Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


140 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible
When I was in first grade, I had an art teacher who tried to show us how to draw using circles, lines, perspective, and so on, and I remember distinctly the experience of knowing that I could draw circles (and to an extent, straight lines) but there was no way I could put them together in a way that would look anything like the teacher's work.
This book was my...
Published on November 27, 2000 by Blake Watson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars drawing
I thought it was fine. But my 9 and 7 year old grand daughters weren't impressed. I bought it for them.
Published 5 months ago by James Plaisted


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

140 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, November 27, 2000
When I was in first grade, I had an art teacher who tried to show us how to draw using circles, lines, perspective, and so on, and I remember distinctly the experience of knowing that I could draw circles (and to an extent, straight lines) but there was no way I could put them together in a way that would look anything like the teacher's work.
This book was my salvation. Within these pages you'll find instructions on how to draw all kinds of creatures, from the lowly ant to an elaborate dragon, all by adding easy shapes (traingles, circles, linnes) one-at-a-time.
There is considerable truth in this book (and the author's others, which I unfortunately didn't discover until recently). How simplicity can communicate. How you can tackle something big by working in small steps. How you can make something you imagine come to like.
To this day I can take pleasure in drawing pictures, even though they're simple and I've never taken an art class since first grade, and I attribute a lot of that joy to this book. And nothing compares to giving a frustrated five-year-old an Emberly book and watching his face light up as he realizes that maybe he can make his drawings more than just scribbles.
This book (and the others) cannot be recommend too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No matter what your age, this book will help you to draw., January 12, 1998
By A Customer
Ed Emberly's Drawing Book of Animals is a book that crosses age barriers. Whether you are a kindergarten student or an adult who has a phobia about drawing anything, with this book you can achieve success. I have used this book in my kindergarten classroom with great results. All my students thought they could draw anything and I found out by following the simple directions that I could too. I highly recommend this book as a gift to your young friends. Make it a complete gift with a pack of colored pens or pencils and a pad. Will keep them occupied for hours. It is good family fun for all to sit around the table and draw together. Even older kids quit feeling self conscious about their drawing and begin to enjoy creating a picture that looks like what they want it to look like. Now if you don't have any kids in mind don't let that stop you. If you know someone who does crafts, or needlework they will enjoy it too. Many ideas for decoration. Check out Ed Emberly's other titles too. Each book is based on the same principle of reducing all pictures into the basic shapes and lines we all can draw when we doodle. Ed makes your doodles into something else. Art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!! The best 'get you started' book!, January 29, 2006
By 
C. J. Carter (Sierra Madre, California, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a fantastic gift for a child - or, indeed, anyone who struggles to get started on the road to drawing animals. Emberley takes elementary shapes and shows you how to put them together, step by step, to create stylised but character-filled drawings of animals. His selection is eclectic and the little drawings are great: giraffes, porcupines, raccoons, wolves, dogs, cats, lions, tigers...!

It'll kick-start a budding artist, break the 'I can't draw anything' mood everyone sometimes finds themseleves in, and is a valuable tool to get kids over the initial inability to draw things that 'look good'.

I love it. I use it every now and then when I need to 'get the gist' of an animal I am trying to capture on paper. It's beautifully simple and effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Family Favorite!, January 19, 2001
By A Customer
My children love all the Ed Emberley books. They discovered one at our local library and then found several at their school library. By the looks of these well-used library books, many families have shared the joy of drawing with Ed and each other! He makes it so simple that my 5-year-old can readily render this art; I think Ed made these books remembering his love for art when he was about 5. My 9 year old and my 5 year old also enjoy these books; we are getting our own copies today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of The Best!, February 23, 2006
By 
Ed Emberley's book, Make A World, was a big part of my entertainment as a child while spending summers at the cabin. Now that I am a grandmother, I have purchased nearly all of his books, including 'Drawing Book of Animals' and have rediscovered the joy of being able to 'do it myself' right along with them! Having books such as this around the house goes a long way to encouraging kids to step away from the computer and the video games and to create something fun all by themselves. These books make a great gift when given with a doodle pad and a box of colored pencils. Tucked inside of a colorful totebag, they are ready to go anywhere! Keep it up, Ed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderful book!, July 10, 1998
By A Customer
I remember owning and using this book constantly when I was a kid. I recently got it for my two young ones and now they are drawing all the time! They would get so frustrated when they couldn't make something look like it was supposed to, but with this book it is easy and teaches them about using basic shapes to draw anything. It is so easy to follow, my two are both five and are doing great! Looking forward to getting some more of his books for my kids to use and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Champion of Creativity, May 30, 2003
By A Customer
Those wretched art classes to which we were all subjected as children left me in daily agony - and of course wouldn't my older sister just have to be a spectacularly gifted artist. My mother took pity on my suffering and bought me this wonderful book when I was six. It was a balm to my artistic handicap and an immeasurable boost to my confidence when I finally drew the dragon! Looking back now, I believe that Mr. Emberley's books would benefit any child, whether naturally artistic or crying over watercolor class. In an era when children's imaginations are saturated with Disney and TV cartoon notions of art, Mr. Emberley can give them simple tools with which to carve a path back to their own creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most memorable book I owned as a child!, September 29, 1998
By A Customer
My mother ordered this book for me a long time ago when I was a child- and to this day it remains in my memory as one of the most valuable books of my childhood. The techniques are simple and easy- step-by-step basic geometric shapes are assembled to create all kinds of animals, reptiles, birds and even a dragon! I am thrilled to discover it is still in print! I highly recommend it to anyone who would like to learn to draw without a lot frustration and complicated ideas. (It is geared for children, but I think adults could use these techniques too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun!, July 22, 2000
By 
ADP (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
This book is a lot of fun for kids (and, I imagine, kids and their parents)--I remember it well from my childhood. The Emberley books use about two dozen simple shapes (dots, lines, right and equilateral triangles, and so on) to draw a wide variety of animals, vehicles, monsters, and any number of other things. The drawings are demonstrated step by step, with witty twists and variations. One strong suggestion: the drawings come out a lot better if you use colored pencils, since the demonstration drawings in the books are printed in color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST drawing book, December 15, 2004
I had this book when I was a kid and thank goodness my Mom saved it - I asked her to send it to my now 4 year old son who loves to draw and keeps getting frustrated that his skills are not up to par. Once he got this book, he drew pigs, bats, dragons and alligators all the first day - We were both thrilled! My copy is an original 1970 copyright, however I intend to buy this book for my son's pre-school classroom so they can all enjoy it too! Thank you Ed Emberley!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ed Emberley's Drawing Book of Animals
Ed Emberley's Drawing Book of Animals by Ed Emberley (Paperback - April 5, 2006)
$7.00 $5.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.