Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!
I work part-time at a Sur La Table store, and picked this book up the moment I saw it come in stock! The photography is beautiful, and best of all, REAL. The people you see in this book are the actual farmers working their farms. The book focuses on 10 sustainable farms throughout the country, giving you a peek into each one along the way, with beautiful recipes for...
Published on June 22, 2010 by Kerrie Sparks

versus
25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars learn to cook fresh vegetables
First of all, the pictures in this book are amazing. So if that is more important to you than interesting recipes, buy this book. However, if you have any familiarity with fresh vegetables this book will probably not be much use to you. I have had CSA memberships and my own garden in the past, so I was looking for some interesting new uses for fresh vegetables, this...
Published on July 7, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars learn to cook fresh vegetables, July 7, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
First of all, the pictures in this book are amazing. So if that is more important to you than interesting recipes, buy this book. However, if you have any familiarity with fresh vegetables this book will probably not be much use to you. I have had CSA memberships and my own garden in the past, so I was looking for some interesting new uses for fresh vegetables, this book does not provide that. Included are recipes such as warm beets with greens, and three types of pea pods steamed together! Boring, basic, but useful if you don't know how to cook. This book should have been called 'learning to cook fresh vegetables.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, June 22, 2010
By 
Kerrie Sparks "Food*Sparks" (Dallas, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
I work part-time at a Sur La Table store, and picked this book up the moment I saw it come in stock! The photography is beautiful, and best of all, REAL. The people you see in this book are the actual farmers working their farms. The book focuses on 10 sustainable farms throughout the country, giving you a peek into each one along the way, with beautiful recipes for the fresh picks!

If you consider yourself a locavore, someone who shops regularly at a farmers market or CSA, or want to learn more about doing so, you should pick up this book. If you've been timid about joining a CSA or visiting your local farmers market because you're not quite sure what to do with all those fresh fruits and veggies, this book will help you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring photos and recipes, July 8, 2010
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
Part of what I love about this book is that it is written from the perspective of CSAs. The photos of the recipes are gorgeous, and various CSA farms are featured. These are not your run of the mill recipes. Many of them use specialty oils (and describe how to make them yourself!) and cheeses. Recipes like Stuffed Artichokes with Pine Nuts and Currants and Mexican Pork Stew with Tomatillos use simple ingredients but are complex enough to satisfy foodies.

I loved just reading through this cookbook; I can't wait to make more of the recipes in it.

Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher to review on my blog [...]. I was not obligated to review the book and all opinions are mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes and luscious photos, July 27, 2010
By 
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
Formerly of Chez Panisse, food writer Fletcher builds her cookbook around the CSA - community sustainable agriculture - model, in which locals buy shares in a farm, providing income to the farmer and fresh food for themselves. Fletcher profiles 10 farms, from 75 to 1500 members, from Oregon to Massachusetts.

Illustrated with enticing photographs of the produce, people, places and dishes, the book is divided into three sections - Vegetables, Fruits, and Meat, Poultry and Eggs. Vegetables, organized alphabetically, get the bulk of the attention, from Grilled Asparagus with Citrus Oil to Lebanese Pickled Turnips. Fletcher includes classics like dilly beans, braised Romano beans, and pickled okra, and lots of contemporary fare, like Green Garlic Soufflé and Grilled Radicchio with Bagna Cauda and Greek Salad with Heirloom Tomatoes and Grilled Pita Chips.

Fruit dishes include Mixed Citrus Compote with Pomegranate Seeds, Peach and Boysenberry Cobbler, and Baby Greens with Grilled Figs, Blue Cheese and Walnuts. Grilled Five-Spice Chicken, Lamb Burgers with Grilled Red Onions and Feta or Grilled Sausages with Baby Turnips and Turnip Greens round out the meal.

Innovative, mouth watering and fresh, this will furnish plenty of ideas for all that summer produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profusely and beautifully illustrated throughout with color photography, June 15, 2010
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
Local farmer's markets have grown increasingly popular and accessible with those who want the freshest seasonal ingredients at the lowest possible 'carbon footprint' possible. "Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers" by cook book author Janet Fletcher (in cooperation with the successful Californian restaurant Sur La Table) is a 320-page compendium packed with thoroughly 'kitchen cook friendly' recipes utilizing farm-fresh seasonal ingredients found in local community farmer's markets. Profusely and beautifully illustrated throughout with color photography, the recipes range from Grilled Eggplant Cannelloni with Ricotta and Prosciutto; to Pickled Yellow Wax Benas with Fresh Dill; to Home-Dried Tomatoes in Herbed Olive Oil; Skillet-Cooked Creamer Potatoes with Rosemary; to Peach and Boysenberry Cobbler. Of special note are the succinct introductions to showcase farms representing the kind of 'family farm' agriculture that is the source of what local farmer's markets have to offer grateful communities, making "Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers" a particularly appropriate and highly recommended addition to personal and public library cookbook collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, inspiring photos and stories; Recipes organized well, March 10, 2013
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
I was lucky enough to stumble across this book in a secondhand store (sorry Amazon!) and I feel so lucky to have found it! After reading Kingsolver's 'Animal, Vegetable, Miracle', I've found myself trying to be more conscientious about what I'm eating and where it has come from. This has led me to exploring our local farmers markets and CSAs, though I've found that I find many things in abundance that I'm not sure how to cook! That's where I found this collection of recipes to be particularly helpful! The book is designed to solve just that problem and is organized alphabetically by the main vegetable ingredient. All that's in season and available today are greens? No problem - hit the greens section and find a variety of options for cooking them and changing up the flavors so you won't be too bored until the next set of veggies make an appearance. Some of the other reviews criticize the book for being too basic, but for me, this is a great introduction for what to do when you have a basket full of things you've never cooked before! I've really enjoyed working with this book as well as just sitting down to read through it cover to cover, trying to decide what I want to plant in my own garden this year! For me, it's been a great find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book if you are into farmers' market food, July 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
I have tried out numerous recipes in this book, it is great, quick way to learn about your local farmers,
what they do, how to contact them and how to cook the season food.

Try the zucchini salad recipe, it is great for no-cook zucchini salad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book was shipped in great shape. Very cool book, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
Book was shipped in great shape. Very cool book. The photography in the book was amazing and the recipes are on point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, March 13, 2014
By 
Judy B (Jersey Shore) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
Great if you have access to wonderful local produce. You get a variety of methods to fix the veggies that are so good for our families
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Photography, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers (Hardcover)
I got this for my Aunt who is part of a vegetable co-op, looking for recipes for the seasonal veggies not typically found at the local grocery. Great recipes. She loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers
Eating Local: The Cookbook Inspired by America's Farmers by Janet Fletcher (Hardcover - June 1, 2010)
$35.00 $25.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.