Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Edward Weston's Book of Nudes
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 4, 2012
This book is really nice, it has good quality printing and some of Weston's iconic images in it. An other interesting thing here is the comments on the images and the introduction which I appropriated alot.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2015
Late in the photographer Edward Weston's life he and friends collaborated to produce a book on the nude photography for which he had become famous. This project went as far as a mock-up, but was never published. Now, almost fifty years after the photographer's death, it has been painstakingly researched and published. The 39 photographs are very well reproduced. Included are smaller reproductions of the extant pages of the mock-up and informative essays. This book provides valuable insight into one aspect of Weston's life. No comprehensive collection of Weston's life and photography is complete without it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2008
As a four decade aficionado of this great photographer, I must admit that this volume is a Must Have for your photographic library. Excellent text, Very Well printed halftones. Thank you, Brett Abbott and Nancy Newhall .
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2011
Great Book, I will recommend it to every photographer or anybody interested in photography/art history. The imnages are astonishing and the essay is very well written.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2008
There are people, (mostly in New York) who resent photography, confusing it with the blurry, out of focus vacation pictures of the non-technical.
Now I think that art is whatever will sell on 68th street and that Edward Weston was an artist of the highest ranks of people who use a medium to create what they see or feel, in short, art of merit. Production of the volume is good, the comments not too oprobrious and we ar left Edwrd Weston an his models. The book is to be cherished and not left on a coffee table to impress your lumpen friends.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2010
A fascinating photographic retrospective of his artistry back in the 30's. It's on my coffee table where it belongs.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2011
I've always viewed Weston as one of the top photographers of the early and mid 1900s. As such, I decided to purchase his Book Of Nudes. Almost immediately I was disappointed with the book's contents. The images are substandard, artistically speaking, and reduced in size to such an extent that it takes away from the few that are mediocre. Not only that, but the presentation of the images was ill executed. Not much more to say than that, unfortunately.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
Originally planned to be published in the 1950's but concern that there was a market for the material somewhat prevented this from publication until much later. Features 39 B/W photos, mostly bare bodies taken in the 1920's and 1930's along with a pepper, a sand dune and a shell. Mostly portions of bodies, only three photos feature visible faces. Insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.