Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, still has some errors.
This is a good textbook that really helped me gain a good understanding of monetary policy. It covers current topics such as inflation targeting, the Taylor principle, sterilized currency intervention and the zero lower bound. The book also covered supply and demand for investments and what factors cause supply and demand to increase and decrease.

I feel like I...
Published on September 2, 2012 by Roland Martinez

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase Kindle version
This book is an image of the actual book. You cannot alter the font size, except page by page, meaning it resets to unreadably small each time you turn the page. It also 'broke' my Kindle, as it then took ten or screen touches to get the bottom menu back, allowing me to escape the nightmare. This is horrible, and I am next going to attempt to get a refund.
Published 9 months ago by D. R. Martz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, still has some errors., September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
This is a good textbook that really helped me gain a good understanding of monetary policy. It covers current topics such as inflation targeting, the Taylor principle, sterilized currency intervention and the zero lower bound. The book also covered supply and demand for investments and what factors cause supply and demand to increase and decrease.

I feel like I have a good grasp of what is going on currently inside the Fed. Bernanke is using inflation targeting and Mishkin is a proponent of the tactic. It also covered quantitative easing and the time preference theory of bond investment. I think I have a good grasp of the topic. Several chapters have appendices that are available for free online. Reading through those was an extra bonus when it came to test time.

The book did have a couple of errors. Sometimes it would be a slight grammar error or a slight math error. Sometimes it would say something that was completely the opposite of what it said in the next sentence. Fortunately there was enough content that I was able to work through these but to notice an error every 50 pages or so was grating. A book in its tenth edition should not have these issues.

Because I found this book to be a great supplement to my macroeconomic studies I'll rate it highly. For the crazy prices that publishers charge for textbooks, this book deserves another rundown from the editors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase Kindle version, May 2, 2014
By 
D. R. Martz (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is an image of the actual book. You cannot alter the font size, except page by page, meaning it resets to unreadably small each time you turn the page. It also 'broke' my Kindle, as it then took ten or screen touches to get the bottom menu back, allowing me to escape the nightmare. This is horrible, and I am next going to attempt to get a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Economics Text, April 2, 2013
By 
G. Bunker (Myrtle Beach, SC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
I'm an economics major in college, and, having a particular interest in the Federal Reserve and the macroeconomy at large, I took a class called "Money and Banking"; this is the textbook for that class. I really like this text. It's somewhat simple for an economics textbook, but it explains things clearly and pretty completely. It's really interesting, and I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technical, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
Very technically written. Difficult for a dummie like me to read. For economic/ financial minded people. Was not very helpful for my money and banking course at Oklahoma state university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
Fast shipment of the right book, right edition for my college student!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
From all of my textbooks over the years, this may be my favorite one! I really enjoy this wording/phrasing of everything, and the authors do a great job at explaining everything well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not insightful, December 6, 2013
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
Watch the "inside Job" to see Mishkin not being able to answer even the simplest economics questions posed to him. I enthusiastically bought his book after reading good reviews. I did not find his presentation of the material particularly insightful and was impartial to the book. However, after watching him on Inside Job, I felt really sorry for every dollar I spent on this book.
Example: right before the 2008 financial crisis hits many countries, he writes a report praising the strength of financial institutions of Iceland. It turns out he was paid $124,000 to write that report, which he never discloses. When he is asked how he arrived at the conclusion of Iceland's financial strength, all he says is "i was told so".
This is not the kind os scientist that should be shaping the economics science. I do not have anything to learn from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
This was for class it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, July 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
Too much verbiage not enough concrete proof to back it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Econcomics of Money, Banking and Financial Markets, April 23, 2012
This review is from: Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition (Hardcover)
Excellent book that is written in a clear and concise manner. The book contains updated topics explaining the causes of the recent financial crises.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition
Economics of Money, Banking, and Financial Markets, 10th Edition by Frederic S. Mishkin (Hardcover - January 16, 2012)
$257.60 $199.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.