Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey of Discovery
There's a reason why Proof of Heaven by Dr. Eben Alexander has spent week after week on the New York Times best seller list. It's full of fascinating insight about the mysteries of the mind, consciousness, and the inter-relationship of the physical and spiritual worlds.

The book is based on Dr. Alexander's out of body experience (OBE) while he lay in a coma in...
Published 20 months ago by Barry Francis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
The I was looking forward to reading this book but was disappointed. The writing style of this book was not enjoyable and I did not get much out of it.
Published 5 months ago by Diane


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey of Discovery, March 27, 2013
By 
Barry Francis (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
There's a reason why Proof of Heaven by Dr. Eben Alexander has spent week after week on the New York Times best seller list. It's full of fascinating insight about the mysteries of the mind, consciousness, and the inter-relationship of the physical and spiritual worlds.

The book is based on Dr. Alexander's out of body experience (OBE) while he lay in a coma in the intensive care unit in the hospital where he worked as a neurosurgeon. He was suffering from a rare form of bacterial meningitis from which recovery is rare. Miraculously, after seven days with no apparent brain activity, he recovers with a jolt, just as his caregivers are preparing to withdraw life support.

He returns with vivid memories of his experiences in a heavenly world characterized by a bright vivid landscape where he was guided by an angelic young woman and where he senses the higher powers of unconditional love. Unlike most other OBE experiences, he has no sense of his identity in the physical world and was not greeted by long lost family members. At least so he initially thinks. However, he later comes to understand that the angelic woman who guided him was a birth sister of whom he had not previously been aware.

Before his life-altering experience Dr. Alexander was skeptical about such OBE accounts, considering them merely a function of the dying brain. After it he was a changed man eager to record the awe-inspiring world and the presence of God to which he had been exposed. He now recognizes that, far from being an unimportant by-product of physical processes (as he had previously believed), "consciousness is not only very real it's actually more real than the rest of physical existence and most likely the basis of it all." His journey of understanding continues to the benefit of his readers.

Barry Francis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science and Spirituality can they co-exist, May 14, 2013
By 
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
This is a non-fiction book about Near Death Experiences (NDEs) and how a scientist and healer reconciled his pre NDE and post NDE lives. Dr. Alexander, a husband, father, and Academic Neurosurgeon suffered from a disease affecting 1 in 10 million adults which is almost always fatal. He was in a coma for seven days and miraculous came back from the beyond. What he experienced and learned is chronicled in this book from more of a scientific approach put as close to laymen's terms as possible. If you have a science and/or medical background it may be easy for you to understand. If not, Dr. Alexander does explain terms as he goes along.

I've never had a NDE and could not relate to that aspect of his story. I do have an open mind when it comes to the spiritual nature of our lives. It is hard for me to speak for someone who does not already believe in these things that this book would ultimately change their minds. However, if you are undecided and need a more scientific explanation of spiritual beliefs then this is the book for you.

Can science and spirituality co-exist my answer has always been yes. This book reinforces that to me. Check it out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attention: Healthcare Professionals, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
I am a healthcare professional. This book was written by a neurosurgeon/agnostic. Changed his life. Made ME think long and hard. Great read, especially for healthcare professionals. This book has teeth for those of us that experience life and death on a daily basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well supported with science, November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
The fact that someone so into science and with no faith wrote this, made it much more compelling. Very intriguing and comforting when I think about dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest things I've ever read, January 6, 2014
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
The details were sometimes difficult to get through because of the big words Dr. Alexander used. But overall this book was one of the greatest books I've ever read. I was drawn to the point of tears (especially towards the end) when he describes the way his family members reacted to his whole situation. The scariest thing to me is that no one was ever recorded in medical history to have had what he got. As I read I thought often, "I hope they will know what to do." There is always a first to everything and sometimes it goes well, sometimes it doesn't. I'm glad he survived and was able to write this book for the rest of the world to feel Heaven closer than they maybe had before. Everyone should have the chance to read this book and believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting and well written, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
I enjoyed his narration of his experience during his "death" and also the fact that he is a neurologist by profession
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My loved ones have left but they are somewhere else...how soothing., May 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
This book healed the hurt and filled the void in my heart over the departure of my loved ones. I still miss them but I have hope that all is not lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story of God's wonderful power and mercy., October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
If this doesn't make you know that there is a God and a Heaven, then you must be dead. Wonderful book and written so clear. Everyone should read it at least twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
The I was looking forward to reading this book but was disappointed. The writing style of this book was not enjoyable and I did not get much out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you fear death, this will change your mind--maybe your life. He's a medical savant and this book will shock you!, July 11, 2014
This review is from: By Eben Alexander III:Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near-Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife [Hardcover] (Hardcover)
Upon reading a article about this book in my Dr's office, I had to read the rest of this almost magical tour he took during a bout w/ an illness that should have surely killed him, as few ever survived w/ what he had. Thee most deadly form of meningitis possible. In his deathlike state, or actually state of death-he goes on step by step to describe what you only Wish you might have--when it's your turn to die. An experience w/ Jesus, or God if you wish, w/ beauty unsurpassed, detailed exquisite feelings and moments of joy, bliss and complete acceptance of the rapture in the beyond, accompanied by our creator, then angels. An extemely educated, and prolific doctor in his chosen field, he never gave the afterlife that much thought. Sure, he'd heard stories, but now he, a brilliant neurosurgeon, tops in his field--was knowingly deceased, as he sees it -enjoying the world he had entered. Through it all, he saw through virtually departed sight, his wife and children suffering his ultimate demise, w/ unbearable anguish and sadness. The last few chapters left me almost bored w/ the clinical aspects and detail that I don't understand, but the story itself can take Shakespeares 'sting' out of death, and is a must read for those who fear death and what lies afterward. He didn't need the money that sold this book but he needed to TELL you what is awaiting you, after your own demise- if you're lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.