Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scott Adkins makes it fun
Scott Adkins single handedly makes this movie watchable, not that it's a bad movie. His fans look forward to a lot of action, and a little more would have helped "El Gringo." But as it stands, this is a fun fish-out-of-water movie about a cop stuck in a small drug cartel town where no amount of American money can get him a glass of water.
The highlight of the film is...
Published on October 1, 2012 by M. Price

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another "rip-off" movie that is actually not that bad at all. Mel Gibson's was better but this is worth seeing. I say B.
"One man can't make a difference, trust me." After a man (Adkins) grabs a bag full of 2 million dollars and runs to Mexico he thinks he is safe. He stops in the town of El Fronteras where he plans to hide out until he can safely return. After word of his bag gets around he must now do all he can to survive. You may be wondering why this sounds familiar. It's because a...
Published on July 6, 2012 by Tony Heck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scott Adkins makes it fun, October 1, 2012
This review is from: El Gringo (DVD)
Scott Adkins single handedly makes this movie watchable, not that it's a bad movie. His fans look forward to a lot of action, and a little more would have helped "El Gringo." But as it stands, this is a fun fish-out-of-water movie about a cop stuck in a small drug cartel town where no amount of American money can get him a glass of water.
The highlight of the film is a gun fight (about an hour into the movie) where Adkins shows his athletic skills by shooting from every possible angle while jumping, rolling, spinning and falling. I swear, it must last 5 minutes and was pretty darn cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another "rip-off" movie that is actually not that bad at all. Mel Gibson's was better but this is worth seeing. I say B., July 6, 2012
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: El Gringo (Amazon Instant Video)
"One man can't make a difference, trust me." After a man (Adkins) grabs a bag full of 2 million dollars and runs to Mexico he thinks he is safe. He stops in the town of El Fronteras where he plans to hide out until he can safely return. After word of his bag gets around he must now do all he can to survive. You may be wondering why this sounds familiar. It's because a movie called "Get The Gringo" is the same thing. I have always wondered why two movies about the same thing usually come out at the same time. At least movies like "Armageddon" and "Deep Impact" or "Mirror Mirror" and "Snow White and the Huntsman" tried to have different titles. This one is almost the same title even. This had more of a feel of early good Robert Rodriguez movies like "Desperado" in the beginning and slowly started to turn into a bad Rodriguez movie like "Once Upon A Time In Mexico". There really is nothing else to say other then this is a decent movie that I enjoyed, but I liked it better when it was called "Get The Gringo". Overall, not bad but too soon for a remake. I give it a B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DUUUUUUUUUDE!!!!!!, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Gringo (Amazon Instant Video)
Im a big Scott Adkins fan and Christian Slater fan..........and although they are great actors and I feel they can do no wrong, I was leary of purchasing this movie outright since I know I wont watch it a ton. Wish I could have rented it, but I am glad I bought it, but should have bought the actual disc.........although Amazon's cloud will last forever and ever right??? At least through my lifetime hopefully......

Bottom Line......spend the money, outstanding movie, great action, great story, great locations, I'll probably watch it when I get home just because it is THAT GOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not too bad, May 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Gringo (Amazon Instant Video)
pretty good action movie, u cant tell its low budget but its mainly to show off action star scott adkins, which he does a great job. a lil cheesy but still worth the watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars across the b0rder, another reason to bring bottled water, June 9, 2013
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Gringo (DVD)
When stranded in the boonies, there are grave consequences to missing the bus. British martial artist Scott Adkins plays the man with no name who shambles into the sleepy Mexican town of El Fronteras, wounded and parched and carrying a mysterious duffel bag. He's just been thru a rough patch, of which details unfold in a flashback or three.

The first 45 minutes or so made me hope that Eduardo Rodriguez's EL GRINGO may rise above its low-pedigreed, mean-budgeted roots. Adkins submits some nice character work within that span. I love that, in a series of amusing sequences, he (futilely) spends his first moments in El Fronteras just trying to slake his dang thirst. Except that no one has a glass of water to spare. He proceeds to run into a range of colorful characters: the trigger-happy, dog-despising peacekeeper (Erando Gonzalez), the sultry barkeep (Yvette Yate), the teenaged wanna-be hood (Sofía Sisniega) who keeps trying to snatch the gringo's bag. Later on, he even runs into Christian Slater.

El Fronteras is revealed to be inhabited by thugs and hooligans and governed by a corrupt authority. Things kick into brutal high gear when the town's bad elements learn of what's in the gringo's bag, and that's when the film drops its flimsy pretense to "Hey, we're quirky indie cinema!" Not to be confused with GET THE GRINGO, EL GRINGO is very much a hit and miss picture, it's huge chunks of routine storytelling peppered with neat character flourishes and electrifying action beats. I'm down with the stylish spaghetti western vibe it exudes.

Scott Adkins, I think, falls into that category of not quite A-lister, more like a B-movie star. I lump him with second-tier action film stars like Jeff Speakman, Mark Dacascos, and Gary Daniels, awesome martial artists who can boast some acting chops but, for whatever reason, toil in the ass end of Hollywood. That's too bad. I'd rather see guys like Adkins and Speakman featured in summer blockbusters than, say, that Twilight kid or Shia LaBeouf. Those two kids would totally embarass themselves if they were to try for extended action choreography like that showcased in Adkins' wild ten-minute segment in which he runs around the back alleys of El Fronteras and destroys around fifty mean desperados.

The After Dark Films production company seems to be doing better with its action movies than with its series of horror films. Okay, DRAGON EYES (starring Cung Le) doesn't impress. But STASH HOUSE (with Dolph Lundgren) and TRANSIT (Jim Caviezel) are enjoyable in that guilty pleasure, grindhouse kind of way. EL GRINGO is the best of this bunch, and that's with Christian Slater in it, doing Christian Slater-y things.

The bus would've taken the man with no name the heck out of El Fronteras, except he wasn't at the bus stop at 2pm. And so he ends up still stranded and now fighting off the local bravos, that persistent thief, a massive thirst, and maybe Christian Slater. I guess I shouldn't have anything but love for Christian Slater. He's still got massive cachet from past awesomeness like HEATHERS and PUMP UP THE VOLUME, even if they're like specks in that rear view mirror now, it's so long ago. If nothing else, the likes of EL GRINGO should keep Christian Slater working and off the streets. I don't want to see you on the freeway offramp with a "Will act for food" cardboard sign, Christian Slater. Jeff Speakman and Gary Daniels don't need the competition.

3.5 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Scott Adkins is a great actor and should be giving more opportunity too play hard core characters or even action figure men in Hollywood!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scott adkins is best of the best, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Gringo (DVD)
I would watch anything of scott adkins and el gringo was an awesome movie he was great. I love scott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action movie buffs must see, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Gringo (DVD)
Great action flick! As usual Scott Adkins delivers the goods ! He's the next big action movie star ! Nonstop !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not great but not too bad; definitely refreshing to see Adkins having fun with a character that isn't serious-as-cancer, September 29, 2013
This review is from: El Gringo (Amazon Instant Video)
Not good and not too bad, but definitely refreshing to see Adkins clearly having fun with a character that isn't serious-as-cancer like his other roles.

If I was directing Scott Adkins (Undisputed 2 & 3, The Expendables 2, Universal Soldier: Day of Reckoning, Assassination Games) there are two things that I wouldn't want him to do: 1) use guns or 2) try to act. But director Eduardo Rodriguez (the man behind the dare-to-be-great upcoming sequel-remake Fright Night 2) asks Adkins to do a lot of both in this movie. I think Eduardo Rodriguez thinks he's Robert Rodriguez and that Adkins is a young Antonio Banderas--clearly neither come close.

What we get here is a gringo'd-up Desperado with ambitious filmmaking devices, one-liners and humorous scoring with none of the truly awesome--but a good dose of just plain fun. The gun play simply doesn't deliver, the women don't come off strong at all (although the character Anna is clearly meant to be a tough Salma Hayek type), the blood spilling is inconsistent and unimpressive, the stunts largely suck, and Adkins doesn't throw nearly enough kicks. Okay, now I'm an Adkins superfan and I should probably admit that, for me, "enough kicks" would constitute as many kicks as Scott can possibly execute during his screen time with a break every few minutes for an elbow. There were some fights that could have been awesome, but the choppy filming and even choppier editing completely masked all of Adkins' often superhuman skill.

Adkins plays a fish-out-of-water in Mexico with no name (like in Desperado) and a bag with $2 million dollars. Naturally no one likes him because he's a gringo, the local bad guys find out what's in the bag, and Adkins must do everything he can to keep his nameless character alive. That's the story. That's really all that's worth saying. Oh, wait, and Christian Slater is in it. There--that's everything now.

Like in Desperado or The Rundown, Adkins eventually finds himself fighting the whole town. Fight sequences and bad ass maneuvers normally filmed and presented to us on screen in singly cut shots are done in 3-10, during some fights I felt like I was seeing 30 cuts in the time I could blink 30 times. It really makes it hard to appreciate the action. Some techniques (like super fancy kick-disarms resulting with the gun in Adkins' hands) were done in slow-motion and just a few cuts, which felt more appropriate and enjoyable.

For all the things that were awful about this movie, it really could've been great. All it would have taken was a better director (not necessarily more expensive--just better at this kind of movie), a few well-trained stunt men for the fights and a stronger female costar. The harder our director tried, the laughably worse things became. For example, there's a fight against a big really tough, otherwise normal looking guy, and Adkins is getting his butt kicked. When he discovers his foe's "weakness" is obsessively keeping his hat clean and on his head, he swiftly defeats him by exploiting this nervous tick. DUMB!

Even as a Scott Adkins superfan or an action movie buff (who isn't concerned with budget) I'd recommend skipping this unless you are, too. Adkins has his moments when he tries and to be Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson-- often falling understandably short (not everyone can be The Rock)--but all the things you normally love about Adkins like his acrobatics, fast martial arts choreography and jump-double-spin kicks have been turned down from an "11" to damn near mute. However, some positive points can be found in the humor, like when Anna hoists her cleavage in Adkins' face while she dresses his wounds using her bra and panties as tourniquets. Adkins clearly had a lot of fun with this role...even when he didn't have boobs in his face.

I guess it's nice that we got to see Adkins fun action star personality a bit. His roles are normally dead serious and cold as ice. I just wish we had a better director to preserve his other action star-centric talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: El Gringo (Amazon Instant Video)
i didnt know anything about this movie other than MANOWAR did the title song for it. it is a very good movie with a great plot and great cast.anyone who want to see a very interesting movie WATCH THIS MOVIE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

El Gringo
El Gringo by Eduardo Rodriguez
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.