Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Innovative
My bottom line: this game has a lot more depth than you'd initially imagine, yet it can still be played casually. It's a lot of fun, but it's also challenging. It reminds me of checkers in that you can only move one space at a time, except when you jump. It reminds me of chess in that you must use deep strategy to win. It is simple and engaging like checkers yet...
Published on January 20, 2010 by Robert Gaffney

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not so challenging
We bought this game based on all the great reviews and the fact it is for 2-4 people. My daughter and I often play games alone but sometimes Dad joins so it seemed perfect. I wanted something a step down from Chess. Since you don't capture anyone either to move across the board or to win not much happens. Basically each person moves across the board risk free. Whoever...
Published on May 16, 2010 by Florence


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Innovative, January 20, 2010
By 
Robert Gaffney (Auburn, AL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Traverse 20Th Anniversary Edition (Toy)
My bottom line: this game has a lot more depth than you'd initially imagine, yet it can still be played casually. It's a lot of fun, but it's also challenging. It reminds me of checkers in that you can only move one space at a time, except when you jump. It reminds me of chess in that you must use deep strategy to win. It is simple and engaging like checkers yet difficult and robust like chess. Yet, it is really played like neither of those games.

Unlike both of the prior games, you cannot "kill/capture" an opponent's piece. Jumping your opponents' pieces is simply a means to get your pieces across the board more quickly. That's the object - get all your guys across the fastest. And you can jump your own pieces. And you have 4 different kinds of pieces. It sounds deceptively simple or even aimless; however, this is not the case. There is a lot of strategy involved. I thoroughly enjoy the game. (I have yet to play with 4 players. I imagine that adds even more depth to this game.)

This game fits that middle ground I needed for a strategic board game that was neither too light nor too heavy. Traverse rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun for everyone, January 8, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Educational Insights Traverse 20Th Anniversary Edition (Toy)
We spent many hours playing this game as a family. It can be more challenging (and so not boring) for adults, yet kids can catch on quickly and play too. I also bought one for my third grade classroom as it teaches thinking and problem solving skills in a fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chess and checkers mixed, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Traverse 20Th Anniversary Edition (Toy)
Bought Traverse - and enjoyed it tremoundously (did the fact that i won have to do with it???) We love strategy games and while this was more chinese checkers (with elements of Chess in the movement of some pcs) it was fun, the game moved fast and it yet involved some element of planning
Not a terribly high brow mensa game but not a no brainer either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traverse, January 5, 2013
By 
tom (Boulder,, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Traverse 20Th Anniversary Edition (Toy)
Should have bought this years ago. However the game box was squashed pretty badly on one side --game in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strategy, February 17, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Traverse 20Th Anniversary Edition (Toy)
I bought this game for my 8 year old grandson who loves checkers and chess. He loved it. It is not as difficult as chess so everyone in the family could play. It is definitely more challenging to play with 4 players - with 2 players, the game is rather short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traverse game, August 11, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Traverse 20Th Anniversary Edition (Toy)
Good game for critical thinking. I use it in my math class. Students don't realize the math part of it most often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not so challenging, May 16, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Insights Traverse 20Th Anniversary Edition (Toy)
We bought this game based on all the great reviews and the fact it is for 2-4 people. My daughter and I often play games alone but sometimes Dad joins so it seemed perfect. I wanted something a step down from Chess. Since you don't capture anyone either to move across the board or to win not much happens. Basically each person moves across the board risk free. Whoever gets all their pieces to the other side first wins. Perhaps this seems more challenging once 3-4 players are involved but still there is never a consequence for placing your piece in a vulnerable place. It just takes longer to get across the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Educational Insights Traverse 20Th Anniversary Edition
$29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.