Prime Music
Buy New
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by in easy-to-open packaging.
Eccentric Soul: Smart's P... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Eccentric Soul: Smart's Palace [Vinyl]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Eccentric Soul: Smart's Palace [Vinyl]

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Prime Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Vinyl, June 2, 2009
"Please retry"
$17.48 $139.35
This item’s packaging will be visible when delivered and cannot be gift-wrapped.

Black Friday in Music Black Friday in Music

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Check Out Our Turntable Store
    Need a new record player? Check out our turntable store for a great selection of turntables, needles, accessories, and more.
  • Get a $100 Gift Card: Get the Discover it card and get a $100.00 Gift Card* after your first purchase within 3 months. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

Eccentric Soul: Smart's Palace [Vinyl] + Eccentric Soul: A Red Black & Green Production + Eccentric Soul: The Nickel & Penny Labels
Price for all three: $62.79

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Vinyl (June 2, 2009)
  • Original Release Date: 2009
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Numero
  • ASIN: B0026IZRI4
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #255,797 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. I'm Not Ashamed
2. I Was Made to Love Her
3. Tell Her
4. Barefoot Philly
5. A Day in the Life
6. Lorraine
7. Everybody Needs Somebody
8. It's Your Love
9. If You Really Love Me
10. Inflation
11. Don't Hate Let's Communicate
12. Herbie's Bag
13. The Dance Got Old
14. I've Got a Funny Feeling
15. Crazy About You Baby
16. Mercy Baby
17. Dedicated to You
18. Let Me Be Your Christmas Toy
19. It's Like Heaven

Editorial Reviews

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Donald E. Gilliland TOP 1000 REVIEWER on May 1, 2014
Format: Vinyl Verified Purchase
There's no product review on Amazon for this CD as of this writing, so I'll try and offer a short overview for this very impressive compilation of obscure soul recordings from Wichita, Kansas, covering the years 1965-1975.

Smart's Palace was a club in Wichita owned and operated by the Smart family, many of whom where musicians themselves. You can hear evidence of that family's talent on this CD, many of the tracks featuring members of the Smart family. But the Smart family were not the only talented ones in town. This CD also has several songs from another musical bunch of siblings in the Neal family who also were prominent in what's dubbed "the inner circle" of Wichita soul music scene. Cornelius Neal, a singer known as "Baby Neal" sang with the Smart Brothers, and then later, he and other members of the Neal family formed the band Chocolate Snow, a very tight outfit that has 4 songs on this CD, one of which is an inventive instrumental version of the Beatles' classic "A Day in the Life." The liner notes tell us that Chocolate Snow "took its cues from Santana, Earth Wind & Fire, and Sly and the Family Stone ... combining funk, rock, outrageous outfits, and various ethnicities into one band." That's a pretty accurate description of their sound. By this time, "Baby Neal" was now going by the nickname of C.C., adding his melodic voice to catchy songs such as "Let Me Be Your Christmas Toy."

One of my favorite artists on here is Fred Williams, a singer with a really distinctive, gritty voice. The two tracks by him on this collection are both great, leaving me wanting to hear more. Another one of the better tunes on this CD was recorded by a local DJ, Tim Jacob, whose "Mercy Baby" oozes with sweet, funky soul.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category