Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 Stars for the Hip-Hop Thugster
As the notorious first "official" full length album from the NWA camp, Eazy-E helped establish a stranglehold on the "Gangsta Rap" genre before there ever was such a term. While Eazy had already made a name for himself with his independently released single "Boyz In Tha Hood", (which he had reportedly sold out of his trunk), it was Eazy-Duz-It that made the then...
Published on July 15, 2005 by Mike J

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great.
You'll enjoy this album if you like gangsta-rap, although it's not at all as great as the works of NWA, Ice Cube or Public Enemy. Just funky rhymes and rhythm, entertaining, worth listening to.
Published on June 1, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 Stars for the Hip-Hop Thugster, July 15, 2005
By 
Mike J (Central Coast, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eazy-Duz-It (Audio CD)
As the notorious first "official" full length album from the NWA camp, Eazy-E helped establish a stranglehold on the "Gangsta Rap" genre before there ever was such a term. While Eazy had already made a name for himself with his independently released single "Boyz In Tha Hood", (which he had reportedly sold out of his trunk), it was Eazy-Duz-It that made the then unsuspecting Hip-Hop nation take notice of the diminuitive ex-drug dealer turned rapper. While tales of his street exploits, using drug money to start his label, and "Ruthless" business acumen are the stuff of legends, it was this album that most would choose to use as their best memories of the now deceased Eric Wright.

Prior to the release of his single and video "We Want Eazy", the streets of Cali were already abuzz with the mere mention that a whole album was being released by Eazy. He and his crew had already established a loyal following with the flood of singles they had already released. When Eazy-Duz-It was released, Eazy was already in regular rotation from Greg Mack's Rap Attack radio show in LA all the way up to Nasty Nes' show in Seattle. Despite the familiarity with the young sounding rapper, no one was ready for the brashness that the L.P. would offer.

From the start, every offensive, violent, and yes, humourous rhyme was clearly designed to either shock or excite Eazy's audience. Like Too $hort and 2 Live Crew before him, Eazy went for a dirty side and a clean side to his album. The fact that he started off with the dirty side seemed to make the statement that the priorty with Eric & Co. was streets first, then radio. Like Ice-T's Rhyme Pays, Eazy-Duz-It was an uncompromising look at the rough inner-city with tales of drugs, prostitution and violence. What was different from any of these predecessors was the amazing lack of any sort of remorse for the crime or positivity to counter the negative messages and images. This rapper was cut from a different cloth than his other Hip-Hop bretheren.

Lyrically, Eric's ghost writters Ice Cube, MC Ren, and The D.O.C. injected him with a sense of reality and depth that sounded shockingly unlike any other prior release. These harsh realites came to you from this kid who had previously stated, albeit misleadingly, that he was only 16 or 17 years old at the time the album was released. To hear the tales of bank robberies gone awry ("Nobody Move"), violent street confrontations with rival gangs ("Boyz-N-Tha Hood remix" & "Eazy-Duz-It"), and explicit tales of sexual exploits ("Still Talkin'") coming from the mouth of what sounded to be a young teen was astounding unto itself. But perhaps more amazing still was the fact that the second "radio friendly" half of the album was as equally uncompromising in content and depth as the first despite its lack of curses. The fact that the Street side doesn't outweigh the Radio side in terms of it's quality is a statement unto itself.

Beatwise, the blueprint laid out by Eric B and Rakim's heavy use of funk loops and samples on both Paid In Full and Follow the Leader were taken in a new direction by producer/DJ Dr. Dre. Prior to Eazy-Duz-It, most LA hip hop releases had a very strong prevalence of cheap sounding keyboards and drum machines. New York was still mostly stuck in James Brown land. Eazy-Duz-It came alive through use creative usage of Sly & The Family Stone, Bootsy Collins, Parliament, Brick, Brass Construction and others. This funk style of production became Dr. Dre's signature and set the trend for future West Coast releases up to today.

While all the highs and lows that were to follow this album's release are sure to spark a heated discussion in any group of Hip-Hop listeners, this album remains a testament to the strength of both Eazy and NWA. Sure, he didn't write his own lyrics. Sure Dre had to "punch" Eric into his own vocal tracks endlessly to create the illusion that Eazy could actually flow naturally. Yes there was the eventual falling out and self-implosion within NWA. And there were the many desperate attempts Eazy made to reclaim his credibility in the music community afterwards, (several of which are on this re-release version with the inclusion of his 5150 EP). None of these truths or eventual results should detract from the greatness of this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight off the streets of Compton, July 23, 2004
By 
T. A. CLARK "tiajuana76" (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eazy-Duz-It (Audio CD)
This cd brings back so many memories for me. In 1988, I was 12 years old when this "tape" (remember those) came out and I had no idea the impact this lil' dude and his posse would have on the music world. All I knew was the good music coming through my boom box. Eazy E (R.I.P) was not the greatest rapper, but Dre's beats behind that high pitched voice produced some classics. During that time my family didn't have cable, but we had the Jukebox and I recall running home from school to watch "We Want Eazy!" Those were the days and I was so saddened to see the tragic demise of Eazy E, the Godfather of rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gansta e, October 27, 2000
By 
avdr (san diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eazy Duz It (Audio CD)
eazy e of n.w.a. released his first solo album in 1988 and that was one of the first albums that had the parental guidance label on the cover.in this album he has plenty of cuz words and old school rhymes.with help of his n.w.a. band mates,he puts out a good album.this album contains classic's like, "eazy duz it","we want eazy","radio" and a "boyz in the hood" remix.eazy e was one of the best and most influential rappers in the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He Was Once A Thug From Around The Way {4 Stars}, October 18, 2007
This review is from: Eazy-Duz-It (Audio CD)
I remember sneaking into my bedroom and listening to albums like this on my walkman because the lyrics were a little too blue for my moms taste. Even my dad didn't want me hearing this and he was the one that put me on to Redd Foxx. In hindsight, I'd have to say that this album was worth all the risk. But because an album was tight when you were in high school or college doesn't make it classic. I think a lot of people believe an album is classic simply because it's old. This album is definitely dope though. There ARE some classic joints to be found on this album. Tracks like "Boyz N The Hood (Remix)", "Eazy-er Said Than Dunn", "We Want Eazy", and "Eazy Duz It" are all classics that are still bangin' today and joints like "No More ?'s" and "Ruthless Villain" are tight as well.

There are a few suspect tracks that keep this album from achieving classic status. Tracks like "Still Talkin'", "Eazy-Chapter 8 Verse 10", and "Nobody Move" don't really go anywhere and come off as really forgettable while "I'ma Break It Down" is just plain boring.

Overall, the album is dope and is definitely worth owning. This disc falls short of classic, but the bangers on here make this album more than worth the money. If you're into old school or if you haven't heard these songs, then I recommend picking this one up. Also, if you can't find 5150: Home 4 Tha Sick then getting this is probably the closest you'll come to getting it since it's out of print now.

Standout Tracks: Radio, Boyz N The Hood (Remix), Ruthless Villain, We Want Eazy, Eazy Duz It, No More ?'s, and Eazy-er Said Than Dunn (My Favorite)

R.I.P. Eric Wright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eazy Really duz it on this one, September 18, 2000
By 
Tyler (Compton, CA USA (TREETOP PIRU BLOODZ)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eazy Duz It (Audio CD)
This Is probally Eazy E's best CD ever. Eazy E released this cd before N.W.A.'s Straight Outta Compton came out in 1988. This Cd has some nice funky gangsta beats Like "Eazy Duz It" this is one of the best songs of the whole cd. "Boyz N Da Hood" another good one off this cd. "Imma Break It Down" has a real funky beat to it kinda tropical soundin. "No More ?'s" is one of the best songs on here, and its the most different cause Eazy E has a reporter askin him questions and he raps when he answers the questions. "Nobody Move" is a really good song Mc Ren and Eazy E are robbin a bank, I Counted how many times Eazy E says the Word "PHUCKK" Eazy and Ren say it 14 times in this song this is one of the better songs off the cd. "Two Hard Mutha's" has a Gfunk sound with Yella playin the drums, this song is different and im glad Eazy E did somethin like that. "We Want Eazy" I have never like this song, and the only reason why I think itz a hit is because it has no bad language in it, and thats a reason to play it on the radio. "Ruthless Villain" one of Favz. "Ruthless Villain" Has a really nice sound to it Eazy E and MC Ren bust it out on this track. "Still Talkin" This is the very 1st track on the cd, and let me say it starts the cd off pretty good with its G-Funk sound. "Radio" i can't really say anything bad about this song cause i never really listen to it, but just cause I dont like it doesnt mean yall wont like it. "Eazy-Er Said Than Dunn" Dr.Dre starts this song off sayin Ish this song is an average song on the CD. This CD brings a Gangsta rap style and a G-Funk beat sound that Dre made on this CD. Just because Dr.Dre produced this cd doesnt mean you will like it. I suggest if you are from LA or somethin or from the WESTCOAST you will like this cd and you should buy it cause it is a classic.
R.I.P. EAZY E
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect In Every Way, April 14, 2006
This review is from: Eazy-Duz-It (Audio CD)
Eazy-E is my favorite rapper and i find him highly underrated. He was easily the best member in NWA and the hype surrounding his death should have been much bigger. He is a one-of-a kind rap genius with a sound unlike anybody else. This album is a masterpiece and is perfect in every way. The opening song Still Talkin' is hilarious and Eazy drops freestyles that sound like he isnt even trying. To hear some of his best verses of all time check out No More ?s which is my absolute favorite song done by him ever. The album flows together beautifully and even the bonus songs at the end are funny including Merry Muthaf***in' Xmas which is classic. Other classics include Ruthless Villian, 2 Hard Mutha's, Boyz-N-The Hood Remix, Eazy-Duz-It and We Want Eazy. There is no doubt in my mind that he should be a legend along with Pac and Biggie... he just left WAY before he could establish himself as big as them. also the feud with Dre and Death Row hurt his reputation greatly right before he died. Nonetheless he is amazing and Dre & MC Ren also add to this great cd. Do not hold out.. buy this ASAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Old School Rap(4.5 stars), August 30, 2005
This review is from: Eazy-Duz-It (Audio CD)
NWA's MC Eazy E's solo rap album features some extreme, powerful verses of suggestive violence, sexual situations, and police in a similar vain to NWA, however it primarily sees a young Eazy E delivering the lyrics. Although not responsible for writing the material, Eazy has a smooth, convincing delivery proving this release to be one of the best in it's genre. "Eazy-Duz-It" has some of the most humourous, outrageous and powerful words on any Gangsta rap album around.

To begin, we hear a solid Introduction breaking into the first track entitled "Still Talkin" a low grooving beat with reasonable lyrics. The album is rather consistent in style, however there is a fair bit of contrast in subjects between songs. "2 Hard Muthas" is a great track, with a very funky beat and superb rhymes. Each of the hits are all classic including the surreal rhymes of "Boyz-n-the-Hood", "We Want Eazy", "Eazy-er Said Then Done" and the self-titled track. The first side of the album is considerably stronger with more furious lyrics, and stronger beats. However Side 2 certainly has some great highlights too which include "Neighbourhood Sniper", "Niggaz My Height Don't Fight", and "Only If You Want It".

Overall, this is a classic Old School Gangsta Rap album that no fan of rap should be without. Although it has been a number of years since this album was released, the beats are still fresh sounding and strong. The lyrics may not feature a deep insights on society or culture, but they provide some shocks, surprises and laughs. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eazy-Duz-It Big Time On His First Solo Album, April 7, 2003
By 
ThaRealest0431 (Greensburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eazy-Duz-It (Audio CD)
The main man in N.W.A released this album right after they released their classic sophomore album, "Straight Outta Compton". After I heard this album, Eazy instantly became my favorite rapper. With this album, it was the start of him putting Compton on the map and he represented it till his untimely death in march of 95. Some of the stand out cuts on this album are, "Nobody Move", "Ruthless Villain", "Boyz N Tha Hood (Remix)", Eazy-Duz-It", and "We Want Eazy". All of the tracks are enjoyable to listen to and you won't have to skip any of them if you are a big fan of old school rap or gangsta rap music. The bonus ep they released with the remastered edition, "5150 Home 4 Tha Sick" Eazy released in 92 after N.W.A broke up and he was advertising it for his second solo album "Temporary Insanity" which never got released. The only song I didn't like on this was "Niggaz My Heigh Don't Fight", but the rest is classic. Rest In Peace To The Godfather Of Gangsta Rap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic material from Eazy, December 15, 2002
By 
This review is from: Eazy Duz It (Audio CD)
Eazy-E has never been exceptional on the mic. He didn't even write his own lyrics, but there was just something about him you loved. Maybe it was his voice, or the way he delivered those lyrics. Whatever it was, it is on full effect Eazy-Duz-It. The album plays exactly like Straight Outta Compton, and if you like that, you're gaurenteed to like this. The production is the same kind of sound, and of course you get crazy hilarious lyrics from Eazy-E. One of the reasons the rap world misses him so much. R.I.P. Eric "Eazy-E" Wright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eazy, May 18, 2004
By 
187um Killa (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eazy-Duz-It (Audio CD)
Eazy's '88 album Eazy-duz-it,basicly shows that Eazy is the greatest mc to ever spit on a mic. "Eazy-Duz-It" has to be one of the greatest songs on this album.Eazy-E's album titled single, and the first single from this album.Each and every song on this album is perfect, but in my opinion, my favorite track is "Merry Muthaf***** Xmas" love the lyrics, love the beats, and the best part about it, is the theme of the song. It has very funny lyrics, and I can't believe that it is not one of Eazy's Singles.There is no reason not to buy this cd, because everything about it is great. Eazy-E's music will always be remembered Rest In Peice Er "Eazy-E" wright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eazy-Duz-It
Eazy-Duz-It by Eazy E (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.