Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great graduating material after you've conquered the basics! (And good for reinforcing those!)
I'm a designer turned front-end developer. I came to this book from Cody Lindley's "JavaScript Enlightenment." These two books in that order should be required reading for all designers picking up JavaScript. Skip "The Good Parts" and "Eloquent" and go straight for these meaty, easy to understand volumes.

This is like the big brother of JavaScript...
Published 20 months ago by Rachel Nabors

versus
8 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who's It for?
I'm not sure of the intended audience for this little book. It seems to fret about details and convolutions of coding without really coming to any point. As a beginner it is not useful and an experienced programmer doesn't need it. Who cares when a semicolon can be omitted! Just put them in. Loaded with similar useless don'ts.
Published 20 months ago by Charles Springer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great graduating material after you've conquered the basics! (And good for reinforcing those!), February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Effective JavaScript: 68 Specific Ways to Harness the Power of JavaScript (Effective Software Development Series) (Paperback)
I'm a designer turned front-end developer. I came to this book from Cody Lindley's "JavaScript Enlightenment." These two books in that order should be required reading for all designers picking up JavaScript. Skip "The Good Parts" and "Eloquent" and go straight for these meaty, easy to understand volumes.

This is like the big brother of JavaScript Enlightenment. It introduces intermediate to advanced concepts. It's a concise volume with small code examples you can easily follow. Some of the concepts you may not get right away, but each chapter of the book will start simple, offer you something you didn't know about JavaScript, and stretch your understanding a little bit more. You might need to read it twice, but take your time. Like a ballerina doing her stretches at the bar, you might not feel like you're getting anywhere fast, but you're doing your career a world of good with each stretch you take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depth and breadth that won't become obsolete soon, January 4, 2013
By 
This review is from: Effective JavaScript: 68 Specific Ways to Harness the Power of JavaScript (Effective Software Development Series) (Paperback)
This is hands down the best JavaScript book I have read. It talks about all the expected subjects for a JS book: prototypes, concurrency with asynchronous functions, operators, functions, etc. However, it combines brevity with deep insight. I wish more technical books were this clear and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People always ask "which book should I get to learn JavaScript", December 31, 2012
By 
James Morrin (Brockton, ma United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
TL;DR If you know other languages and want to get into JavaScript this is a great start!!!

People ask me how to get started with JavaScript all the time. If they are asking for a book they should get I always recommend JavaScript the Good Parts. Although they might not understand all the concepts in the book the first read. They will get a good idea of what not to do :) Then for a more definitive guide, I recommend JavaScript the Definitive guide, which is HUGE and I couldn't imagining reading the whole thing but its a great reference! This book kinda hits the sweet spot right in the middle. Just enough information to get someone comfortable in another language up and running with JavaScript.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intermediate book, March 15, 2014
By 
Nicholas C. Zakas (Silicon Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Effective JavaScript: 68 Specific Ways to Harness the Power of JavaScript (Effective Software Development Series) (Paperback)
If you've been looking for an easy way to improve your JavaScript knowledge, this book is for you. Through a series of concise, focused second, this book takes you through some of the most important best practices and language works you should know for working with JavaScript. The explanations are clear, the examples appropriate, and the selection of topics is sufficiently broad to expose you to important language concepts.

This book assumes you already know JavaScript ahead of time, as it dives right into example. For this reason, the book isn't appropriate as a first book to learn JavaScript. It is most appropriate for those who have already read a couple of beginner books and are ready to take a deeper look at the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book for every experienced JavaScript developer. It covers all most important aspects of JavaScript language in very concise form. You will find lots of valuable tips that will help to master your skills. I'm sure you will learn more good practices, as well as get aware of pitfalls you wouldn't think of before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is beautiful, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Effective JavaScript: 68 Specific Ways to Harness the Power of JavaScript (Effective Software Development Series) (Paperback)
Our toy language receives the treatment which was deserved only to your Dad's programming language until today.

I bought this book in the hope of receiving 'just other book on Javascript that deals with the very same issues and concerns'. Boy, I was so wrong. Following the vein of the classics (effective C++ and effective Java) the coverage is broad ane yet every single topic can fill your skull with dense and ready to use Javascript. Instant classic. Alongside with 'Eloquent Javascript' as one the masterpieces of our beloved and hated little language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for insight into JS, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So far I'm only up to Item 40 in the book but I must say that each item I've read so far gave me insight to the ins and outs of JavaScript that confused me for a while. For example in the book it teaches things like Object.prototype.toString.call([]) will give you "[object Array]" and this is a way to tell if a variable passed into a function is actually an array. I would highly recommend this book to help clear up stuff like that along with some good tips for general coding in JS (watching out for automatic semicolon insertion, etc...), what the differences between __proto__, prototype are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent foundation for beginners; an insightful read for Experts, February 1, 2013
This review is from: Effective JavaScript: 68 Specific Ways to Harness the Power of JavaScript (Effective Software Development Series) (Paperback)
Each of the 68 items are concise and end with clear recommendations for your JavaScript code. There are many code examples--all following best practices and all are easy to understand.

Highlights: it covers the power and nuances of Functions and Object Prototypes, Arrays, plain objects and asynchronous logic. It also gives recommendation for creating simple, readable and user-friendly JavaScript libraries that follow the best coding practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for JavaScript developers, December 30, 2013
This review is from: Effective JavaScript: 68 Specific Ways to Harness the Power of JavaScript (Effective Software Development Series) (Paperback)
The book is full of nuggets and advices, it will benefit even to experimented developers.
But it’s clearly not a book for beginners as there is few explanations about the basics.

Contrary to a lot of JavaScript resources that only demonstrate the quirks of the JavaScript language without explanations, this book provides the missing details and insight.
The explanations are short and crystal-clear with useful samples with just enough verbosity.
The part about concurrency is one of the best resource on the subject with good use-cases.
As a bonus this book is a good introduction to some of the features of ECMAScript 5.

The format of the book, with small chapters about a specific topic, is really pleasant.
It can be browsed randomly as the different chapters are often independent, and when this is not the case they are correctly referenced, so it’s perfect to use it as a reference.

This book is a must-have for any serious/professional JavaScript developer.

The display is perfect on the Kindle (text and code-source).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love it, couldn't put it down.
Would recommend to any practicing javascripter.
In my top 3 javascript books!
-- --
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.