Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy New
$5.00
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Economic Science and the ... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Economic Science and the Austrian Method Paperback – February 26, 2007

3.6 out of 5 stars 10 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$5.00
$4.18 $3.49
MP3 CD
"Please retry"
$10.59

Up to 50% off select books
Featured titles are up to 50% off for a limited time. See all titles
$5.00 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. Only 7 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Economic Science and the Austrian Method
  • +
  • Economics in One Lesson: The Shortest and Surest Way to Understand Basic Economics
  • +
  • The Law
Total price: $20.05
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

A definitive defense of the methodological foundations of Austrian economics. Hoppe sets the praxeological view (economics as a purely deductive science) against positivism, while taking the critics of the Austrian approach head on. Hans-Hermann Hoppe rests his argument on the Kantian idea of the "synthetic apriori" proposition, thereby expanding an aim of Mises's in the methodology section of Human Action. Hoppe is the Austrian School's most prominent methodologist, and here he is in top form. He combines a rigorous scientific explanation with fantastic passion and rhetoric.

These lectures astonished students at the Mises University when they were first delivered. They were later turned into this monograph, which has been a staple of Austrian pedagogy ever since. The volume includes:

Preface, by Llewellyn H. Rockwell, Jr.

I. Praxeology and Economic Science II. On Praxeology and the Praxeological Foundations of Epistemology
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Paperback: 82 pages
  • Publisher: Ludwig Von Mises Institute; 2 edition (February 26, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 094546620X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0945466208
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.2 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #920,374 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Hans-Hermann Hoppe (1949- ) is a philosopher and economist writing in the "classical" Austrian tradition, which is to say in the tradition of Mises and Rothbard. He is also one of the most creative thinkers in that tradition. (His work, Democracy: The God that Failed, is a brilliant extension of Austrian thought into the realm of politics.)

This little work (which is a collection of some stuff previously printed) provides a good introduction to and defense of Austrian methodology. The question is this: what is the status of the laws and principles of economics? Are principles such as "the law of marginal utility" everywhere and on all occasions true, or are they empirical generalizations subject to falsification? Mises - writing in the tradition of Kant and Leibniz - argued that the principles of economics are a priori. Misesian methodology therefore falls within the Kantian and rationalist tradition. (Hoppe rejects the interpretation of Kant given by Rand as "arrogant ignorance.) Economics, according to Mises, is closer to disciplines such as logic and mathematics than it is to the natural sciences. In his defense of the Austrian method, Prof. Hoppe provides brief but useful critiques of empiricism, historicism, and relativism.
Mises's central works in this area are Human Action, Epistemological Problems of Economics, Theory and History, and The Ultimate Foundation of Economic Science.
1 Comment 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Hoppe writes a very heady defense of the Austrian economic tradition. As many traditional economic theories seem to be failing us in these times, Austrian economics are getting a second glance. This book is not an intro for the lay reader - it's a book about methodology. Most specifically, it defends the belief that economics should an abstract science (similar to mathematics and logic) as opposed to an empirical science (similar to chemistry).

While I disagree with the conculsions, the arguments are worth knowing. The difference in theoretical versus empirical work is also a key difference between the Austrian and Chicago schools.
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I purchased this text from mises.org earlier this year. I've been using it as part of my study to better understand the methodology behind economic reasoning. Admittedly, I took an economics course at my undergraduate institution that really dampened my enthusiasm for the subject. The professor's approach to the subject required that we buy his textbook—my professor was classmates with Ben Bernanke at MIT. Most of the lectures ended up confusing me more than I was being enlightened. By the end of the semester, I grew disillusioned with the whole realm of economics.

After the economic crisis in the U.S. and the continuing economic crises globally, I felt that I needed to understand why such events continually occur. I stumble upon the writings of Ludvig von Mises and other Austrian Economists and felt that they spoke reason to my soul.

The Austrian Method of economic reasoning is superior in my mind, as Hoppe in this short, information-packed text demolishes the idea of using empiricism and historicism (relativism) in the field of economics. I felt very enlightened about the truth of the human mind being variable and that no constant exists for the use empirical equations to somehow predict the economic future. Hoppe slashes through the scholastic drivel by elucidating how the knowledge possessed by one being must be ascertained to correctly forecast economic data, but he makes it very clear that no one is capable of doing so. Empiricism is nothing but mirrors and smoke in the realm of human action, and it is meant to be employed in the natural sciences alone.

Hoppe's critique of historicism is quite entertaining. He posits the position of these relativist and explains how they dissect history in a whimsical manner, producing the desired outcome they want.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
outstanding little book for those who are ready to take on a more difficult read. covers the philosophical foundation of economics. i enjoyed it immensely.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Hoppe's little book here is less than a 100 pages but i feel that I could write millions of pages about the wealth of ideas contained inside. This is economics written in the grand old philosophical spirit, in Hoppe's wonderfully uncompromising and logically rigorous style. This is strongly recommended to the following types of people: (1) anyone who appreciates Mises or Rothbard who has not yet read Hoppe; (2) any "mainstream" economist who wants an introduction and strong defense of the Austrian paradigm; (3) any intelligent laymen who thinks economics is the "dismal science" and wants to get a taste of how exciting and fascinating economics really can be.

_Economic Science and the Austrian Method_ does a wonderful job of explicating and defending the Austrian, or more specifically the Misesian, or "praxeologic", foundations of economic analysis. At the same time it suggests a promising re-interpretation of traditional rationalist philosophy from within the framework of praxeology. Hence, these writings are not just important for economics, but rationalist epistemology in general. Hoppe wants rationalist philosophers to find strength in praxeology, as the strongest defense against skepticism and relativism. He also wants economists in the Misesian tradition to see their place in the broader picture of philosophical rationalism.

Hoppe sees three competing philosophies that claim to offer a foundation for economics. He sets up his position contra empiricism and historicism, which he finds to be contradictory philosophies that cannot provide the proper foundations required. (Please note, some reviewers have completely misinterpreted this -- historicism is NOT the same as [economic] history.) With the contenders decisively refuted, rationalism stands vindicated.
Read more ›
11 Comments 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Economic Science and the Austrian Method
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
This item: Economic Science and the Austrian Method

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: economic theory