Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for Westonians
As a four decade aficionado of this great photographer, I must admit that this volume is a Must Have for your photographic library. Excellent text, Very Well printed halftones. Thank you, Brett Abbott and Nancy Newhall .
Published on November 2, 2008 by Timothy S. Shropshire

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weston's Book of Nudes -- Very Disappointed : (
I've always viewed Weston as one of the top photographers of the early and mid 1900s. As such, I decided to purchase his Book Of Nudes. Almost immediately I was disappointed with the book's contents. The images are substandard, artistically speaking, and reduced in size to such an extent that it takes away from the few that are mediocre. Not only that, but the...
Published on March 30, 2011 by J. Rios


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for Westonians, November 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Edward Weston's Book of Nudes (Hardcover)
As a four decade aficionado of this great photographer, I must admit that this volume is a Must Have for your photographic library. Excellent text, Very Well printed halftones. Thank you, Brett Abbott and Nancy Newhall .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Image, February 3, 2008
By 
Cecil Fox (Little Rock, AR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edward Weston's Book of Nudes (Hardcover)
There are people, (mostly in New York) who resent photography, confusing it with the blurry, out of focus vacation pictures of the non-technical.
Now I think that art is whatever will sell on 68th street and that Edward Weston was an artist of the highest ranks of people who use a medium to create what they see or feel, in short, art of merit. Production of the volume is good, the comments not too oprobrious and we ar left Edwrd Weston an his models. The book is to be cherished and not left on a coffee table to impress your lumpen friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book by a master, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Edward Weston's Book of Nudes (Hardcover)
This book is really nice, it has good quality printing and some of Weston's iconic images in it. An other interesting thing here is the comments on the images and the introduction which I appropriated alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, October 3, 2011
By 
Javier F. alonso (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Edward Weston's Book of Nudes (Hardcover)
Great Book, I will recommend it to every photographer or anybody interested in photography/art history. The imnages are astonishing and the essay is very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weston's Retro Nudes, May 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Edward Weston's Book of Nudes (Hardcover)
A fascinating photographic retrospective of his artistry back in the 30's. It's on my coffee table where it belongs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Body as art, January 26, 2015
By 
This review is from: Edward Weston's Book of Nudes (Hardcover)
Originally planned to be published in the 1950's but concern that there was a market for the material somewhat prevented this from publication until much later. Features 39 B/W photos, mostly bare bodies taken in the 1920's and 1930's along with a pepper, a sand dune and a shell. Mostly portions of bodies, only three photos feature visible faces. Insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weston's Book of Nudes -- Very Disappointed : (, March 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Edward Weston's Book of Nudes (Hardcover)
I've always viewed Weston as one of the top photographers of the early and mid 1900s. As such, I decided to purchase his Book Of Nudes. Almost immediately I was disappointed with the book's contents. The images are substandard, artistically speaking, and reduced in size to such an extent that it takes away from the few that are mediocre. Not only that, but the presentation of the images was ill executed. Not much more to say than that, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Edward Weston's Book of Nudes
Edward Weston's Book of Nudes by Edward Weston (Hardcover - September 10, 2007)
Used & New from: $20.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.