagus and broccoli and the cardboard tubs that hold strawberries and blueberries. The bright illustrations are in sharp contrast with the flat, white background. The overall effect of the illustrations and type styling is crisp, clean, and colorful. The book also includes a glossary of fruits and vegetables, with a small picture, pronunciation, designation as fruit and/or vegetable, and a brief description. This glossary is particularly useful for items such as xigua (she-gwah), the Chinese name for watermelon. Children will enjoy learning the more exotic fruits and vegetables. This book will aid children in recognizing letters and the multiple words for each letter allow children to recognize the pattern of sounds associated with each letter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice, November 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Eating the Alphabet (Board book)
This is a very nice board-book. The illustrations are bright and eye-catching, featuring all the usual fruits and vegetables as well as some of the more exotic ones. Each letter is printed in both upper- and lower-case, as are all the names of the fruits and vegetables (Yy YAM yam). This board book--based on a picture book for slightly older children--is probably best suited for toddlers who can identify some of the familiar items. It would be an ideal gift for a vegetarian or vegan family as it shows absolutely no animal products!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, January 23, 2001
By A Customer
Excellent! All three of my children adored the board book version of Eating the Alphabet. It provides a nice way to expose toddlers to a variety of interesting fruits and vegetables -- they get a kick out of repeating words like "jicama" and "jalapeno". Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!, February 26, 2000
By 
Cate (Portland, Maine) - See all my reviews
The board book version of this title is cute, but treat yourself ( and your child,too!) to the full-sized hardcover edition. It's a feast for the eyes! Yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars eat your veggies!, March 20, 2007
By 
Lara "Mommie of Two" (Puget Sound, Washington State) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eating the Alphabet (Board book)
no one could believe our two year old knew what a zucchini or kiwi was by sight! and the 'ugly fruit' is a favorite in our house. great book for introducing a picky eater to different fruits and veggies. wish it was a bigger book... but it is good for small hands to hold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Healthy Guide to Your Vocabulary, September 20, 2004
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eating the Alphabet (Board book)
This vocabulary book goes through the alphabet and gives examples of fruits and vegetables that begin with said letter. No candy, sweets, meats, or any animal products in this one (guess they did not want to offend any dietary restrictions).

Each letter of the alphabet has at least one healthy example of food. Each food has a colorful illustration but readers may need help attaching each word to the appropriate picture. Some of the illustrations are a little questionable (I never saw a cauliflower like the one pictured).

Both of my kids enjoy this book and have had me read it a number of times on just the first day. I haven't noticed them wanting to eat any more vegetables than before but their vocabulary is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I really like it, but my nieces don't get that much into it., August 3, 2008
Maybe it's a little too long? Maybe the text (like many books of this genre, it just lists the words, nothing else) isn't captivating enough? Perhaps it's the illustrations? I just don't know.

I do like that there's a guide in the back explaining the history of every bit of produce listed in this book (this book only mentions plant foods, so it's great for veg*ns), with a pronunciation guide.

Just wish the girls liked it as much as I do. I knocked off a star for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, April 13, 2009
By 
mrgrinch09 (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
My kids alway like this book when ever we read it at school. It's great for teaching the alphabet and exposing the kids to new foods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book to teach fruit, alphabet and colors, November 4, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter liked this book. She learned the alphabet, colors and some names of fruits. This book has it all. Good book for 3 years and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought by Grandma, November 20, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I hope this becomes a favorite of my twin one year old granddaughters -it's a Christmas gift. The pictures are so lovely and it is a work of art. They are sure to absorb an appreciation for Lois Ehlert. I think the large book format is so much better than the small board book - very much worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eating the Alphabet
Eating the Alphabet by Lois Ehlert (Board book - April 1, 1996)
$6.95 $3.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.