Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, practical intro to ed'l psych'y for teachers
In a highly readable manner, Jeanne Ormrod introduces educational psychology for K-12 teachers. She incorporates many of the learning principles and teaching practices her text espouses by using colorfully illustrated and highlighted multiple formats throughout, such as summaries, case studies, classroom applications and examples, emphasis of major points, and...
Published on February 24, 1999 by Sharon Taylor (staylor@netside...

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ormrod's old text book Educational Psychology Developing Learners
Needs updating full of research about children; all subjects scattered throughout the text rather than being organized chapter by chapter.
Published on February 15, 2011 by Ann Caine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, practical intro to ed'l psych'y for teachers, February 24, 1999
In a highly readable manner, Jeanne Ormrod introduces educational psychology for K-12 teachers. She incorporates many of the learning principles and teaching practices her text espouses by using colorfully illustrated and highlighted multiple formats throughout, such as summaries, case studies, classroom applications and examples, emphasis of major points, and learning exercises. The three major sections address learner diversity, how students learn, and becoming an effective teacher. She outlines seven themes for effective learning which she addresses in every section: interaction, information processing, relevance, classroom climate, challenge, expectations, and diversity. The text cites educational research throughout (there is an index with 44 pages of references) yet the paragraphs have a readibility and easy flow to them. Ormrod's chapters consistently address her goals as an author: focusing on cores principles, relating them to our own behavior, processing them effectively and applying them in the classroom. The phrase "interesting textbook," usually an oxymoron, in this case is well-deserved praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside the learning mind...., November 18, 2005
I found this book to be very informitive in how the mind works and respect to how people learn. I have improved my personal study habits because after reading this book I realized that I was not using the most effective way of keeping things in my long term memory. This book gives a detailed explanation with real life examples of how to approach situations as a teacher or parent who wants to know the inner tickings of the developing learner. If you are more concerned with toddlers though this book only briefly touches on them. This book deals more with school age children. If I were to try and write a review that this book deserves, I would be writing all night. I know that the description of this book is written above and I believe it to be a really good description of the book. I will agree though that this book answers all of the aspects of teaching, learning and the classroom as well as the many theories and approaches to educational psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent textbook and additional learning materal, February 4, 2009
By 
This review is from: Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book truly is a must for all teachers, educators and parents. Jeanna Ormrod provides excellent, clear and valuable knowledge on how we learn, how learning can be enhanced, positively influenced and effectively encouraged. She elaborates on scientific evidence why and towards which direction we should reconsider teaching and educational efforts: towards meaningful and useful aquisition of new information, skills or behaviors which makes sence and a difference to learner's individual lifes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ormrod's old text book Educational Psychology Developing Learners, February 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Needs updating full of research about children; all subjects scattered throughout the text rather than being organized chapter by chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used J. E. Ormond - Ed Psych 6th ed., March 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition) (Paperback)
A very well-organized text, with several extras for additional sources of related information, data, and self-testing.
Purchased used, it came with both CD-ROMs and access to the related websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Educational book I've read so far!, February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is for my 3rd Education class, and so far it is the best! The author really talks to you (starting around chapter 5/6) like she is sitting at the table with you. She even refers to her own experiences as both a parent and a teacher. The same children resurface throughout the book. Also, she gives concrete examples to help explain her abstract teachings, and she gives specific suggestions in how to use the research and make it work in your classroom. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good condition textbook, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Paperback textbooks tend to not hold up very well in used form but this textbook was in very good shape when it arrived. No highlighting or writing in the text as well. Terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LAST, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I needed for a class
The 7th edition was a 7x more than what the 6 edition would cost. The book was in very good when it arrive.
I am able to follow along with the professor without missing a beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Teachers, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I had to pick this up when studying for my MA. This book was great for understanding the mindset of younger learners in the classroom. Some people may say that it doesn't go far enough in depth or that it needs to be updated, but this book still resides in my classroom for quick reference three years after purchasing it. The text and principles are easy to decipher for someone with no major prior knowledge of psychology, and have matched up with many situations that I have encountered in the classroom. Additionally this book has helped me with alternative approaches in my lesson planning an application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book review, January 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I bought the book new, the price was great and I received it in a short amount of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition)
Educational Psychology: Developing Learners (6th Edition) by Jeanne Ellis Ormrod (Paperback - July 13, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.