Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining fun farce, kind of a gay "Friends"
Kyle recently broke up with his boyfriend Mark, and is whining about it to his best friends/fag hags, Tiffani and Gwen, when he gets a pleasant surprise in their college art class: a jaw-droppingly gorgeous nude male model named Troy. Troy is also a student at the college, and admits he has had some same-sex experiences, but feels they were wrong and that he needs to...
Published on May 30, 2007 by Bob Lind

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
I purchased this film after seeing the first film at a friends house. It, along with the first, is just a gay-oriented young adult rom-com film with some brief nudity and sexual language. It is an okay movie. I wish something like this had been available when I was a late teen/college age. I would have enjoyed seeing something relevant to my sexuality on the screen. If...
Published on October 28, 2010 by J. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining fun farce, kind of a gay "Friends", May 30, 2007
By 
Bob Lind "camelwest" (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
Kyle recently broke up with his boyfriend Mark, and is whining about it to his best friends/fag hags, Tiffani and Gwen, when he gets a pleasant surprise in their college art class: a jaw-droppingly gorgeous nude male model named Troy. Troy is also a student at the college, and admits he has had some same-sex experiences, but feels they were wrong and that he needs to find a "best buddy" who can help him go straight. Kyle pretends to be a "reformed" homosexual himself, in order to get close to Troy, and accompanies him to a meeting of the school's "ex-gay" support group. Meanwhile, Mark sees Kyle with Troy and gets jealous, and tries to get close to Troy himself. In the end, everyone bands together to expose (literally) the hypocritical leader of the ex-gay group.

"Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds" (2006) is the supposed sequel to 2004's original "Eating Out" film, and has characters and actors (with the exception of Ryan "Desperate Housewives" Carnes, who was replaced by Brett Chuckerman in the role of Mark), although it is actually a stand-alone story that doesn't require familiarity with the first film. The actors (especially former "America Idol" contender Jim Verranos as Kyle) seem to be more comfortable in their roles this time around, newcomer Marco Dapper (as Troy) shows significant acting ability, and there are more funny scenes than cringe-inducing ones this time around. The film is also improved by the casting of Mink Stole as Kyle's mom, Adrian Quinonez (from Here!TV's "Dante;s Cove") as one of the (not-so)ex-gays, and Michael Serrato (from Logo's "Big Gay Sketch Show") as a flamboyant art teacher. Besides the hypocrisy of many in the ex-gay movement, the story also tries to teach lessons on parental acceptance and trust in a relationship, but it really doesn't register on that level. DVD includes "making of" featurette and director commentary.

Don't expect great filmmaking; it's obviously a low-budget farce, and works well on that level. Based strictly on the story and direction, I'd give it only three stars, but it gets an extra star for being great fun and providing some dazzling eye candy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very sexy gay comedy, July 5, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
Delivers on all counts, well-written, well-acted, etc. Plus the eye candy is incredible with tonnes of beefcake and male nudity to keep us happy, including the sensational full frontal by Marco Dapper (make sure you get the unrated version). Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Fluff on the Outside, Some Solid Statements on the Inside, June 6, 2007
By 
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
'Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds' is a sequel that is not really a sequel - unless the common thread of social attitudes and gender dilemmas as an ongoing tale is the source. A low budget, well scripted, tightly directed (Phillip J. Bartell) little film about gay relationships, attraction blunders, and pretending to be something we aren't (mixed representations that Shakespeare used a lot!) result in a light and ultimately charming little movie.

Kyle (Jim Verraros) loves Marc (Brett Chukerman) but tires of Marc's obsession with one-night stands and the relationship is 'over'. Pining Kyle is supported by his two loony girl friends Tiffani (Rebekah Kochan) and Gwen (Emily Brooke Hands), each with gender attraction problems of her own. In an art class taught by flamboyant pseudo-straight Neil (Michael Serrato) the three meet the new nude model Troy (superstud Marco Dapper) and together they hatch a plan to repair Kyle's old damage: Troy for all his demeanor is a bisexual who wants to be straight.... maybe and supplies the key to a game of deceit. The manner in which Kyle fakes a relationship with Tiffani in order to convince Troy to join him in a 'change-over program' (read, get close to him...) leads to a series of hilarious 'go straight' classes and confrontation with parents who play both sides of the 'support our sons' game and leads to a perky ending that just happens to make some comments on perceptions of people, with reality winning.

The cast is young (with the exception of Mink Stole and Sarah Lilly, both of whom offer solid professional backgrounds to their roles) and attractive and seems to be having a great time pulling off this light farce. There is plenty of spectacular eye candy (Marco Dapper, Brett Chukerman, Nicholas James, Adrian Quinonez, James Michael Bobby, etc) and the women's roles are kept light and genuine. A great movie it is not, but a fun diversion it most assuredly is. Grady Harp, June 07
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even more satisfying the second time around, May 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
Touted as "the first American gay sequel", "Sloppy Seconds" achieves the rare trick of sequels---it surpasses the original. Don't get me wrong; the first was enjoyable, yet it didn't quite meet its potential. Their were flaws in the writing, acting & directing.
"Sloppy Seconds" seems to be a more fully realized production, bringing back the characters Kyle, Gwen & Tiffany in starring status. Blonde hunk Ryan Cairnes is absent this time around, with the role of Marc filled by a brunette hunk and capable actor named Brett Chukerman. The object of desire this time is an unbelievably gorgeous stud named Troy, who is modeling nude for a life drawing class. Marco Dapper is quite the find, beautiful to look at from head to toe. It's discovered that Troy is sexually ambiguous as he confesses his attractions for both sexes. Upon hearing this, the game's afoot as Kyle (the adorable Jim Verraros) & Tiffany strive to bed the stud. Complicating matters is Kyle's estranged boyfriend Marc, who plans his own strategy to bag Troy---by being his gay self. As in the first film, Gwen manipulates Troy into a steamy photo session with Marc, with interesting results.
Being a modern screwball comedy like the first film, things spiral out of control as each party screws things up big time with Troy as he discovers their duplicity. Add to this a hilarious subplot about an "ex-gay" therapy group on campus (in which poor Kyle masquerades as a "reformed" guy dating Tiffany *?!?* as part of the plan to get Troy) and "Sloppy Seconds" comes off as a hysterically funny "Friends" episode.
Helmed by a different director this time (with Allan Q. Brocka staying on as producer), "Sloppy Seconds" looks more confident in execution. Deftly directed, with good performances and even sharper dialogue, "Sloppy Seconds" is a feast for the ears as well as the eyes (although the yummy guys in this one can't be beat!).
And c'mon, guys--a third movie would be great! (Wink wink, nudge nudge!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better the Second Time, October 28, 2008
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
A friend introduced me to the first Eating Out film a few years ago and I embraced it, although not as much as he did. I liked the film, but it wasn't up to par even by independent-gay-comedy standards. I enjoyed it enough, but when I saw that there was a sequel available I was pretty sure it was just cashing in on the first film's success and would be even worse. By my calculations, this would should have been a terrible film.

I won't go into total detail with the plot, although it is as crazy as the first film. Kyle and Marc are breaking up. New guy Troy (a nude model for Kyle's art class) isn't sure what orientation he is. Returning from the first film, Tiffani and Gwen convince Kyle he should pretend to be an ex-gay to get Marc in the sack. He goes along with the plot, no matter how unsure, and hilarity ensues. What is better here, though, is the filmmakers have a better hold on what is happening on-screen.

I was completely surprised that almost immediately I started cracking up. This is the Empire Strikes Back, Aliens, or Godfather 2 of gay comedies. The script is better, the acting is more confident and assured (although you can tell Marco Dapper as Troy is a newcomer), and the direction moves the story along so well that I was never thinking it should have been more or less. The replacement of Ryan Carnes (no matter how hot he is) as Marc is a smart one. The new Marc, played by Brett Chukerman, is better even though I resisted it at first. Over the course of the movie his charm came through. Honestly, the sequel could be a stand alone film as you don't necessarily need to know the happenings of the first film to get into this one, but it does help.

It may not have been a blockbuster, or the best next hit indie film, or the even the next big gay film. But those of us who seek out smart and hilarious entertainment for our homo film collections should pick this one up, no matter your feelings about the original. I loved it from start to finish. It made the first film seem like our own first time: Uncomfortable, embarassing, and unsure. The second time around we know what we're doing. The film is no different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very amusing gay film, August 27, 2008
By 
barry (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
I really did not like the first Eating Out movie at all. I thought the acting was terrible and the movie just poorly made. But Eating Out 2 is a breath of fresh air and just the type of gay film we need. It is not a message film - not a serious coming out film or a serious aids film. Instead it is a well acted hilarious, fun-filled joy ride.

The characters are all so likable and the plot very fun and amusing. Cute guys, sexy scenes - what more can one look for? The film manages to be very pro gay, pro monogamy and pro sexual expression.

I highly recommend this film for any gay person or open minded person just looking for a fun film that will provide lots of healthy laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic comedy, August 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
This movie had me in stitches. The actors are realy something to look at and the acting is not bad either. Though the story continues from the first one, you dont loose info you need to watch it. I must warn you though that homosexuality is more than just the main theme in this movie, but if it's not a touchy subject for you, it's a great movie to watch with friends.

Like I always say: Watch more than just the movie, you will see more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Better than the first one!!, October 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
I really enjoyed the first movie, but the second movie was hysterical! I was disappointed that Ryan Carnes wasnt in the second movie, but the actor that did his role did a wonderful job! I liked the surprises in the movie. Very well written, directed, and most definately, well acted. Bravo!! Can the guys in this movie be any hotter? I think not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you Want to Keep Eating Out :), July 14, 2010
By 
Mark A. Knight "St. Pete Guy" (ST. PETERSBURG, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
I saw this sequel before watching the first Eating Out. Glad I did. This is my favorite film of the trilogy. The first film was so sloppy and amateurish it seemed like a warm up to this superior sequel. Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds is much wittier than numero uno. The characters got on your nerves the first go-around. Here the "cartoonish" nature of the characters softens them, and makes them more agreeable. Also, the comic timing of the actors is much better directed and played.

The ex-gay subplot is hysterical, and nicely counter balances the sexual obsession of the main characters for Marco Dapper's hunk. And as hunks go, Mr. Dapper is King of the Hill, or hills, from the backside. See the movie, you'll get it. If I have a main complaint it's that all three Eating Out movies feature the gym bunny porno standards that are unfortunately the norm for gay independent features now. None of the pretty boys has a single hair on their chests. Uh, MOST men DO have hair there.

Mr. Dapper, however, transcends any standard of male beauty. He is physically so perfect he'll haunt your retina days after you've seen the film. He looks like a Greek statue come to life. His earnest delivery, soft low voice, and erotic ease in the bisexual shenanigans make him as ideal for this type of sex comedy as Jane Fonda was/is in Barbarella. Mr. Dapper's character is every bit as fanciful and entertaining as Ms. Fonda's futuristic astronaut. Bon appetit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, February 23, 2008
This review is from: Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds (DVD)
I own both Eating Out movies and I loved this one the best. The first one is very sexually charged but this one is both sexy and funny. It's not often that I enjoy a sequel better than the original. My advice, Buy This Movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds
Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds by Phillip J. Bartell (DVD - 2007)
$24.95 $16.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.