Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a work in progress
I upgraded from a consumer class linksys that had been running dd-wrt. From a build quality perspective, this is clearly a much nicer unit, as it should be. Remember, this is a router, and not a switch by default, so each of the 3 ports operate independently. I already have a 300 series PoE Switch made by Cisco, so that was not a problem for me.

I am using...
Published 14 months ago by A. Lyons

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usage and Setup
The device is super sturdy and does work. The configuration of it is intimidating enough that they started to include a wizard in the firmware. Even the wizard is clunky. You can't specify the ports you want for inside vs outside for the wizard. It is a default home setup with ports specified that you will need to plug-in. Port 0 was Inside, Port 1 was Outside, and Port 3...
Published 7 months ago by Damon Downing


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a work in progress, August 14, 2013
By 
A. Lyons (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
I upgraded from a consumer class linksys that had been running dd-wrt. From a build quality perspective, this is clearly a much nicer unit, as it should be. Remember, this is a router, and not a switch by default, so each of the 3 ports operate independently. I already have a 300 series PoE Switch made by Cisco, so that was not a problem for me.

I am using this in a home environment, but I am an IT professional with an atypical home setup. A normal consumer probably doesn't need and won't like this product.

The documentation is pretty sparse, but the online community is active, and using the guidelines in the forums, I was able to modify their SOHO config to meet my needs. It should be noted you need to either directly edit the config files or use their command line to configure the router in the majority of the cases. The syntax is rather simple to learn, but I would have much preferred to make use of a GUI. The router's GUI only provides what I would say is about 25% of the total features available at the command line. The GUI itself does look nice, but it uses flash which I don't personally care for, as it impacts my ability to use the interface across mobile platforms.

If you do purchase this router, be ready to get your hands dirty with the command line, and you can make things like real VPNs, DDNS, more powerful firewalling, etc all available. If you can only handle GUI interfaces, then you are going to have to find another product until the Ubiquiti team builds out the GUI.

The main attraction of this product is routing performance, and honestly, I don't have the ability to speak to that. This unit is far more powerful than my Internet connection is fast, so I could never saturate it. I did get a little (okay totally) crazy with some geo-based firewall rules and managed to slow the thing down to a trickle but that was my own stupidity implementing 10000s of blocked ip ranges in the way I did. If you dont believe me on how fast this is, check out smallnetbuilder for their review. This thing should handle even the fastest of home Internet connections,

If you have one of those crazy "cisco" console cables, this bad boy does have a console port. Even when I messed stuff up, I didn't need it, I just flashed it back to factory default.

A note on Ubiquiti products in general from my newfound experience. They make nice stuff for a LOT cheaper than comparable products. However, they all seem to be a work in process with significant firmware updates coming less frequently than many users would like. If you want stuff that "just works", they aren't there yet. I like their direction though and I am going to give this product a chance.

I will update the review once the product has been in use for some time.

UPDATE 9/19

Running smoothly since putting into production. No need for periodic reboots unlike some of my consumer grade hardware. If they would update the Firmware with more features, this would be a 5 star product.

UPDATE 10/17

v.1.3 firmware update at least includes a GUI based getting started wizard. This will improve initial user experience greatly.

UPDATE 4/28/14

At this point, Flash should only be used for older browsers, so if you are anti-flash like me, you are good. Additional features have been added to the firmware, more wizards provided, and we are moving in the right direction. I still think that all VPN configuration should be in the GUI, not just command line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For advanced users only -- goes beyond DD-WRT, October 6, 2013
By 
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
I've had the UBNT Edgemax Router Lite for a few months now, and it's been working beautifully for me.

It's an incredible bang for the buck, offering 1 million packets/second routing and fire walling (that will do roughly 1GB/sec). I can't get the CPU load past the single digits with my 120 megabit/sec broadband Internet connection. It offers quality of service, traffic shaping, VLAN tags, link aggregation, and host of other features. If these terms don't make sense to you, then this is NOT your router -- get a Netgear or something. On the other hand, if you've flashed a consumer-grade router with DD-WRT, tinkered with it, and desire to graduate to the next level, then THIS IS YOUR ROUTER. And for about $100 it's an incredible steal.

You need to invest some Google search time to set it up. Fortunately, there are some canned configurations that you can download from UBNT to start you off. The GUI is OK, not spectacular, and some of the more advanced features you'll need the command-line to use. (The command-line user manual for Vyatta, which is the configuration system this unit uses, is a 400+ page PDF document.)

Once I got it configured, it's been running 24/7 in my home IT closet for months without a single hiccup, so it's been rock-solid stable. I also use it as my house's DHCP server (which admittedly is a feature in even the cheesiest consumer-grade router nowadays).

It puts out a surprising amount of heat, although that hasn't impacted its reliability. And if you're interested in rack-mounting it, you will need a mounting bracket, like the one from RF Armor (do a Google search for it). I have the mounting bracket, and it will hold TWO Edgemax Router Lite's or an ERL and a Toughswitch.

Keep in mind that unlike most all-in-one consumer-grade routers that include WiFi capabilities, this is ONLY for hardwired connections. You will need separate access points (and ideally, a commercial-grade system of a wireless controller with 2 or more access points -- trust me on this, you will be MUCH happier).

If/when I switch from the Edgemax Router Lite to something else, it will be likely the reason will be that I'm simply fixing a problem that doesn't exist just to try something different, as the ERL has been performing flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great router but not for the average consumer., July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
First off, this is not a consumer grade device. Do not buy this expecting the ease of setup found on a Linksys. I agree with others that the interface could be more helpful as there are no wizards or prompts to guide you during configuration, however, keep in mind this product isn't really designed for those who need that sort of thing. Over time I believe Ubiquiti will round out the UI, but for right now there's a steep learning curve if you're unfamiliar with networking in general. In the interim, Ubiquiti does publish a basic SOHO configuration example on their community website, all of which can be configured using the WebUI.

The real power behind this box (and the reason I bought it) is that it's running Vyatta. Well, actually, this device is "based" on Vyatta (v6.3 I believe) because it is heavily customized and optimized for the hardware it's running on. Anyway, within minutes of plugging it in, I had an SSH session established and was in the CLI entering commands. I'm a network/sys admin by profession and with a little assistance from the help command, I found learning the syntax easy and similar to Cisco, HP, and others. If you're familiar with Vyatta at all, you can download the config file from the device, use an editor such as Notepad++ to modify it directly, and then reapply the file. Whether you choose to use the WebUI or the command line you need to have some knowledge of networking or a desire to learn in order to configure this device.

So far I've purchased two of these units, the first succumbed to the DDR memory issue that is well documented on their support forums. I've only recently contacted support for an RMA. Information in the forums suggests the problem was limited to earlier batches of the product and mitigating steps were taken. I've been running the second box for only a few weeks with no issues so far. I'll update the review after the RMA process or if the second unit has issues in the interim.

Speaking of support, I can't recommend the community forums enough. Ubiquiti's tagline is "Superior performance. Disruptive price." Ubiquiti gear is cheap but that price comes at the cost of more formal support. If you're looking for 24/7 access to phone based support, I would not recommend this product. Ubiquiti offers e-mail support only to my knowledge. To their credit, they responded to my ticket within about ten minutes with steps to troubleshoot the DDR memory issue. Subsequent communication was just as expedient (during their business hours). For the price, I'm not complaining. I purchased my second unit as a backup and still spent $100 less on the pair than a single entry level SonicWALL would have been. Another benefit, no recurring hardware/software maintenance costs.

Even with the dead unit, I'm nothing less than happy with this product. As I said, if you have the expertise or want to learn this is a great buy at its current price point. Depending on how things shake out I'll be recommending these units to a few clients.

UPDATE 8/1/2013
I've had no issues with the RMA process. Shipped the defective unit to Ubiquiti via Priority Mail and received a new unit back within a week via UPS Ground. The secondary unit has been chugging along nicely in the interim.

UPDATE 10/5/2013
The uptime on the router is now at about 2 1/2 months. Last reboot was due to the firmware upgrade to 1.2.0. Since then I've added a new VoIP network and am pushing a fair amount of data through this box to my VoIP provider. I will say the box does run a little on the warm side but that doesn't seem to be impacting the router in the slightest. It's been solid, so much so that I've uncovered issues with the modem that I thought at one time were the old router.

UPDATE 1/7/2014
Both units continue to function to my satisfaction. I recently upgraded to 1.3.0 and noted the addition of a first time setup wizard though I can't speak to how it works as it doesn't let you launch the wizard if you're already up and running. So far so good, I'm still enjoying these units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GUI vs Command-Line Comparison, July 8, 2014
By 
Britt "britt@yenne.net" (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
The reviews here are great and very representative, so I just wanted to add what can be configured through the GUI versus what needs the command-line (as of firmware version 1.5 in July 2014).

Here's what can be configured through the GUI:

* Wizards for setting up WAN+LAN and Load Balancing default configurations. This feature should be anyone's first step.
* Interface configuration, addresses (multiple addresses per interface supported), speed.
* VLANs and PPPoE interfaces.
* Routes (dynamic, static, RIP, and OSPF).
* Port forwarding, but currently no triggering.
* Firewall rules, and ability to add rulesets to interfaces. Also shows packet statistics for each rule. Note that outgoing firewall rules can be used to block internet services by port or IP address ranges.
* NAT rules including SNAT and DNAT rules.
* DHCP servers (multiple servers configurable and assignable to interfaces). Static assignments supported.
* DNS forwarding (assignable interfaces).
* Dynamic DNS through Afraid, Dnspark, Dslreports, Dyndns, Easydns, Namecheap, Sitelutions, or Zoneedit. Multiple allowed.
* PPPoE server (single server, but multiple interfaces supported).
* Radius PPTP and IPsec site-to-site with multiple peers.
* GUI tools for ping, site-to-site bandwidth measurement, traceroute, and packet capture/display.

Here are some notable items that require command-line:

* OpenVPN, either cert based or client based.
* Quality-of-Service (QoS) settings, but there are many options available.
* Squid (web proxy) config including domain blocking or online whitelists / blacklists.
* Time (schedule) based rules aren't natively supported but are possible with scripting and cron.
* Anything accomplishable with Linux wizardry should theoretically be possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usage and Setup, February 28, 2014
By 
Damon Downing (Kansas City, MO.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
The device is super sturdy and does work. The configuration of it is intimidating enough that they started to include a wizard in the firmware. Even the wizard is clunky. You can't specify the ports you want for inside vs outside for the wizard. It is a default home setup with ports specified that you will need to plug-in. Port 0 was Inside, Port 1 was Outside, and Port 3 was optional.

Even when I did get it up and running I could not get internet speeds that I was hoping to see. Websites only claimed that they could do transfers from the Outside port to the Inside network at close to 900+Mbps. I was only able to ever get close to 350+Mbps. I tried to get recommendations/support as to what others were doing and hit roadblocks.

Let's talk about that. There are no numbers to call, or people to email. What you have is Forums that you can post questions to and wait for an answer. This is not ideal when you can't get the internet working. Do you see the catch 22 here?

For someone who does networking for a living this switch may be ideal. But for someone who doesn't, you are going to struggle. The concept of creating rules and access lists to allow traffic to flow is not common place for most individuals. Creating rules you will struggle. There are no examples of how to allow traffic from the outside interface to the inside interface for a web server on port 80. There are no examples on how to allow traffic for port 3030 on the outside to go to serverX on port 21 on the inside. Real world examples are how we learn, especially with something new. How did we all learn HTML? Same way, by looking at examples.

I also ran into issue where when I was testing rules and access the hit counters for rules would just freeze and stop updating. You can guess what the answer was, it need to be power cycled or restarted to get the counters to start working again.

All in all it works fine. It's just not super easy to operate, but the manufacturer was going for a device with Advanced features. You can't have both. But the price point that it is set at is what makes it enticing to most home users. But don't fall for it. "It's a trap!". HAHAHA

If you get this be prepared for a steep learning curve until you get familiar with it.

- Damon1974
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stable!, March 16, 2014
By 
Ken (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
My prior modem was a NETGEAR N750 Dual Band Wi-Fi Gigabit Router (WNDR4300). It worked well at first, but during these last few months, I've been finding that my internet access would slow to a crawl after a few days, and would only be resolved by restarting the router. I have about 20+ devices on the network, and I guess it was probably too much for the router to handle.

So I starting searching for a new router with stability as the most important feature. The ASUS routers seemed promising, but the recent UPNP flaw scared me off. Upon further research (for about the same price), I came across this combination of the EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router and Ubiquiti Networks UniFi AP Enterprise WiFi System. The reviews were somewhat daunting as everyone was saying that this is not a consumer router, but I decided to give this combination a try.

Most of the configuration screens on this router were over my head, but I was able to use their "WAN+2LAN" and "Port Forwarding" wizards to configure everything I needed with minimal fuss. Be sure to first update the firmware to at least 1.4

I found that the biggest hurdle for me was due to the inflexibility of the "WAN+2LAN" wizard. It wants your network IP addresses to be in the 192.168.1.xxx range, but my existing IPs were in the 192.168.0.xxx range. The majority of my devices were using DHCP, but I still had quite a few with static IPs. So those needed to be reconfigured before switching routers.

So far I've had this router for a week now, and have not needed to power cycle it. So I'm very happy. Also with the new access point, I found that my wifi signal extends further out by another 50+ feet further than my old router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robust and configurable, May 21, 2014
By 
Jerry M. Gartner (Sheboygan, WI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
Another winner from ubuquiti. I've installed several of these devices and all have resulted in robust and stable network connectivity at all sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing performance and value, July 3, 2014
By 
Greg (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
I've been running the past few years on a WRT54GL with TomatoUSB. It worked well at first, but over time I noticed more and more issues and now it doesn't seem to be capable of handling the load. I've had it set up to do a scheduled restart every morning at 6am to try to keep it running smoothly, but that hasn't been enough. It got to the point where it had a hard time serving DHCP leases, forwarding DNS requests, and maintaining any reasonable level of latency. And, of course, the wireless was always just so-so with that old technology.

So, I go on a hunt for a new wireless router. I had purchased the WRT54GL years ago because it was really the only router at the time with solid consumer reviews (and it still holds that honor). There were far too many negative reviews for every high-end consumer router on the market, and I spent days reading through them to try to identify a router that was worthy of the price tag. I could not identify a consumer router worthy of replacing my WRT54GL, so I decided it was time to go enterprise. I recalled that a former co-worker used Ubiquiti equipment at home and that we use Ubiquiti equipment for point-to-point long-distance high-speed wireless to off-campus buildings at work. After much research into the Ubiquiti products, I decided to order the EdgeRouter Lite and the UAP.

It took a few hours to get the EdgeRouter Lite configured like I wanted and the process could not have gone more smoothly. It took a little longer for the UAP, just because I didn't realize that I had to have 64-bit Java installed to run the console, even though it tried to use 32-bit Java and never indicated that 64-bit Java was needed. I've only had these two products for a week now, but I can't express how impressed I am with their performance and reliability thus far. They are both truly set-and-forget products and they're definitely a much better value for the money than the WRT54GL (and even more so compared to expensive consumer routers), assuming you have the patience and technical aptitude to set them up. I love the GUI and it's nice to know the CLI is there if I need more advanced functionality. If I'm ever fortunate enough to get upgraded to 1Gbps Internet, I know that this router can already handle every bit of it with ease. As it is, my 25/5 connection has never been this fast and reliable. We've thrown everything we can at it with 5 computers, a PS3, an Xbox 360, several tablets, several phones...using all of them at once (Netflix, YouTube HD, League of Legends, Windows Updates, large file downloads, and speed tests) to try to stress-test this setup; the router was at 7% CPU, 10% RAM, and pings remained very low the entire time with no problems whatsoever. That test would have locked up the WRT54GL running TomatoUSB and it would have required a hard reset.

Update [7/26/2014]: No problems at all after a month of operation. No reboots or any other maintenance needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Linux Router, September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
There is nothing like this anywhere on the market. I've even installed the ErPro and it's just a bad ass line of Linux routers on chips with hardware acceleration. I would recommend ALWAYS having a replacement on the shelf. These units are so cheap that if you work them to death and they die after the warranty (not saying it will happen) you WON'T want to replace it with another cheaply made Linksys or worse. This line of routers makes me wonder how Cisco is going to respond to the fast growing trend of quality networking equipment for tons less money. My small business customers are very pleased with the performance and stability. They do run very hot (the erlite) but it doesn't seem to affect their performance one bit. Just make sure you give these units room to vent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tricky for the novice, but excelent once up and running, May 21, 2014
By 
R. Berteig (Monrovia, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router (Camera)
We bought this to replace an aging router for a small office with internet provided via DSL service. We had a few minor glitches getting it configured and installed correctly, but the only real trouble was caused by configuration details of the ISP, and not by the EdgeRouter.

Its web-based configuration and control panel was good enough to get most of the needed configuration set up and running. I did have to resort to the CLI interface for configuring its VPN server, but that process went very smoothly once I admitted that our satellite office PCs really did need to be upgraded to the most recent release of OpenVPN.

I can certainly recommend it to anyone unafraid of the details of network configuration, and anyone with needs that are not covered by the usual crop of consumer-grade routers.

I would certainly buy one again, and likely will buy one for my home network.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB 3 Ethernet Ports Router
$98.98
In stock on October 27, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.