Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
This play set is wonderful! It is easy to use and entertaining for preschool to early school age children. While kids are having fun playing, they are improving their fine motor skills and patterning. They can be creative with their own designs or learn to follow one of the included pattern cards. The set includes 3 bits for use with the drill or screwdriver handle...
Published on September 9, 2004 by Kitty

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little tedious for younger child
I purchased this for five year old. The drilling was fun but she hasn't really played with it since. It appeared to be too tedious for her to remove the screws to create another design. She became bored with it very quickly.
Published on February 7, 2010 by M. Selders


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, September 9, 2004
By 
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
This play set is wonderful! It is easy to use and entertaining for preschool to early school age children. While kids are having fun playing, they are improving their fine motor skills and patterning. They can be creative with their own designs or learn to follow one of the included pattern cards. The set includes 3 bits for use with the drill or screwdriver handle and 5 different colored large screws. The drill has forward, off, and reverse settings and makes drill sounds at a reasonable volume. Overall a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great toy for many ages!, March 10, 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
I bought this toy for my 5-year-old. He has autism and loves tool type of toys. As soon as we opened this he got a HUGE grin on his face. Totally a hit with him!

My 3-year-old daughter was DYING for a turn, and she loves to use it as well. Surprisingly, even my 19-month-old daughter can join in with her older siblings...she puts the pegs into the holes for them.

It's great for their fine motor skills...getting the drill bit in the right spot is a little tricky for small hands. There are also hand tools which are good practice for the little ones, too. I also use it to practice turn-taking with the 3 and 5 year olds...each gets to drill a certain number of pegs and then has to trade the drill with their sibling.

And it is FUN! My kids like just filling up the whole board, but I think after we've had it for awhile (it's only been 2 weeks) we can start using some of the patterns. Great idea to extend the life of the toy.

This toy seems really durable, has lots of play options (pattern or freestyle, different drill bits, power tool or hand tool), is educational AND fun. And rarely do I find a toy that all three of my kids can sit around at the same time and play with...but they do with this one! Highly recommended!
UPDATE 9/11:
We have had this toy for three years and it is STILL one of the most popular toys in our house. My kids are now 7, 6, and 4, and all will still play with this one. I do rotate it so they don't see it for a couple months and then when it comes back out they are all fighting over who gets it next. One thing I find interesting is that none of them have ever been interested in making the pictures...they just love to use the drill and get those pegs in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mom of 3, January 1, 2009
By 
Mom of 3 (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
Love this toy, probably the best of the year. It is well made and sturdy. The drill fascinates my 4 year old, and even the 8 yr old and 11 yr old enjoy matching the pattern cards (and they are all girls...). A toy my children will play with for at least 30 mins straight(quite a feat in the video age!!!) If you are considering it, try it...I would bet that you will be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a hit!, October 22, 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
We bought the design and drill activity center for my son's 3rd birthday. We also bought a Take-A-Part Airplane. The drills with the attachments can work on either toy, so we now have 2 drills for the design and drill center. Since we have 2 drills, we bring this out for playdates and it is always a hit. Boys and girls ages 2-6 have enjoyed it. I find that the kids like to drill in a lot more than they like to remove screws, so I end up having to remove them myself so that the toy gets played with, but that's a small price to pay for the 20 minutes or so of concentration this provides.
So far, no one has wanted to replicate the pictures - they just make up their own patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little tedious for younger child, February 7, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
I purchased this for five year old. The drilling was fun but she hasn't really played with it since. It appeared to be too tedious for her to remove the screws to create another design. She became bored with it very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My boys love it!, January 6, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
My two and five-year-old boys love to play with this. My youngest just loves drilling in and out, but by oldest uses the pictures and makes designs. This toy is also very durable. This is a great toy for boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars chk their own web page! drill doesn't work, April 11, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
Drill doesn't work! like it says in many other comments. I email Cust Serv from their own web page "Contact us" and now reply for a week. So I called a week later and received and email saying that I should find out from where the toy giver purchased this. I don't even know my husband co worker and I would have to bother this people n tell them -hey the toy you bought for my kid sucks -sucks even more the Cust. Service that would not take charge of their own TOYS n design!!! (and after the 2nd request)
Here is your Cust Serv. email.
I guess is going to cost you more money the bad reviews (Not even a smart Co.)than send us a new drill.
PLUS it says 90 policy return. Can u imagine with all the toys your kid gets you can't hide some of them for later.

Hello,
>
> Thank you for your inquiry. I should explain that any product not purchased directly from our web site or one of our catalogs is under the warranty of the reseller and not Educational Insights. We provide our retail partners various terms and conditions that allow them in turn to provide these kinds of services to their customers. Perhaps the gift giver can assist you with identifying the dealer from whom they purchased the item. If they purchased it directly from Educational Insights, I will be happy to search for their order. Hello,
>
> Also, please note that if the drill is past the 90 day return policy, replacement Drills are available for $xx on the website of our sister company, Learning Resources or from our toll free sales line at 888-xxx-xxxx. The item number is EI-4112D. I've included a link for your convenience.
>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drill Didn't Work, July 17, 2011
By 
Ethan Thurow (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
We received this as a gift. The drill didn't work out of the box, and we weren't able to ever get it to work.

Seems like a great concept, but frustrating that the product is so low quality in terms of the construction values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to Install Batteries!, January 15, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
This looks like it would be a great toy. My 3 year old daughter has played with the manual screwdrivers but the power drill is IMPOSSIBLE! I have spent at least an hour, first unscrewing the tiny little screw to open the compartment to install batteries. The batteries are on a spring so you have to use force to close the compartment. I have now worked very hard to tighten the compartment but, because of the spring, you can't get the screw to make contact with the other side. I have tried everything -- duct tape, packing tape, rubber bands, etc. It just won't do it. So, even though this has been fun for the manual tools it was way too expensive considering you can't use the power drill (along with having a 3 year old crying because she can't use the toy). So, big Thumbs down on this toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only works in reverse, October 6, 2012
By 
Rachel C Layburn (Hermitage, TN United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center (Toy)
I am so disappointed! Like other reviewers, I was so excited about this toy and want to love it. Alas, it only works in reverse. I waited too long to open it (because I like to sometimes buy toys in advance and have them around), and the return window elapsed. I'm trying to figure out how to contact Educational Insights but not feeling very hopeful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Educational Insights Design & Drill Activity Center
$40.00 $25.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.