Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Economics 17th edition
I used this text in an Econ class last semester (my first in a few years) and this book was great. The summaries were helpful, there are several in each chapter instead of one at the end, that's very handy when you're looking for specific information. There are lots of charts to help with the formulas. My favorite areas included the chapters on Antitrust Policy and...
Published on March 7, 2008 by K. Stuckey

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Generally awful, saved by summaries
If you have the misfortune of being assigned this book, I feel for you. The book is filled with needlessly complicated explanations, some of which don't contribute anything to the subject. The authors love to interrupt sentences with variables and equations that could have been saved for information boxes.

The only thing that made this book tolerable is that...
Published on February 21, 2008 by Michael Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Economics 17th edition, March 7, 2008
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
I used this text in an Econ class last semester (my first in a few years) and this book was great. The summaries were helpful, there are several in each chapter instead of one at the end, that's very handy when you're looking for specific information. There are lots of charts to help with the formulas. My favorite areas included the chapters on Antitrust Policy and Regulation, Agriculture, Income Inequality, and the Costs of Production. Economics can be pretty dry subject matter, luckily I also had a lively instructor. Obviously as a student you don't get much say in which text you use, but this is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Generally awful, saved by summaries, February 21, 2008
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
If you have the misfortune of being assigned this book, I feel for you. The book is filled with needlessly complicated explanations, some of which don't contribute anything to the subject. The authors love to interrupt sentences with variables and equations that could have been saved for information boxes.

The only thing that made this book tolerable is that figure captions and summaries were left to a competent editor. The book could be cut in half with a sufficiently critical editing pass. Don't buy this if your curriculum offers a choice of books.

Edit:

One thing to keep in mind while reading is that the text references graphs that appear 1-3 pages before or after the mention. When you come to a graph, keep a placemark on that page. Any text that references a graph is almost unintelligible without the graph, and that constitutes about 70% of each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book- lower edition- save a lot, August 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
The newer edition of this book is out- however all the 18th edition does is flip the micro and macro sections. very easy to figure out. saved a lot of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good textbook, October 18, 2008
By 
H. Bird (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
As an engineering major taking microeconomics, I was dreading the textbook. I had started (and subsequently had to drop) an economics class several years ago, and the memories of it were not enjoyable. So I was surprised by this textbook. It is not too terribly dry, given the subject matter, and it is filled with examples. My only negative comment would be that, for me at least, there is a little too much repetition. However, overall I would say it is an excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic comprehensive, non mathematical., October 5, 2009
By 
J. L. Thoreen (Fort Walton Beach, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
I acquired this book to refresh my 60 year old training in economics, because of contemporary commentators' sometimes casual use of such terms as "profit" and "marginal."

Well it is comprehensive, illustrates with data through 2005, discusses a number of modern terms, but, like the texts I studied years ago, it doesn't use evem the elementary calculus and algebra concepts that are taught in high school these days -- derivative, integral, max, min, slope, solving f(x)=g(x).
It could be an easier read if it used these ideas in addition to the graphic methods it does use well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good text book, February 4, 2011
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
Don't have much to compare it to but seems to explain things fairly well and use applicable examples that tie everything together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, October 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
It's a good book. It has a good summary in each chapter. Great to study econ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book has been great so far., October 4, 2008
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
This book has been great so far. It's recommended for my econ 2301 course. We are delving into macroeconomics which is chapter 6. It's easy to understand. It's what's expected from your nornal textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 20, 2014
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
I was taking an economics class and I found the contents of the this book to be informative. The terminology is easily understood and the reader will have a better understanding on how the economy works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, October 20, 2013
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
It was a good book in very good condition. It was very reasonable. A good book for a reasonable price. Good concept of micro and macro economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Economics
Economics by Campbell R. McConnell (Hardcover - 2008)
$241.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.