Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$17.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 10, 2010
The first three words that come to my mind when I think of Eight Days are healing, survival and hope. I think its the perfect first picture book after the earthquake in Haiti that killed many and forced the Island to rebuild. Rather than focus on loss, Danticat writes about a boy who is saved thanks in part to his imagination.

The story begins with 7 yr old Junior being pulled from the rubble eight days after the earthquake. Though Junior's body was trapped his mind was free, and each day he did something new. Junior tells the people assembled at his rescue what he did on each day.

Junior is having fun most days with best friend Oscar or his sister Justine. Though on the 5th day Oscar went to sleep and never woke up. "That was the day I cried"

I was touched by that line. Its not often boys are seen crying in books. I think Eight Days is quietly beautiful. Its also gorgeous. Delinois illustrations are simply wonderful. The colors are Haiti.

The note from the author in the back, is a must read for adults.

The earthquake on January 12, 2010, dramatically change their lives. Many watched loved ones die. Others, like Junior, were stuck in the rubble of their homes and were rescued several days later. Yet in spite of everything, Haiti's children still dream. They laugh. They live. They love."

There's so much more, including the fact that nearly half of Haiti's population is under fifteen. Danticat wrote Eight Days for the children. Though adults will take something away from it as well. Eight Days will touch your heart.

Scholastic the publishers of Eight Days are donating $10,000 to the International Rescue Committe (IRC).
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What an inspiring, uplifting book about survival and courage. The vibrant illustrations to this story are so stunning and captivating. Edwidge Danticat did a wonderful job at crafting a story about a courageous little boy who survived being stuck under the rubble of his house for 8 days after the Haiti earthquake. This little guy is a true survivor, as he tells his story and what he did each day he was stuck under the rubble. It's a touching story with a wonderful tribute to the vibrant, resilient spirit of Haiti.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2011
Eight Days: A Story of Haiti is the triumphant story of a boy, Junior, who spends eight days with his family in the rubble of his home after the earth quake that destroyed Haiti on January 12, 2010. The author and illustrator of this book are native Haitians. In each of their notes about the story they relate their love for their country and their hope for its future rise. This story beautifully describes what a normal day in the life of a Haitian child is like, the activities they normally participate in and the kinds of relationships they foster.

Junior imagines that he does different things during his eight day entrapment. On the first day, he imagines that he and his friends fly kites. "On the second day Oscar and I played hide and seek. We hid in the dark, dusty corner, of the house. And not only did Manman and Justine come looking for us, but Papa did, too." On the third day, Junior "visits" his parent's jobs and experiences what they do for money. On day four, he sings a beautiful solo in his class. Day five brings soccer and sports that he loves, followed by a bitter sweet goodbye. Rain was brought by day six, and day seven taught Junior that winning isn't always what is important. Finally, on day eight Junior was rescued and reunited with his family in front of news crews and rescuers. Junior's imagination, energy, playful side, and responsible nature all emerge on different days, while he was buried underneath the wreckage of his fallen home, which shows the resiliency of the Haitian people.

The author, Edwidge Danticat, describes a Haitian's life and family bonds (as only a Haitian can) with descriptive words that children can understand, while using some of the native Haitian language like "Alarive!" (or surprise!). This book beautifully demonstrates the joy that arose when people safely emerged from the rubble, the despair that was found when loved ones were injured or killed, and the hope and love that can still be found in Haiti to this day. The illustrations in this novel are vivid and bring the story to life and captivate the reader. The vibrancy of the words and colors used to tell this story show the hope, happiness, and joy that the Haitian people have for their future.

I would strongly advise anyone to buy this book. With the fury of nature rearing its ugly head in different countries around the world, this is the perfect book to demonstrate that it isn't the end. You have to have a little rain to make a rainbow, and sometimes Mother Nature gives us the chance to start anew.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2011
i purchased this book for children involved in my life. I wanted them to understand what happened in Haiti during the past year and I hope that they can cherish this book as i do when i think of the many children in Haiti. again KUDO's to the contributors to this great and cherished memorabilia.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2010
She has given a voice to the children who have survived the earthquake in Haiti. May her attempt heal many in their struggles.

I recommend anything she has written!
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
But then Oscar felt really tired and went to sleep. He never woke up. That was the day I cried. ~ Eight Days: A Story of Haiti

How often does news of natural disaster cause a knot in your stomach and a lump in your throat? Do you wonder how such global challenges affect children? Can you comprehend the anxiety felt by child survivors, like the Haitian children who worried for their families and loved ones after the January 12, 2010 earthquake? Edwidge Danticat could. Her own five-year-old had questions. Danticat wanted her daughter and other children to know that hope, memories, and imagination can survive disaster. That's why she wrote Eight Days: A Story of Haiti.

Danticat wrote about struggle, determination, and loss through a small survivor named Junior. Through this creative format, kids can understand and accept, without feeling overwhelmed by sadness or despair. Alix Delinois' beautiful, bright, colorful illustrations keep Haiti and its culture alive as it was and can be again.

Power in a picture book: If you want to assure children or yourself that it's okay to talk about sad things--and that perseverance, empathy, and compassion can overcome tragic circumstances, look no further than Eight Days: A Story of Haiti.

~ Anna
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2011
This topic was handled in a really nice way, and left plenty of room for my daughter to ask questions and discuss but didn't force it.
Very nice!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
I love "Eight Days" because unlike many picture books about Haiti, it shows the fun and joy that is part of many Haitian children's lives, even in the midst of very difficult times. It also is almost an ode to Haitian strength and resilience. It shows how a Haitian child can be a role model of strength to children everywhere. I also love "Tap Tap", that and "Eight Days" would be my favorites to introduce kids to Haiti. I also liked "Selavi", even though it is about child homelesness, it also has a message of hope. I don't think it serves anyone to paint pictures of Haiti as just a desperately sad place, it's just such a slanted, narrow view of the country which tells nothing of their rich culture and history. I'd rather leave American kids with admiration for Haitian kids and curiosity about the country than pity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2013
Great illustrations. A great book for young Haitian's to learn about the tragic event ... maybe their first history book.
I was disappointed that it wasn't a true story!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
I originally bought this book for me, I am a fan of the author, and ended up giving it to my niece. I must admit I did not read the reviews or description well enough to realize it was a childrens book. I gave it to her for xmas and she loved it. Once again good job Edwidge Danticat.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.