Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 19, 2009
In 1970 many physicists and cosmologists thought that we would soon know all the basic physical principles governing the universe. The Big Bang was largely confirmed by cosmic background radiation and we knew about expansion. Quantum mechanics ruled the small while the large was the domain of relativity. The two theories weren't linked yet, but it was merely a matter of a little more time and work. Success would bring an explanation unifying the four fundamental physical forces of the universe: Electromagnetism, the strong force (binding protons and neutrons together in atomic nuclei), the weak force (governing certain kinds of particle decay) and gravity. Surely the "theory of everything" was not far off.

Wrong. Observations in 1970 revealed that gravitational motions of gas clouds in the Andromeda galaxy were occurring at speeds far greater than the entire observed mass of that galaxy could account for. Similar problems detected in the 1930's involving motions of entire galaxies had long been disregarded. Soon other observations confirmed that so-called "ordinary matter" is insufficient to account for observed gravitational effects in the cosmos. Thus the universe must contain huge amounts of "dark matter," that we cannot observe and the composition of which we do not know (it is not made of the particles that constitute ordinary matter).

Then in 1998 reports of observations of distant supernovae revealed that the expansion of the universe was not slowing, as would be expected from long-term effects of gravity, but was instead accelerating. Something was overcoming the gravitational power of all of the matter in the universe. The acceleration, moreover, has not been present from the Big Bang on. For billions of years the speed of expansion slowed. Then, about 5 billion years ago, acceleration began. Obviously energy--a lot of it--- was required to explain these phenomena. This is "dark energy." We cannot detect it and currently know almost nothing about it.

Today scientists believe that 5% of the universe consists of "ordinary" [observable] matter, 23% of "dark" matter and 72% of "dark energy." So in about 40 years we have gone from thinking that we knew almost everything about the essentials of cosmology to actually knowing something about only 5% of the universe, very little about an additional 23% and almost nothing about 72% of it.

But author Gates (herself a theoretical physicist by training) is energized rather than discouraged. In this book she discusses fully the problems noted above (and more), explains their significance and outlines in detail the methods that are being used or planned to attack them. The book's title comes from one of the major investigational tools: Use of relativistic spacetime itself as an observational device. General relativity teaches that the presence of mass warps spacetime. As light travels through the universe it follows a curved path through these "dimples" in spacetime. Because these warps bend light, it is as if a giant lens has been dropped into space, magnifying and displacing light from more distant sources behind it. When Earth is aligned with such a "lens," it allows us to detect and analyse vastly more distant light sources otherwise not observable. This is useful in searching for dark matter because it allows "maps" to be made showing where dark matter exists in distant sources. Gates does an outstanding job of describing this and other significant techniques for making these inquiries, noting the strengths and weaknesses of each method in investigating certain types of phenomena. The use of different techniques should permit the capture of disparate forms of data and lead, we hope, to detection and analysis of dark matter and dark energy.

This is an exciting time for cosmology and physics. The results of these inquiries will, at the least, radically change our view of the cosmos. Depending on results, it may be necessary to modify Einstein's theory of general relativity to account for the observed actions of gravity in the universe. Gates is also quite good at conveying the excitement now animating these scientific fields. Her writing is clear and readable, if seldom compelling. Overall this book is recommended for anyone interested in today's leading cosmological puzzles.
66 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2009
Astrophysicist Evalyn Gates brings the world of gravitational lensing and the search for the unknown constituents of the Universe to the reader in her book Einstein's Telescope. Gates has spent many years in this search, and this book is an excellent introduction and advanced discussion, laying the foundation for the work she (and others) will do over the next decade to unmask some of the great mysteries in cosmology and astrophysics.

Gates introduces a brief history of how scientists came to understand that dark matter and dark energy had to be part of our Universe in order to explain a few basic observations. Once she has offered the reader a framework for why we need to look more deeply at the way our Universe appears, Gates explains just what causes the "Einstein's Telescope" effect. This fascinating technique involves gravitational lensing of distant objects by massive objects sitting closer to the Earth. Often, the lenses are clusters of galaxies, and through the process of lensing more distant galaxies, we can learn how much mass is acting on the light of the distant sources, giving us insight into where dark matter may reside and exactly how it interacts with ordinary mass.

The book explains various theories of dark matter, primarily MACHOs and WIMPs, offers glimpses at the even more mysterious dark energy, for which there are no shortage of wild theories, and eventually goes deep into the cosmic web that may hold clues to the earliest formation of galaxies.

Later parts of the book, which may well be the strongest in what is a very solid presentation, describe the multiple experiments ongoing and various theories currently being formulated. Gates explains how these new techniques and new opportunities may shed light on our understanding of the Universe, its beginnings, and its evolution. Anyone who wants to understand the amazing findings that have begun to trickle out of this astrophysical work (and which will continue to become available over the next decade or two) will find strong explanations by Gates herein. This section alone makes the entire book worth reading for me.

Gates is an excellent writer who refuses to waste the reader's time. She has a solid grasp of her subject, and better, is highly successful at making the complex scientific concepts approachable by most any reader. Tons of great cutting-edge science is in store for a reader of this book, and those with a strong knowledge of cosmology and astronomy can still find much to learn and enjoy in Telescope. A handful of excellent images and illustrations are included in the hardback edition which offer the reader tantilizing, beautiful references to Gates' material, including real photographs of some fantastic shots of gravitation lensing.

For any science reader, and most especially those who enjoy space sciences, this book is highly recommended as a solid effort to update the reader's understanding of current astrophysical efforts and approaches to this fascinating field. While much of the science is complex, the style makes it easy to digest, without watering down the concepts. Four stars.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2009
XXXXX

"What we have learned [about our Universe] is amazing. The Universe is 13.7 billion years old, it has a temperature of just under 3 degrees above absolute zero, and its spatial geometry is flat. The enormous expanse of space that we can see today, filled with hundreds of billions of galaxies, began as an intensely hot, almost infinitely dense soup of energy that has expanded and cooled since the beginning of time and space. Space itself is expanding in a great cosmic stretch that has recently begun to kick up a notch--the Universe is accelerating. And it is dark. The cosmic inventory is dominated by dark energy (72%) and dark matter (23%) [both of which we can't see]; normal matter, which comprises everything we [can see and] have ever been able to hold in our hands or examine with our instruments, comes in a distant third, contributing only about 5% of everything that is."

The above comes from the epilogue of this well-written, very informative book by Dr. Evalyn Gates, Assistant Director of the Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics and a Senior Research Associate at the University of Chicago.

So what is this book about? As might be deduced from the above quotation, it's about the dark side of the Universe--dark matter, dark energy, even black holes.

Dark matter is the hypothetical matter that holds the galaxies together. WIMPs (Weakly Interacting Massive Particle), mentioned in this review's title, are one of the leading candidates for a type of dark matter. Dark energy is the hypothetical form of energy that permeates all of space and tends to increase the rate of expansion of the Universe. (A black hole in general relativity is a region of space in which the gravitational pull is so powerful that nothing, including light, can escape its pull. Black holes can't be seen directly.)

As mentioned, dark matter and dark energy can't be seen. How are astronomers to look for these things they can't see? That's where "Einstein's telescope" comes in.

Technically, Einstein's telescope is called "gravitational lensing." This book explains how it works. (Note that gravitational lensing is one of the predictions of physicist Albert Einstein's Theory of General Relativity.)

Einstein's telescope or gravitational lensing can be used to solve the biggest mysteries of the Universe by using ordinary luminous matter to discover dark matter and its distribution (as well as other dark objects such as black holes and objects too far away to be seen by our best telescopes such as other Earths). This discovered dark matter itself can be used to probe for the imprint of dark energy (and the very structure of space and time).

The final chapter is a fantastic discussion of "gravity waves" (or gravitational waves). A gravity wave is a fluctuation in the curvature of space-time which propagates as a wave, traveling outward from the source. Predicted again from Einstein's Theory of General Relativity.

This book is quite accessible. No prior knowledge of science of any kind is assumed. Those with a science background will find that the first three chapters cover familiar ground.

Throughout the book are helpful black and white illustrations (pictures, graphs, etc.). As a bonus, there is a section of ten beautiful full-color photographs.

Finally, my only minor problem with this book is that I would have appreciated in having all new terms introduced in the main narrative listed (with definitions) in a glossary.

In conclusion, this is an extraordinary and captivating book!! And don't worry! You don't have to be MACHO to read it. (MACHO stands for Massive Astrophysical Compact Halo Object.)

(first published 2009; preface; acknowledgements; glossary of acronyms; 12 chapters; epilogue; main narrative 270 pages; notes; illustration acknowledgments; index; about the author)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2009
Coming in at a reasonable 270 pages of main text, this very readable and thoroughly engaging book takes the reader from when cosmologists and astrophysicists "thought they were so close" to having it all figured out and yet showing us that as early as the 1930's theorists were postulating dark matter (as early as 1933 Zwicke called it "dunkle Materie"). But it wasn't until 1970 that a second observation of the speeds at which gas clouds were orbiting around the Andromeda Galaxy that put dark matter on the map for good.

It turns out the Universe is filled with the stuff. And by "stuff" they aren't even sure what it is made of, but WIMPs are the most likely candidate. To make matters worse, Dark Energy appears to exist as a negative pressure within the entire Universe acting as a sort of renewed "Inflation" that is speeding up the expansion against normal gravity's will.

How do we know all of this? Well, in the book, the author Evalyn Gates lays out the territory upon which these discoveries came to light. The territory is General Relativity and the famous first prediction it made, that light will be bent by the curvature of spacetime around a very massive gravitating body like the Sun - a method now affectionately known as "Einstein's Telescope". Today this confirmation of Einstein's grand vision of the cosmos is being utilized in ways that Einstein himself considered only hypothetical-gravitational lensing of distant objects by galactic glusters, single galaxies and even dark matter itself.

In a very simple and readable way, Dr. Gates takes the reader very carefully, but very swiftly, through 100 years of cosmology to the present making it understandable and interesting. The book never gets weighed down much in jargon and she keeps the examples light and refreshing using mundane and ordinary relationships to make simpler these complex concepts.

The book has an opening Glossary of Acronyms and extensive and helpful notes from each Chapter at the end of the book that the reader can refer to when he or she feels the need. I bought this book because it was published very recently, in February of 2009, and it has helped me round out my research on the subject of modern cosmology in my attempt to understand the challenges of the big-bang model.

I highly recommend this wonderful little book to all science enthusiasts and anyone else that might want to take a peek into our present understanding of just what the Universe is made of and how we are presently going about taking down the data needed to make the claims found in this book.

Buy it today.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have found it to be one of the more readable books in the category of popular astrophysics. Evalyn Gates has succeeded in creating a fascinating literary exploration of the subject of the book - mainly a description of the phenomenon known as gravitational lensing and a detailed account of what how it can be used to gain insight into dark matter and subsequently the construction of the universe. I was peripherally aware of the concept of gravitational lensing, but now I have a much more vivid mental image of how the universe looks from a spacetime distortion stand point. Having read quite a few astrophysics and cosmology books, I especially appreciated the omission of a rehashing of the entire history of physics. The author includes only what is necessary for the understanding of the subjects. Additionally, there is no math, but there is an explanation of Einstein's equation of how the spacetime curvature relates to the distribution of matter and energy which will actually make you feel smarter. If you are considering buying this book, don't worry, you'll like it!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2010
Love this book, love my Kindle, but the illustrations don't translate well in electronic ink.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
Evalyn Gates has written one of the most accessible, and concise presentations of a very difficult topic that I have ever encountered. In recent years there have been a multitude of "popular" presentations of cosmology and the nature of the universe written by people who dedicated their entire adult lives studying a very difficult and deep area of physics. Very few of them have been able to do so with the clarity and consistency in "Einstein's Telescope" . All too often the author leaves the popular reader with serious mis-comprehensions about the nature of the phenomena and the actual state of the science.

Dr. Gates presents a level and balanced description of the nature of Dark Energy and Dark Matter. AND a level and balanced presentation of just what things we "know", "think we know" and just plain "don't know". Unlike so many popular writers, who even when trying to be balanced, always seem to push their own personal perceptions leaving the unwary reader with the impression that their own perspective is the "accepted" science.

You will learn something new on every page, even if it is a small gem on "how science works".

Kudos Dr. Gates, a fine job and I really wish you would produce more works like this one. It is a much needed service, to general curious public and to the the people "in" the field who need an ambassador to reach out and let people know what we are working on.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
I read this book alongside Dan Hooper's new book on Supersymmetry (see related review of this book). While Mr. Hooper comes at dark matter from the perspective of a particle physicist and supersymmetry, Ms. Gates provided a very nice juxtaposition (for me at least) by coming at dark matter from the cosmic perspective as an astrophysicist, and from the distinct perspective of gravitational lensing - the essence of the title of the book. As a current graduate student in Astronomy, I really enjoyed the obvious knowledge and background that Ms. Gates brought to this subject. I also enjoyed Ms. Gates' humorous presentation. Handled wrongly, sometimes humour can detract from the flow and presentation, but Ms. Gates (in my opinion) nicely used her dry wit to add to the presentation and to provide moments of levity throughout the text. The book will be very enjoyable to any reader interested in science and provides a very nice summary of dark matter and the techniques employed to quantify it. It doesn't deal too much with dark energy, other than to confirm that observations show that the Universe's expansion is accelerating and giving possible explanations for it in a summary way. But I don't fault the author for this; dark energy is very much more mysterious than dark matter at this point, and it seemed the author's intent here was to concentrate on dark matter. I very much recommend this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
Contains a description of Micro-lensing. Gravitational lensing has confirmed that dark matter is real matter, of some sort, and dominates all matter. This book details how this conclusion was reached. Lensing tomography has been able to generate a 3D picture of the cosmic web.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2010
This is a book about humanity's recent efforts in unravelling the composition of the universe. In very clear and eloquent prose, the author gently and painlessly guides the reader through problems in cosmology - focussing primarily on dark matter and dark energy. The main tool that is prominent throughout the book is gravitational lensing - hence the book's title. The author has taken the time to carefully explain the various theories and mechanisms involved; for illustration purposes, she has made extensive use of very helpful analogies from everyday experience. In my opinion, the author has succeeded admirably in writing a book that can be fully enjoyed by a general readership. She has remained well-grounded throughout, illustrating the practical aspects of scientific problems in light of well-established (and well-explained) theories. The writing style is friendly, clear, authoritative, widely accessible, lively and quite captivating. Complete with several useful figures and colour plates, this book can be enjoyed by anyone interested in humanity's quest to understand the composition and machinery of our universe.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse