Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Economic textbooks I've read
Heyne begins w/ the first principles of economics: how human beings interact on a mass scale, and the positive consequences of those actions, and the negative consequences of interferring w/ voluntary human interaction. He then carries the reader through the traditional economic concepts of Supply and Demand, Specialized Labor, Externalities...all focused through the...
Published on July 13, 2004 by J A W

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
Good price and a worthwhile buy. It was a good price and helped me immensely. I would buy it again. Good price and a worthwhile buy.
Published 11 months ago by meb4059


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Economic textbooks I've read, July 13, 2004
By 
J A W (Norman, OK United States) - See all my reviews
Heyne begins w/ the first principles of economics: how human beings interact on a mass scale, and the positive consequences of those actions, and the negative consequences of interferring w/ voluntary human interaction. He then carries the reader through the traditional economic concepts of Supply and Demand, Specialized Labor, Externalities...all focused through the lens of the "Economic Way of Thinking".
Make no mistake--this book is a substantive, philosophical refutation of "Statism". Heyne hits Comparative Advantage, Price Theory, Rule of Law, and Private Property hard (in the affirmative), and if you're for tariffs, regulated prices, arbitrary Gov't intervention, and public property, your views won't be validated. All the more reason for you to read this book, and understand why so many stamp their foot down against politicized economic policies that superficially sound and feel so good. Heyne's lesson is to think on a macro-scale, think about the unintended consequences of mass social change, for that is the Economic Way of Thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very different way of teaching economics - I like it, August 4, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economic Way of Thinking, The (11th Edition) (Paperback)
I recently took a course that used this as the main textbook. When I read the book the first time before the course started, I didn't like it at all and was thinking of dropping the course. But after the course started and the professor went over the material in greater detail, I began to understand and appreciate why the authors chose to write the book this way, instead of in the way most conventional textbooks are written -- define and explain new terms or concepts, etc.

Like other conventional economic textbooks, the Economic Way of Thinking teaches major concepts in micro and macro economics (such as supply and demand, inflation, GDP, etc.) but teaches them in a much more engaging way -- not just a collection of facts, definition of terms or concepts, etc. The authors pointed out the importance and subtlety in each new term or concept. That gave me additional insight into the material in the book. I also found the exercises at the end of the chapters very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different by Design, May 20, 2007
This review is from: Economic Way of Thinking, The (11th Edition) (Paperback)
To counter some of the negative reviews, consider this -- they don't get it. Indeed, it was only in reading the introductions of the 10th edition that I gained a deeper understanding of what I already knew to be the brilliance of Paul Heyne. He left the academic restrictions of SMU to be granted the freedom at the University of Washington to introduce his new way of thinking about economics.

Having been taught economics by these principles it took me a long time to understand why when I talk about economics it seems to be at odds with others...my perspective is clearly different based on these fundamental principles.

Indeed, there are several compelling tributes to Paul Heyne and his approch to economic thinking: 1) There is an 11th edition...a second edition beyond his death, that bears his name, 2) The 10th edition includes a reference to Ph.D.s in economics suggesting that they had a deeper understanding of their own discipline by reading this book.

Contrary to another review, economics is NOT about charts...that's the message Paul illustrates in his concepts. Economics is a way of thinking about the world around us. Those who fail to embrace it in this way will miss the potential that it holds: helping us to understand the dynamics of decision making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comparative Advantage in Price Theory, April 24, 2004
By 
Heyne's text explains what it explains well. It is a good Freshman level price theory text. Its strengths are in explaining informational and coordination issues in markets. It does more to explain how the price system works as a communications network than any other text I have seen. It also explains the issues of property rights and transactions costs clearly.
When it comes to the public sector, it is vastly better than many other texts. There are other texts, like Gwartney and Stroup, and Ekelund and Tollinson, which are arguably better at explaining the public sector.
The biggest weaknesses of this book are in macro and international economics. Its chapters on money are ok, but it explains far too little about trade cycles. It has some good material on growth, but could explain more and in more detail. The chapter on international economics could go further as well. The shortcomings of this book likely reduce its sales. So, it seems that the marginal benefits of such revisions exceed their marginal costs.
Heyne is no longer around to revise this book, but the co-authors who took over for him could improve this book greatly for the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., January 8, 2006
By 
Avinash P. Mulye (Santa Clara, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I used this book as an essential study material for my MacroEconomics course at UCBerkeley. I enjoyed it immensely.

The book is organized into 22 chapters and takes you through what could be termed as a more of libertarian, laissez faire form of markets.

It begins with the assertion that it is very difficult to approach the process of economic exchange with an open mind. And that there is a need for a framework. And I agree. Then it gives you a typical example of rush-hour traffic to illustrate and then explain the importance of "agreement on certain rules" in order to ensure co-operation which facilitates transaction.

And then it takes you through the supply and demand PROCESS (rather than STRUCTURE), Elasticity, Price-searchers/takers, MR/MC, importance of price discrimination, price-controls (and perils thereof) etc and then back to the macroeconomic issues (role of Fed, Government, Treasury, inflation, externalities, regulation).

This book (as its title indicates) tends to blur the boundries between Macro and Micro.

Some of the salient features -

1) Uses more enonomics and less mathematics (Paul Krugman's approach).

2) A lot of emphasis on Marginalism.

3) Claims to be simple (e.g. The preface opens up with an important question - Why are so many introductory economics courses taught as if every student is going on to acquire a PhD in the subject?) And the book tends to live by the expectation.

4) The tone is a lot more prescriptive that you could imagine.

5) Maintains that the term Monopoly is very hard to define.

6) Goes close to Austrian school.

7) All in all approaches the economic theory as a process rather than structure.

I will certainly recommend this one to a beginner. And if you are more of left-of-center then this one is for you if you want to understand the other side of the argument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very usefull book. VERY USEFULL ONE!, October 6, 1997
By A Customer
If you need a textbook on Economic, and you do not know the theory, you HAVE to read it before you get started. It's also very usefull for businessmen. I've read it in Russian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humor in Economics, October 8, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economic Way of Thinking, The (11th Edition) (Paperback)
I found this book very comprehensible which made for a quick read. The authors even have a sense of humor which made the book more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this text for any reader or student who dreads having to read a dry, standard economics textbook. The examples are witty and relatable, making for an easy, enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Economic Way of Thinking, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First of all, I had a great professor who I will say knows the topics at his fingertips, the book was very interesting to read and just want you to keep reading and reading. And so yes I enjoyed the book and read about things that I didn't even know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good price and a worthwhile buy. It was a good price and helped me immensely. I would buy it again. Good price and a worthwhile buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got the book for under a $1 plus shipping. Was a great buy because the university I go to was selling this book for about $80...not worth it. The book was a good read and I highly recommend buying it off here than any university site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Economic Way of Thinking, The (11th Edition)
Economic Way of Thinking, The (11th Edition) by Peter J. Boettke (Paperback - February 21, 2005)
Used & New from: $2.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.