Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$16.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 30, 2007
Kyle recently broke up with his boyfriend Mark, and is whining about it to his best friends/fag hags, Tiffani and Gwen, when he gets a pleasant surprise in their college art class: a jaw-droppingly gorgeous nude male model named Troy. Troy is also a student at the college, and admits he has had some same-sex experiences, but feels they were wrong and that he needs to find a "best buddy" who can help him go straight. Kyle pretends to be a "reformed" homosexual himself, in order to get close to Troy, and accompanies him to a meeting of the school's "ex-gay" support group. Meanwhile, Mark sees Kyle with Troy and gets jealous, and tries to get close to Troy himself. In the end, everyone bands together to expose (literally) the hypocritical leader of the ex-gay group.

"Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds" (2006) is the supposed sequel to 2004's original "Eating Out" film, and has characters and actors (with the exception of Ryan "Desperate Housewives" Carnes, who was replaced by Brett Chuckerman in the role of Mark), although it is actually a stand-alone story that doesn't require familiarity with the first film. The actors (especially former "America Idol" contender Jim Verranos as Kyle) seem to be more comfortable in their roles this time around, newcomer Marco Dapper (as Troy) shows significant acting ability, and there are more funny scenes than cringe-inducing ones this time around. The film is also improved by the casting of Mink Stole as Kyle's mom, Adrian Quinonez (from Here!TV's "Dante;s Cove") as one of the (not-so)ex-gays, and Michael Serrato (from Logo's "Big Gay Sketch Show") as a flamboyant art teacher. Besides the hypocrisy of many in the ex-gay movement, the story also tries to teach lessons on parental acceptance and trust in a relationship, but it really doesn't register on that level. DVD includes "making of" featurette and director commentary.

Don't expect great filmmaking; it's obviously a low-budget farce, and works well on that level. Based strictly on the story and direction, I'd give it only three stars, but it gets an extra star for being great fun and providing some dazzling eye candy!
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2007
Delivers on all counts, well-written, well-acted, etc. Plus the eye candy is incredible with tonnes of beefcake and male nudity to keep us happy, including the sensational full frontal by Marco Dapper (make sure you get the unrated version). Not to be missed.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds' is a sequel that is not really a sequel - unless the common thread of social attitudes and gender dilemmas as an ongoing tale is the source. A low budget, well scripted, tightly directed (Phillip J. Bartell) little film about gay relationships, attraction blunders, and pretending to be something we aren't (mixed representations that Shakespeare used a lot!) result in a light and ultimately charming little movie.

Kyle (Jim Verraros) loves Marc (Brett Chukerman) but tires of Marc's obsession with one-night stands and the relationship is 'over'. Pining Kyle is supported by his two loony girl friends Tiffani (Rebekah Kochan) and Gwen (Emily Brooke Hands), each with gender attraction problems of her own. In an art class taught by flamboyant pseudo-straight Neil (Michael Serrato) the three meet the new nude model Troy (superstud Marco Dapper) and together they hatch a plan to repair Kyle's old damage: Troy for all his demeanor is a bisexual who wants to be straight.... maybe and supplies the key to a game of deceit. The manner in which Kyle fakes a relationship with Tiffani in order to convince Troy to join him in a 'change-over program' (read, get close to him...) leads to a series of hilarious 'go straight' classes and confrontation with parents who play both sides of the 'support our sons' game and leads to a perky ending that just happens to make some comments on perceptions of people, with reality winning.

The cast is young (with the exception of Mink Stole and Sarah Lilly, both of whom offer solid professional backgrounds to their roles) and attractive and seems to be having a great time pulling off this light farce. There is plenty of spectacular eye candy (Marco Dapper, Brett Chukerman, Nicholas James, Adrian Quinonez, James Michael Bobby, etc) and the women's roles are kept light and genuine. A great movie it is not, but a fun diversion it most assuredly is. Grady Harp, June 07
66 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
I am amused by this series of movies. They are lighthearted comedies with some romance. You have to accept the fact they are independent productions which means they do not have the production values of major Hollywood film but the actors here are likeable and do a yeoman performance. The dialogue is pretty good and the sets are well done. This movie like the first one and the third one are a fun way to spend a period of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2008
Touted as "the first American gay sequel", "Sloppy Seconds" achieves the rare trick of sequels---it surpasses the original. Don't get me wrong; the first was enjoyable, yet it didn't quite meet its potential. Their were flaws in the writing, acting & directing.
"Sloppy Seconds" seems to be a more fully realized production, bringing back the characters Kyle, Gwen & Tiffany in starring status. Blonde hunk Ryan Cairnes is absent this time around, with the role of Marc filled by a brunette hunk and capable actor named Brett Chukerman. The object of desire this time is an unbelievably gorgeous stud named Troy, who is modeling nude for a life drawing class. Marco Dapper is quite the find, beautiful to look at from head to toe. It's discovered that Troy is sexually ambiguous as he confesses his attractions for both sexes. Upon hearing this, the game's afoot as Kyle (the adorable Jim Verraros) & Tiffany strive to bed the stud. Complicating matters is Kyle's estranged boyfriend Marc, who plans his own strategy to bag Troy---by being his gay self. As in the first film, Gwen manipulates Troy into a steamy photo session with Marc, with interesting results.
Being a modern screwball comedy like the first film, things spiral out of control as each party screws things up big time with Troy as he discovers their duplicity. Add to this a hilarious subplot about an "ex-gay" therapy group on campus (in which poor Kyle masquerades as a "reformed" guy dating Tiffany *?!?* as part of the plan to get Troy) and "Sloppy Seconds" comes off as a hysterically funny "Friends" episode.
Helmed by a different director this time (with Allan Q. Brocka staying on as producer), "Sloppy Seconds" looks more confident in execution. Deftly directed, with good performances and even sharper dialogue, "Sloppy Seconds" is a feast for the ears as well as the eyes (although the yummy guys in this one can't be beat!).
And c'mon, guys--a third movie would be great! (Wink wink, nudge nudge!)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
I love this movie as much as the whole series. They are so funny and spot on, the ways of Gay Life. I like to know I saw a lot in my mature years in the LGBT community. I think opened minded people will like it too. Great comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2013
This has become almost a cult classic of gay comedy. Each edition is fresh, funny and a mirror in to all of the different subtypes that exist even within one gay community. These are funny, heart wrenching, emotional and all of the emotions wrapped up in a comedy of errors and mis/undertsnadings and one gay man's journey to find true love in a culture where only young, hung and beautiful gets the prize.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2016
Really hilariously funny at time and quite on the mark, if not a little campy and very queeny. Well worth watching, bottle of beer in hand, and popcorn ready. I would share this one with friends on a rainy Saturday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2008
A friend introduced me to the first Eating Out film a few years ago and I embraced it, although not as much as he did. I liked the film, but it wasn't up to par even by independent-gay-comedy standards. I enjoyed it enough, but when I saw that there was a sequel available I was pretty sure it was just cashing in on the first film's success and would be even worse. By my calculations, this would should have been a terrible film.

I won't go into total detail with the plot, although it is as crazy as the first film. Kyle and Marc are breaking up. New guy Troy (a nude model for Kyle's art class) isn't sure what orientation he is. Returning from the first film, Tiffani and Gwen convince Kyle he should pretend to be an ex-gay to get Marc in the sack. He goes along with the plot, no matter how unsure, and hilarity ensues. What is better here, though, is the filmmakers have a better hold on what is happening on-screen.

I was completely surprised that almost immediately I started cracking up. This is the Empire Strikes Back, Aliens, or Godfather 2 of gay comedies. The script is better, the acting is more confident and assured (although you can tell Marco Dapper as Troy is a newcomer), and the direction moves the story along so well that I was never thinking it should have been more or less. The replacement of Ryan Carnes (no matter how hot he is) as Marc is a smart one. The new Marc, played by Brett Chukerman, is better even though I resisted it at first. Over the course of the movie his charm came through. Honestly, the sequel could be a stand alone film as you don't necessarily need to know the happenings of the first film to get into this one, but it does help.

It may not have been a blockbuster, or the best next hit indie film, or the even the next big gay film. But those of us who seek out smart and hilarious entertainment for our homo film collections should pick this one up, no matter your feelings about the original. I loved it from start to finish. It made the first film seem like our own first time: Uncomfortable, embarassing, and unsure. The second time around we know what we're doing. The film is no different.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 27, 2008
I really did not like the first Eating Out movie at all. I thought the acting was terrible and the movie just poorly made. But Eating Out 2 is a breath of fresh air and just the type of gay film we need. It is not a message film - not a serious coming out film or a serious aids film. Instead it is a well acted hilarious, fun-filled joy ride.

The characters are all so likable and the plot very fun and amusing. Cute guys, sexy scenes - what more can one look for? The film manages to be very pro gay, pro monogamy and pro sexual expression.

I highly recommend this film for any gay person or open minded person just looking for a fun film that will provide lots of healthy laughs.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.