Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful and Moving Book - Highly Recommended
The Miller brother's "Either You're in or You're in the Way" literally drew in me after the first few pages. I finished the 280 page book in a single sitting. I was expecting something along the lines of Robert Rodriguez's Rebel without a Crew: Or How a 23-Year-Old Filmmaker With $7,000 Became a Hollywood Player, which was about a young film maker working outside the...
Published on May 4, 2009 by C. Hill

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and fun, but lacking resonance
This fast, light read details the trials and tribulations of independent filmmaking -- and the chance meetings, n-degrees-of-separation contacts, and just plain kind souls who lighten the load.

Though there's a lot of fun, interesting stuff in the book, I felt a lot was glossed over or just plain left out. There aren't any real "characters" in the book -- all...
Published on August 1, 2009 by beckyjean


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful and Moving Book - Highly Recommended, May 4, 2009
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Miller brother's "Either You're in or You're in the Way" literally drew in me after the first few pages. I finished the 280 page book in a single sitting. I was expecting something along the lines of Robert Rodriguez's Rebel without a Crew: Or How a 23-Year-Old Filmmaker With $7,000 Became a Hollywood Player, which was about a young film maker working outside the Hollywood model, and instead got a touching story about two brothers trying to fulfill a dream and promise to their deceased father, while working (bulldozing) their way through the Hollywood establishment. The brothers, or "Bros" as they call themselves, wrote and eventually filmed "Touching Home" a semi-autobiographic story about their failed professional baseball careers and an alcoholic father in a cycle of self-destruction. As you learn fairly quickly in the telling, the Bros had set some lofty goals for producing this movie, including securing "real" actors like Ed Harris (A Beautiful Mind, Radio, Enemy at the Gates, etc).

You could look at this book in two different ways, first as a how to guide on getting a movie made when you have no experience or creditability in Hollywood, or secondly as study on the effects of an alcoholic father and a dysfunctional family life on two brothers.

As a guide, the book illustrates the challenges, hard work, and sleepless nights aspiring moviemakers can expect to face. It also makes you appreciate the effects of luck, both good and bad, on achieving long standing goals. The Bros had more than their fair share of both types, but as Louis Pasteur said, "Luck favors the prepared", and they seemed always prepared to capitalize on good luck and worked to minimize the effects of bad luck.

As a voyeuristic view into a life influenced by an alcoholic father, the Bros hit too close to home for me. Their father could have been mine, an alcoholic living in his car, spending more time in jail than not, and dying alone. The parallels made some of the reading difficult as I recalled the good times when he was sober and guilt of not being able to help as he self-destructed. The Bros did an excellent job capturing the emotions without bogging the story down.

This was one of the few books that lived up to the hype printed on the dust jacket! I did laugh-out-loud, got teary eyed in parts, and felt a sense of accomplishment when they finished shooting their movie.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Give Up, February 24, 2009
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
" This book is a "How to" manual for overcoming adversity and reaching ones goals and dreams in order to lead an extraordinary & fulfilled life. I absorbed this book over 4 days, laughing, reflecting and crying ("Full Circle") from cover to cover.

Everyone who has ever had a dream, lost one or achieved theirs, NEEDS to read this book by the Miller Twins. No matter your age, profession or station in life you will find a pearl of wisdom, laugh you're a_ _ off and cry for the experiences of Noah and Logan as they pursued their dream to make the beautiful and inspiring film, "Touching Home" starring 3 academy award nominees, including Ed Harris.

The writing is visceral (young Noah grabbing the goose by it's neck and punching it, living from shack to shed), refreshing, uplifting, magnetic, hard charging Red Bull reading reminiscent of "Fear and loathing in Las Vegas" by Hunter S Thompson with one major twist, the story and characters are ALL real.

As a sales & leasing professional I was attracted by the "Seven thoughts" particularly 2) Surround yourself with gray hair and listen. 3) Never wait for a phone call 5) There are only solutions and 7) Either you're in or you're in the way. REFRESHING advice from kids so young yet so mature.

Cast away your fear, uncertainty and doubt and chase your dreams with every ounce of energy you've got. Noah and Logan can show you how!

Order this book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have a dream, read this book, May 12, 2009
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I picked this book up based on the reviews, having never heard of the Miller brothers or their movie. It arrived today, and I read it straight through in a few hours. I couldn't put it down.

There are really two aspects to this book. The first is the story of how two determined brothers managed to make a movie with no experience, no money, no training, nothing but determination. That aspect is a good story, and might have been interesting enough to get me to read it straight through like I did.

But it's the other aspect that makes this a truly great book: the insight you get into the hearts and minds of two individuals who have a dream and will not let anything stand in their way of achieving it. These guys started with nothing but a friend who gave them names to call, and other names they found in books about the business. They got on the phone, asked for help, followed up every lead and every long trail of referrals until eventually they found every person, skill and resource they needed. They got some of the best actors in the business to be in their movie for the love of acting. They did this with nothing but drive and desire.

If you've had a dream for a long time, you may be a bit miffed that these guys are successful and you are not (yet). Don't waste another second of your life thinking that way-the Miller brothers wouldn't. They're too busy writing scripts, working the phones, and making their next dream a reality.

Five stars for a pure motivational joyride. Now I'm off to track down a copy of the movie. I hope I can get it overnight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Perseverance, April 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Perseverance is a word thrown around by many people, and acted on by few. It's much needed in any vision that you hope to see come into fruition, as evidenced by the charming, new book by the Miller brothers, Logan and Noah, "Either You're In or You're In the Way".

The twin brother had a vision of a movie about their alcoholic father, but their story doesn't start there. Literally in a few pages, you learn about their sparse background which led them up to deciding to be screenplay writers and eventually, movie makers. With a combination of knowing a few key people up front, buying the right books, and making enough phone calls to wear out the dial. People lead to people lead to heartbreaks lead to challenges lead to making their movie with Ed Harris.

The Miller brother's have a very direct, quick, yet honest writing style. They are painfully honest, gutsy, and forthright in their storytelling. The book veers more honestly and emotionally when they tell the story of their tortured father; that's some of their best writing. Less so when recounting the details of their movie making. While very informative, it tends to read a bit dry from time to time, impressive though their story is. Once I started the book, it was one of those that was very hard to put down, and I read it very quickly.

I initially chose this book for the moviemaking aspects of the story; however, I was pleased to discover the real heart of the story: two boys longing to connect, understand, and honor their father, whose life was anything but memorable for a movie script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foulmouthed, funny and heartwrenching, August 20, 2009
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Logan and Noah Miller are facing the death of their father. The death is not unexpected, their father had been an alcoholic, homeless and in and out of their lives for years. They had recently seen him, shared a meal...and then this news. Their father had died in jail. Both brothers were mourning their father and had regrets that they had not been able to see him one more time before his death. They also had always promised him they were going to tell their story one day, and now that wasn't possible. Both brothers gained a new resolve not to toil their whole lives in mediocrity and obscurity. They wanted the film "Touching Home" a semi biographical story of their father's struggles and their short time trying to play professional baseball, to be a testament to their father, and a memorial of their love for him. They began to write screenplay despite a lack of experience, no financial backing and no contacts in the moviemaking business. The brothers were determined to finish and the lack of knowledge probably allowed them to plunge headlong into the project. Working day jobs and trying to use any "in" they could find the brothers, or Bros as they call themselves, not only write a script, they manage to gat it into the hands of four-time Academy Award-nominated actor Ed Harris and fellow nominees Brad Dourif and Robert Forster and some stellar filmmakers. This is a hard to put down story will have the reader alternating between sheer disbelief and cheering out loud for the Bros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where there is a will, there is a way - Dare to Dream, May 18, 2009
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This was a wonderful, fast-paced book that reminded me (through the twins own story of building something from nothing) that "where there is a will, there is a way". This book shows how the pieces fit together for two identical twins (Noah and Logan) to fulfill a promise to their father to create a film. But one would have to wonder how this can be done without funds, acting experience, actors and oh yeah ... general knowledge of the film industry.

I was inspired how Logan and Noah Miller pooled both of their resources to make a dream (promise) come to life. The stars aligned and they took full advantage of them. Moving ahead, sometimes scared and feeling foolish, they made a way to make their movie and dared to dream.

To me this book is less about the content of creating a movie about an alcoholic father and more about bringing a super-charged dream and vision to life.

The book is well written, funny and fast moving. A great read that I highly recommend. It's a great motivational book disguised a story--we need more of these.

Be inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unapologetic, Real, and Unbelievable! What A Great Story!, May 4, 2009
By 
Shawn Kovacich "Shawn Kovacich" (The Greatest Little City in the World) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
WOW!

That was the first word that came to mind as I started reading this truly heartwarming and inspirational true story of two sons and their love for their less than perfect father. It is also the story of what an individual or in this case two individuals can do with an undeniable will to get the job done.

This story is about two brothers who fulfill a promise to their recently deceased father to produce a movie entitled, "Touching Home" that they had written to honor their father. Who had passed away on the cold cement floor of a California jail during the winter time.

This is a very well written and extremely honest book about the lives of some very remarkable and yet so unremarkable that they could literally be just about anyone of us. Which is another reason why this book is so resoundingly fresh and honest in its telling of a very sad yet uplifting story.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has a heart, and especially those that don't!

Shawn Kovacich
Creator of numerous books and DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read...from a Mom., April 17, 2009
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:58 Mins

Hi I'm Michele,

I live in California and wanted to share my thoughts on this wonderful book.

Thanks,

Michele
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars either your in or you're in the way, June 3, 2009
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
Do not read this book before you go to bed. I read this book in 4 days, and each night I couldn't sleep, because it motivates you to do everything you have put on the back burner. The Miller Bro's enthusiasm is contagious...and their storytelling had me laughing one page and crying the next. This is a deeply heart-felt book that embodies the spirit of perserverence. If your in the film industry or someone with a dream, learn from them...buy this book! John Patterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a grand slam, March 11, 2009
This review is from: Either You're in or You're in the Way (Hardcover)
This book was attention grabbing, hilarious, depressing, enlightening, and a tearjerker. It was a paper roller coaster of emotions. I LOVED IT! Being a student and a young reader, I found this book easy to read and engaging. I've met the brothers a few times, and they are so much fun and have such a positive energy. They deserve the best, and definitely deserved the luck and generosity they received throughout their experiences. With the odds against them, they proved that nothing can hold you back from your dreams. I've been extremely inspired by this book and I KNOW if people read it that they will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Either You're in or You're in the Way
Either You're in or You're in the Way by Logan Miller (Hardcover - April 28, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.