Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not What You Expected
If you are a real foodie, chef, and someone involved in the business of food you might like this. If you are expecting a Gordon Ramsey or Bourdain style documentary then you will be disappointed. You will not learn how to cook any of what legendary chef, Ferran Adrià, makes at the now retired El Bulli restaurant. The documentary starts with the closing of his...
Published on March 16, 2012 by Michael Collins

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty boring.
I really enjoyed Bourdain's documentary about El Bulli,Decoding Ferran Adria: Hosted by Anthony Bourdain (and the episode of No Reservations with Ferran Adria), and in those you really got to see what cooking and eating at El Bulli was like. I also enjoyed Lisa Abend's book The Sorcerer's Apprentices: A Season in the Kitchen at Ferran Adrià's elBulli. This movie,...
Published on July 8, 2012 by A. Rubin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not What You Expected, March 16, 2012
By 
Michael Collins (Arlington, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Bulli (Amazon Instant Video)
If you are a real foodie, chef, and someone involved in the business of food you might like this. If you are expecting a Gordon Ramsey or Bourdain style documentary then you will be disappointed. You will not learn how to cook any of what legendary chef, Ferran Adrià, makes at the now retired El Bulli restaurant. The documentary starts with the closing of his restaurant for the season then turns into a dialogue between chefs on the creativity and science of the creation of new dishes. You are like a fly on the wall. Jose Andres operates arguably the most advanced kitchen in the world, very interesting to see how everything comes together, but this film won't be for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty boring., July 8, 2012
By 
A. Rubin (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Bulli: Cooking in Progress (DVD)
I really enjoyed Bourdain's documentary about El Bulli,Decoding Ferran Adria: Hosted by Anthony Bourdain (and the episode of No Reservations with Ferran Adria), and in those you really got to see what cooking and eating at El Bulli was like. I also enjoyed Lisa Abend's book The Sorcerer's Apprentices: A Season in the Kitchen at Ferran Adrià's elBulli. This movie, however, was much less interesting to watch.

The movie is 1hr 50mins long, and all dialogue is in Catalan, Spanish, or French, with English subtitles. The first half of the movie is almost all video of Ferran's sous-chefs working in the lab. There is no narration at all, very little cooking, and it is somewhat tedious to watch. Yes, it is interesting to see what they do, but most of the time it is unclear exactly what they are doing and what ingredients they are using. Still, it is quite amazing how meticulous they are in the lab. The second half takes place in the restaurant, where we see them set up for the season. Again, it is usually not clear what exactly they are doing. You might see them making some cool looking dishes, but the viewer has no idea what they are. At one point we watch Ferran eat his own meal, but for the most part, we do not know what the dishes are or how they taste! We just see him make notes quietly. Pretty dull.

If you are really into El Bulli, this is worth watching for the behind-the-scenes look, but in the end it is just ok. Could have been great, with lots of narration and better editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate for foodies, May 7, 2012
By 
mikecq "mikecq" (Hawaii, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: El Bulli: Cooking in Progress (DVD)
If you classify yourself as a foodie, you have got to see this movie. This is where food preparation is takes to almost a scientific level. I do not believe anyone else in the entire world has done this approach to food preparation.
Too bad if you never got to el Bulli, it closed in 2011. The brothers opened Tickets and 41degrees in Barcelona while the featured chefs opened Compartir north of Barcelona, with Faran's blessings to continue along the same path, and not too far from the el Bulli original site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars El Bulls**t is more like it...., February 4, 2014
This review is from: El Bulli: Cooking in Progress (DVD)
I was really excited to see this film. I am a foodie and have read about the famous and (fabled) El Bulli and the eccentric owner and chef Ferran Adria. I love the inner working of restaurants and all that jazz.

The first thing I noticed was that the music and the cinematography was off-putting. Very self-conscious, dramatic kind of stuff.... I know it was attempting to be arty, but it came across as annoying, too slow, and frankly, boring. It made me want to fast-forward.

The other thing is, I didn't see any earth-shattering ideas here. Yes, I realize he is the father of modern methods (such as using liquid nitrogen and encapsulating oils and sauces) but now that we have seen all this and more on Food Network - and more excitingly, mind you- it just came off as pretentious and... boring.

My favorite 2 parts are 1) Adria is dining on his Chef's creations-- a course after course affair-- he is gulping the food so fast it seems like he wouldn't be able to taste it! And a customer, I am assuming, passes by him and looks at him, starstruck, and Adria just goes on guzzling, completely ignoring the guy.
and
2) Adria "creates" a cocktail -- off the cuff it seems-- of Oil (yes OIL, as in Olive Oil) and plain water. He orders the waiter to bring it out to his table. The waiter almost seems incredulous, like You want me to serve these people OIL and WATER and pass it off as a cocktail? Hilarious.

My take is, this guy is basically a modern-day snake oil salesman passing off BS like Oil and Water cocktails and inedible stuff like "pine needles" to people who care about appearances and think they are being cool spending God Knows How Much on a meal. Good for them. Me, I'm sticking with food that actually tastes good. And movies that are Good. This one just isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Bulli: Cooking in Progress (DVD)
i just have to say that i'm satisfied with my stuff
it's what i was expecting, definitely cool!
lets enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mecca for foodies, January 9, 2013
By 
Isao Jon Sakata (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Bulli (Amazon Instant Video)
Love having a non-narrated view into both the lab and formerly world's greatest restaurant. To check out the approach, failures, process behind the myth was particularly fun and an education into this now gone pilgrimage site. Highly recommend for all those obsessed with gastronomic adventure, horizons, pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, November 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Bulli (Amazon Instant Video)
They type of drive shown by the El Bulli team is truly inspirational. Ferran Adria is a genius and continues to impress me with his transitions of creativity. Even though the restaurant has been closed I am looking forward to elbulliFoundation to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars El Bulli Cooking in Progress, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Bulli (Amazon Instant Video)
The movie is a great look into the creative process behind the El Bulli kitchen. You don't see as much about the work of the stages like the ones referenced in The sorcerer's apprentice book, but you do get a glimpse into the laboratory as well as how that plays out in the development of recipes in the kitchen.
The movie looks more at the food than the people behind it and Adria, himself seems to have little or nothing to do with the development of the food except offering a critique. One thing that was lacking was the trial and error of all the ideas as they are being formed, the beginning of the movie looks into that a little bit, but then it focuses more on the finished dishes and the operation of the restaurant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into a unique creative process, March 7, 2014
This review is from: El Bulli (Amazon Instant Video)
Fantastic insight into a unique creative process from a legendary chef.
Anyone in any creative field could benefit from watching this and learning from his process
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars kinda boring, January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Bulli: Cooking in Progress (DVD)
was interested in the cooking process, not in their move every 6 months or talking about recipes.
wasn't able to sit through the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

El Bulli: Cooking in Progress
El Bulli: Cooking in Progress by Gereon Wetzel (DVD - 2012)
$29.95 $15.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.