Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read for those at sea level and rising
How to do justice to a writer like Krakauer....well, he's such a good writer that I feel any review I write would suffer compared to the source. Nevertheless, here I go.
This is Krakauer's first book. It's a collection of his previously published articles on mountaineering (save the last one about Devil's Thumb which was written for the book.) What a gread read...
Published on June 12, 2000 by Trixie

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tasty Leftovers
I was impressed enough by INTO THIN AIR, his '97 account of the previous year's Everest climbing disaster, that picking up a used copy of EIGER DREAMS was a done deal. I didn't pay enough attention when buying it, however( at a local used bookstore) to learn that it was a compilation of climbing-related stories he'd previously published in 'Outside', 'New Age Journal'...
Published on August 24, 2008 by Bruce King


‹ Previous | 18 9 1015 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want more on John Gill, August 16, 2013
I'm enjoying this book. I hope Krakauer writes John Gill's biography much as he wrote Tillman's. We don't need tragedy or scandal to really appreciate the way you write a story, Jon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very well told collection of climbing stories!, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures Among Men and Mountains (Kindle Edition)
Loved it. Very enjoyable reading. Krakauer provides great insight into the interesting minds of the thrill seeking, fool hardy, yet incredibly calculating and logical people climbers often are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got this used and it looks brand new! Can tell it was read before but it's in excellent shape for a used book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eiger Dreams, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been a big fan of Jon Krakauer, and Eiger Dreams is an entertaining potpourri of his adventures--and others'--climbing mountains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jon, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures Among Men and Mountains (Kindle Edition)
This may not be as good as some of Krakauer's other books but it is still a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures Among Men and Mountains (Kindle Edition)
Jon Krakauer is probably my favorite author. This book speaks to the heart of anyone who loves the outdoors regardless of the activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures Among Men and Mountains (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down. Every story is filled with adventure and Krakauer writes for the seasoned mountaineer and the armchair alpanist alike. Even non "outdoorsy" people will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great outdoor book!, May 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures Among Men and Mountains (Kindle Edition)
Ever since reading Into Thin Air, I've been hooked on Krakauer. Although, I was not a fan of Into The Wild. This book is a compilation of short stories and essays Jon has written through the years for various magazines. All of the stories are very interesting and cover several different outdoor topics. It is a must read if you enjoyed Into Thin Air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lessons in climbing and life, April 27, 2013
By 
Peter Ashley (hopkinton, ma United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures Among Men and Mountains (Kindle Edition)
Great stories, finely edited, which also provide deep and touching psychological insights on the climbers state of mind.
A must have for armchair adventurers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good short stories of Moutaineering and and adventure, March 9, 2013
By 
Thomas Erickson (Lutz Fl and Felt Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked Joh Krakauer's Into Thin Air ... 5 star so much I bought his Eiger Dreams. Joh Krakauer is a very good author.

Eiger dreams is 189 pages of good short stories about mountaineering and adventure. The book read well, kept the readers attention, some stress and excitement. No boring parts. I read it in 2 days.

We see twelve short stories of different people including at times Joh Krakauer planning and climbing different mountains, and smaller steep difficult climbs. Many of these people I never heard about but were legends in their different climbing practices like ice walls, waterfalls, steep pinnacles, 8000M peaks like K2 and Everest and more. A wide assortment of different climbing.

This is a good book for those wanting to read mountaineering adventure but don't have too much time. The reader can read a short story put the book down and come right back to a new and completely different adventure.

Into Thin Air INMO was little better but Eiger Dreams still a good book and proudly added to our family library. 4 1/3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1015 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eiger Dreams: Ventures Among Men and Mountains
$13.95 $8.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.