Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 1, 2011
Bastiat is arguably the most witty, lucid and engaging economists to have ever lived. Not only is his thought insightful and universally relevant, he is a joy to read. I'm very glad this edition has been published. Not only does it provide Bastiat's most powerful essays that effortlessly debunk so many harmful economic fallacies; such as the notion that destruction can stimulate the economy or that technology leads to higher unemployment, it does so in a really accessible collection. This edition is concluded with some of Tom G. Palmer's essays on Markets that compliment Bastiat's work perfectly. Were I to recommend a primer on economics to any college-aged student - this book would be it.

Contents:

Introduction

Foreword (by F.A. Hayek)

What is Seen and What is Not Seen (Frederic Bastiat)

1. The Broken Window
2. The Demobilization
3. Taxes
4. Theatres and Fine Arts
5. Public Works
6. Middlemen
7. Restraint of Trade
8. Machines
9. Credit
10. Algeria
11. Thrift and Luxury
12. The Right to Employment and the Right to Profit

A Petition (Frederic Bastiat)

A Negative Railroad (Frederic Bastiat)

The Balance of Trade (Frederic Bastiat)

Twenty Myths about Markets (Tom G. Palmer)

1. Ethical Criticisms
2. Economic Criticisms
3. Hybrid Ethical/Economic Criticisms
4. Overly Enthusiastic Defenses
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2012
Frederic Bastiat describes how we take seemingly virtuous actions based on what is seen but suffer damage from effects not immediately apparent. Bastiat wrote in the 19th century, but his descriptions of the arguments for government intervention could be taken from today's political discussions. Some archaic language and references to French 19th-century people and places are a little obscure, but can be pretty easily understood from context. Highly recommended to help understand current approaches to government and economics.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
Along with Henry Hazlitt's "Economics in One Lesson" this is a must read book for every conservative or libertarian. Why? Well Bastiat does a wonderful job of framing the arguments that liberals use in a way that we can use when we discuss the obtuse economic ideas of the left. The examples Bastiat use are actually clear and simple enough that even a progressive might under stand them.

I would recommend this to every homeschooling family to add to the curriculum along with Hazlitt's fine little book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
Bastiat faithfully proffers favorite arguments by liberals in support of policies critical to their agenda and exposes the flaws and misdirection in each. The tone is well-balanced and fair and starts with the presumption that each is 100 percent correct and true.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
It is uncommon, common sense! His description of economics is brought down to the common persons understanding so you don't have to have a college degree to understand how the real world of finance, economics and personal motivation really works. Most economists speak in unintelligible language that doesn't help anyone understand the fundamentals of economics and finance. His clarity is a relief from ignorance. I love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
...and for any appointed official, too. The dearth of understanding of economic principles in our public servants, and in the general population is destroying our economic (and social) system. This old book would be a good start to cure what ails us IF its lessons were heeded. Sadly, I don't have high expectations for that to happen. Regrettably, it is our children and their children who will pay the greater price (no pun intended--really). Do I know what I'm talking about? I think so--I have a Master's degree in the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
OK let's be honest, economics isn't an easy read or an exciting read either. However this book does a good job of guiding the reader through the pitfalls of easy economics instead of adhering to the more disciplined approach to sound economic principles. Freedom is a fleeting thing if you don't have sound economic principles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
This book has an amazing amount of information and insight into the ways government work and why Socialism and Government Intervention does not work. Even some of the biggest successes of government intervention could actually be huge failures. (Government owned highways are one example. Look at all of the traffic! Governments can not sustain them because they are not incentivized by the market. Instead people happily waste hours of their lives in traffic waiting on the government to catch up with the economy.)
It helps to highlight the unseen costs in Government intervention, and this book does that job excellently.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2013
Written when there were people who saw the bad results of bad political driven economics. Bastiat was one of the earlier economic writers that understood real economics and saw the fallacy of the socialist thinkers and just plain stupid economics like Marx, Keynes and many of our current day manipulators in politics who think they know what they are doing. Read this and get a better understanding and be able to recognize the foolish solutions being implemented today around the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2015
What a great mind. And to make it available in this format is genius. Thank you Students for Freedom. I would love to share this with all youth AND adults. Written in a way that is quick and to the point, it is a treasure of thought and correct free market economics ideas. Keep it up. Come out with a 2nd edition please! Then, mail it to every member of our three branches of government...and to the state legislatures...and every news anchor on CNN, MSNBC, and FOX News...etc...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.