Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Economics by David C. Colander, a textbook, June 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
David Colander's Economics textbook is clearly written and has a fair amount of humor in it. It covers both advanced placement level (introductory college level) microeconomics and macroeconomics extremely well. His explanations of the Bretton Woods System, supply-side economics, and the effects of monetary and fiscal policy on exchange rates and trade are the best I have read in any college textbook, and this is just to name a few. In my opinion Economics by David Colander is the best introductory level college economics textbook on the market today.

Brian LeTourneau, Economics Teacher, Olympia High School, Olympia, WA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, March 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
Very thorough, yet accessible, economics text. It can be long winded at times, but this is to be expected in an economics textbook--no one is going to take it seriously if it's under 1000 pages. For an introductory text, the more complicated concepts (those with three or four accompanying graphs) should have been broken down in a simpler manner--but I hear that isn't how you sell text books. Maybe he should include video content for the hairy stuff (my classes were online with no lectures). Perhaps more students would be interested in economics if they weren't on the verge of crying when they study some of this stuff.

UPDATE: I *really* learned economics by listening to and watching Sowell and Friedman on YouTube. Good videos of a young, snotty Michael Moore--as a college student--attacking Friedman, priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, September 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
Very impressed with this book. Colander explains economic concepts in a way that is easily understood. Colander uses his wit throughout the textbook and is anything but dry. You would be very lucky to use this text in your Micro/Macro Econ course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, April 8, 2010
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
I have not finished the book yet but I have never enjoyed reading a textbook til now! I would ask this author to write my other textbooks. I would even read this book for the fun of it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 10, 2014
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
Very well written and there are alot of examples to help understanding the material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars David Colander is an enjoyable author to read, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
I choose this rating because the book was in good condition when I received it. Also because of the author David Colander. The author puts some of his own humor in his writing which is enjoyable especially in a text book. Economics is a very interesting subject and Colander is passionate about his writing. He gives great examples on several topics throughout the book. I do not enjoy reading at all however, I actually enjoy reading this book. If you are taking an macroeconomics class I hope you use this book you will more than likely enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good introductory Econ book, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
I used this book for a review class before starting core MBA classes. It provides a great overview of all the basic Economics concepts. The book is very easy to read and clearly explains some of the more complex topics. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it is a little wordy in places. Overall, I would recommend this book for someone looking to learn undergraduate-level micro and macroeconomics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great seller & great item!, November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
The book looks brand new and I bought it for an incredibly low price. Thank you for saving me a ton of money. Strongly recommend this seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome price and fast shipping, August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
Book was in great condition and the price was 1/3 of what the university wanted for a rental. Planning ahead and knowing what your books are a couple of months ahead of time allows you to save a tremendous amount of cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jayant chheda, March 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Economics (Hardcover)
this book is very concise with real world examples and if you are taking a short course on economics or if you are a business (mba) student who has a class syllabus designed where u only have one class for economics covering both macro and micro economics then this is the book for you to buy and refer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Economics
Economics by David C. Colander (Hardcover - September 23, 2009)
$246.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.