Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU DOWNLOADED FROM AMAZON BUT DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO NOW....
***|EDIT|***
i assume amazon has fixed their digital downloading process of the game but if not, i leave my original post below.
like most people, the story was quite a disappointment. it really didn't connect well altogether. that said, i'm still leaving my 5-star rating because i still found the game fun to play and right now find myself really liking...
Published on March 3, 2012 by Confucious

versus
37 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Installation Fail Fix
Hey all,

So if any of you were in the same position I was in this morning, you downloaded Mass Effect 3 from amazon.com, preloading the game in anticipation of saving the Earth, shooting guns, seeing your romance to the end, etc etc. But after I downloaded it and ran the autorun.exe in the folder that mass effect 3 was in, when origin opened up I got an...
Published on March 3, 2012 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU DOWNLOADED FROM AMAZON BUT DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO NOW...., March 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
***|EDIT|***
i assume amazon has fixed their digital downloading process of the game but if not, i leave my original post below.
like most people, the story was quite a disappointment. it really didn't connect well altogether. that said, i'm still leaving my 5-star rating because i still found the game fun to play and right now find myself really liking multiplayer. if you're planning on purchasing ME3 in anticipation of an amazing story and sequel to ME1-2, i would say be cautious, maybe if you have a friend who already has it play around with it first. otherwise, i would say try to play the game for the battle sequences and don't focus too much on the plot.
***|END EDIT|***

Don't delete the files from Amazon if you've downloaded it already!
this is for people who have downloaded the pre-load off of Amazon's digital game and software service and have no idea what to do with the files. first of all, understand that you will NOT be able to play the game until EA's release of March 6th. this is simply to get ahead of the crowd by having everything ready to go at the stroke of midnight.

so like some others, i tried to install the game from the files downloaded by amazon and like the others, failed to get anything going with it. this is my first amazon game download so i don't know if this is supposed to happen and everything magically comes together on release date. so for those of you who would like some sort of validation that you did indeed download the right files and what have you, you can do a little sneak around.

before you can try anything with ME3 you'll have to install Origin (essentially EA's version of Steam). create a user blah blah blah...
within Origin, click the settings button and from there "Redeem product code" (redemption code provided by amazon, don't forget the redeem code for the gun as well as the game)

now if you're like me, you did this and tried to install ME3, only to find Origin trying to download the entire 10 gb again. then you tried Setup.exe in the amazon-downloaded files but kept getting errors. again, no need to delete the amazon files and try redownloading the files.

here starts my little instruction list. from here on out, you have downloaded everything from amazon, installed and set up Origin, and have redeemed your product code so that ME3 shows up in your games list in Origin.

1) if you installed Origin normally, you'll have two folders in your program files folder in C: drive names "Origin" and "Origin Games" (My Computer -> Local Disk(C:) -> Program Files (or Program Files x86 for 64-bit users) -> Origin Games)
2) within "Origin Games," create a new folder and title it "Mass Effect 3" (i think it is case-sensitive)
3) now locate the files downloaded from Amazon (most likely a folder titled "Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version (Pre-load Available)" in whatever directory you set as default for Amazon game downloads)
4) you should have 9 files in that folder, one of which is the zip folder that contains everything (~9.7 gb)
5) unzip that file into the "Mass Effect 3" folder created in step 2 (depending on your computer speed, took me ~5 minutes) (you'll need a program that can unzip files)
6) so now your "Mass Effect 3" folder should contain the "_Installer" folder, Binaries folder, BIOGame, etc (6 folders and 1 .dll file i believe)
7) run Origin and in your "My Games" folder click download/preload/install for ME3 (i can't remember what the button said exactly)
8) the status bar should turn blue and display "preparing..." or something like that

after about 5-10 minutes, when all is said and done, you have completed everything you can for ME3 (if you try to play it you'll just get a date-check prompt).

so if you're like me and have below-broadband speeds, you did not waste several hours downloading from amazon. the above process should take 20-30 minutes depending how fast your computer is. so if you thought about re-downloading the game from amazon or Origin but instead followed my steps, you've saved yourself hours and hours of anguish.

now just wait until march 6th. i pre-emptively rated the game 5-stars because i know it's going to be that good (and to share this technique)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Installation Fail Fix, March 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
Hey all,

So if any of you were in the same position I was in this morning, you downloaded Mass Effect 3 from amazon.com, preloading the game in anticipation of saving the Earth, shooting guns, seeing your romance to the end, etc etc. But after I downloaded it and ran the autorun.exe in the folder that mass effect 3 was in, when origin opened up I got an installation failed notice, then swore at my computer screen and specifically at origin(since it is a piece of ____ (insert curse word here)). So, I started moving around the games files, extracting them to different places, renaming files. And after one fix I tried, I got Mass Effect 3 to install! Steps for my fix are included below:

1. Go to your program files directory, find the "origin games" folder and open it. In that folder, create a new folder called "Mass Effect 3". Next, go to the folder with the files you downloaded from the amazon servers and open it up.
2. Find the .zip folder called "Mass Effect 3" and right click on it. Select "extract All" from the drop down list and extract the files in the .zip folder and extract them to the new folder called "Mass Effect 3" in your origin games folder (the filepath should look something like C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Mass Effect 3).
3. After all the files are finished extracting, run origin and log in, Mass Effect 3 should be in your games tab, ready to install!
4. ???
5. Profit!

I'd give this 5 stars but the installation is a hassle. Hope amazon customer support sees this and lets other customers know how to fix it. Hope this helps someone else who is frustrated by EA's incompetence like I was :P

Have a good day,
Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars online only is the only con curse you EA, October 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
Haven't reached the end yet, but I watched the spoiler before buying. Enjoying it for the most part, I thought it was a little racist that the one Latino character is all full of himself and swears at you. It'd be nice to have vehicle portions like in the first 2 games, but I like that you can mod your guns again, this was there in the first, but not the second. Game play seems like a compromise of the best features between the first and second Mass Effects. I heard that people got opinionated over the issue of homosexuality in the game, now I can see why. The first 2 games referenced it some, but it seems more prominent in this one. A little annoying but what ever. I greatly enjoy the multi-player aspect of the game even with it taking forever to call home to mommy and ask EA if it is all right for you to play your game. Also EA/Origin servers take 2-5 minutes to respond before you can 1-play the game, 2-play the game with dlc, 3-play online. Even with a good internet connection it will sometimes loose connection and tell you how terrible of a person you are and that you can't play dlc anymore. It makes me want to use a cracked version of it just because the DRM is a bigger issue to the people that buy the game than to those who pirate it.
I'd buy it again... if it was on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 145 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ending made me feel sick, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
Hard to put into the words how disappointed I was with this game's ending. I feel so strongly about it that it has overtaken my ability to meaningfully comment on almost every other aspect of the game. I'll speed through it.

Per usual, the combat isn't innovative for a Shooter (although being able to roll is a nice change) and the controls have interactivity and general response issues from time to time, but lifting "main powers" (Slow-Down Time, "Blinking" across the map, Invisibility, etc) from other games in genre, and then using them as the centerpieces for the six classes, provides a lot of diversity. I've always enjoyed replaying the games of the series for that reason, but I'm not sure I can endure the disappointment of not being able to alter Shepard's or the galaxy's fate in any significant way.

Music, set design, and cinematography also come through strongly, with the game world really feeling like a galaxy going through a desperate time -- until the final hurdle, where the fight scenes become stratified (can't change them unlike Mass Effect 2) and generic (just lots of bland and confusing action on the screen, think beginning of Episode III in SW Prequel Trilogy).

So now we get to the part I really want to talk about. The game's ending.

SPOILERS:

So aside from the things noted in the above observations, what's wrong with the ending?

Well, first of all, the conclusion of the series is making a split second decision to resolve a tension that was never a central theme of the series -- the inability of Organics and Synthetics to coexist peacefully. Obviously this theme mattered in relations between the Quarians and the Geth, but the Quarians and the Geth were only one part of a larger story, and I was never able to make much of connection between Geth and the Reapers ... because the narrative itself stressed that the Geth and Reapers were too different for there to be much of a comparison between them. In fact, Mass Effect 2 retreated from the idea Reapers are Synthetics at all, instead positing they were a species of Cyborgs. Mass Effect 3 doesn't explicitly backtrack that, but they don't affirm it either, and we seem to return to the Mass Effect 1 idea that Reapers are Synthetics, with the added stipulation (loosely coaxed from Mass Effect 2) that they function as storehouses for organic civilizations. My basic point is that the Reaper's motivations, which have been an awkward specter throughout, are brought to the fore after being a mystery for so long so we can upset the themes that were actually developed and derive a sub-par ending from that. Reminds me of the Matrix trilogy.

Now, despite the fact Shepard is capable of demonstrating that Organics and Synthetics CAN live in peace (very successfully), the ending insists that the differences between the species are too immense, and that some kind of radical transformation is required to do what has already been done. Okay. So basically the ending choices revolve around a moral choice that the game never *really* developed up to, but the tone and setting implies that it HAS, in fact, developed up to, which has confused and sickened long time fans.

So the choice itself a a bad one. The consequences are even worse. All of the real choices of the series, from the relationships you develop to the resources and allies you gather, are completely undermined -- the galactic civilization you came to know and love is destroyed despite all of your efforts to save it. That's right. After 4-5 years, hundreds of dollars, and dozens of hours of playtime, there is no way to save it. Mass Relays get destroyed in all endings (ending galactic civilization as we know and love it), and something (or multiple things) you struggled and put additional effort into to saving is lost for no real reason, be it the Geth/Synthetics, Shepard himself, galactic civilization as a whole, the structural integrity of the human spirit and its innocence, etc...

Choice #1: you can destroy the Reapers, but then you also have to obliterate the Geth and other friendly AI, who it has already been established CAN coexist with Organics and have a just claim to life. I think the development team ought to have taken a glance at this and realized it would have left a bad taste in the Paragon audience's mouth, but there you go. Choice #2: Transform into a wave of energy which propagates a mutation of all beings into Organic-Synthetic hybrids, a nod to the classical science authors who enjoyed writing about huge paradigm shifts in evolution creating dramatically new modes of existence. I will concede this choice has some appeal, but it needed to be handled differently, and in a broader context of choices, as a pricey , ambiguously Utopian solution to the galaxy's problems. Choice #3: Take control of Reapers. The Renegades get the best deal of everyone; all the power they craved is theirs at last. Still, even they probably have issues with the execution.

Shepard HAVING to die/being separated from his friends is an extremely poor way to reward fans. Shepard did die in the introduction to Mass Effect 2, but only to illustrate how unstoppable he/she truly was when he/she came back to life. That was pretty cool. This seems to be the final 'death' though, at least as a being with a personal form and identity, and that should have been reserved as a PUNISHMENT or as a PRICE. Specifically, punish people with death for not completing the multitude of optional objectives, or demand it as a PRICE (like destroying the Arch Demon to be 'true' Grey Warden and destroy the threat once and for all); as I said, choice 2 (which is what I ultimately went with) had a lot of promise as an expensive UTOPIAN solution, but there should have still been an option for Shepard to ride off into the sunset into his 'ordinary' galactic civilization if that's what the player wanted.

I really don't understand the logic of this mediocre ending, especially since they seemed to be actively bending the plot to make it happen, against more natural and rewarding endings. Until the last 15-20 minutes, Mass Effect 3 was a great conclusion in some ways, and at least a comfortable one in others.

I don't see why they were so strongly against providing us with the option for a comfortable ending, when the structure of the RPG always seemed to necessitate that such an option should exist for the players who worked for/desired it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Cannot be Played Offline, March 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
Do not purchase the Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] if you hope to use this on a long flight, nor if your net connection is only available certain times, nor anywhere that internet is not 100% reliable, nor if your on a metered connection and don't want to spend a fortune simply to load a saved file of your own game from your own computer.

Apparently, without a connection to EA servers where your computer is constantly proving to their satisfaction you are not a criminal in their opinion, the game will detect the "From Ashes" add-on exists and normal install correctly, but inform you (wrongly) that your "content is missing" and the software refuses to load any saved data.

This is absolutely unacceptable, especially given the costs of both the game and the download. In my opinion, this sale borders on what might normally be considered fraud.

I would be interested to see how EA would react to receiving a payment for their software which had similar restrictions upon it...I'm pretty sure I'd be getting a call from the authorities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good game, weak ending, October 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
Game was strong - intersting missions, decent overall plot, character builds, feeling that your decisions affect outcome, throughout the whole game until (bu not entirely including) the end. (Even with the "extended cut" - ending is still weak. (the choice you want to make is ineffectie no matter your war score, no good character-specific postscripts for your companions, etc.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great, April 10, 2012
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
It's unfortunate that the Mass Effect series feels like a great idea that was progressively overlooked. Each game felt progressively lacking to me, The first game really felt like a whole knew universe with a great range of choices. The second game felt narrowed, all the choices were there but the impacts of the choices felt much narrower in scope. By ME 3 it felt like all the choices just meant a different name over the character saying the same damn lines. The game was fun, the writing was Bioware's normal high caliber, unfortunately the second play through just felt much like the first and I'm not sure if I'll ever finish more than one play through...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Game-play, horrible ending, April 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
Game-play was excellent much more reminiscent of the original Mass effects ability to customize your weapons, while including the tactical additions from the original game. The actual story was OK until the end which was just terrible and reminded me of the ending for Lost where everyone was left wondering what the heck actually happened. Multi-player is also a little disappointing because its only a survival type game no actual PVP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soulcrushingly Lazy Ending Ruins Franchise, March 14, 2012
By 
C. Yadon (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
The game engine is beautiful. The multiplayer co-op is fun and challenging. The story itself throughout is fun and enjoyable, plus they do an amazing job of tying the events of the previous two games together and making you feel like your choices matter.

In the end, though, they don't. The ending is so sloppily and lazily done it destroyed the whole franchise. Choices no longer matter as Deus Ex Machina tears apart the 'choose your own adventure' style of storyline for a force railroad that leaves the joy of playing these games bloody and broken on the tracks.

I can't even bring myself to try to play and enjoy the MP aspects of it anymore, there's just no point. I know the ending. I know my choices don't matter and in a fit of intellectual laziness, the devs have sauntered off the collect my money.

I give this 2 stars because there are some redeeming parts of the game. I won't give it any more because it has destroyed its own replay value through the terrible conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Storytelling, until the last 20 minutes, March 15, 2012
By 
J. Kritner (Sheridan, WY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Digital Deluxe Version [Download] (Software Download)
I adore the Mass Effect series for all of the changes to the world that happened based on my character's actions, things as grand as wether a civilization lives or dies, or if some guy gets his refund in the citadel markets. I felt like Shepard made her mark in the galaxy and earned her reputation, for better or worse. The first 99.9% of this game is the same, which why I gave this review a 3 star instead of 1. The reason it doesn't get a 5 is that all of those moments are rendered meaningless in the final minutes of gameplay. The entire plot takes a left turn, and rail-roads you into 1 of three options that change the color pallete of the final cutscene, screws-over gallactic civilization, and strands your crew on some unknown planet, never to be heard from again. There is no epilogue, no closure.

Unless something is done, I will never trust Bioware with my gaming dollars, and more importantly: my time, again. I recommend that you don't either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.