Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 23, 2007
I came across Pitbull's 2004 album M.I.A.M.I. by accident because I was really looking for something else, but I listened to it and I was impressed. But his latest album, El Mariel, is even better.

Keep in mind, though; despite the reggaeton movement that has taken place over the past two years or so, Pitbull is simply a "standard" rap artist that has some Latin-inspired beats (so if you think this is a bad reggaeton album, check yo'self). But there are plenty of highlights, like "Jealouso", "Rock Bottom" and "Come See Me". Even the song with Wyclef ("Jungle Fever") works.

Pit also does a good job when he gets introspective on us. "Miami Ish" successfully incorporates serious subject matter into a party song (something that is not easy to do), but tracks like "Raindrops" and "Blood Is Thicker Than Water" puts the partying aside and gives way to some eye-opening lyricism. There are also good tributes to where he was raised, like "Born N Raised" (which goes without saying) and the aforementioned "Miami Ish".

When Pit shoots for shake-that-a** songs, though, he hits ("Bojangles") and misses ("Ay Chico"). And I definitely wouldn't lose sleep if "Fuego" or especially "Hey You Girl" weren't on here. But three mistakes out of twenty-one are no cause for alarm, so do yourself a favor and take a trip to El Mariel.

Anthony Rupert
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2007
I loved this cd. Its classic Pitbull music, yet he shows lots of growth as an artist on this album. He stepped up his rhyme skills alot since his last cd. He has better beats here and he expanded the content of his songs. Don't worry, there is still classic Pitbull on the album. He still: reps Miami and his Cuban heritage to the fullest, maintains his gangsta persona, and shows the ladies lots of love. Overall, this is a must have for any Pitbull or rap fan in general. Hot Tracks: Que Tu Sabes D'Eso, Rock Bottom, Raindrops
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2006
I'm not a big fan of crunk music but Pitbull has a chemistry here.A lil crunk,a lik reggaton,a lil salsa/merengue club mix.He definately has a hit on his sophomore release.My favorite is jealouso,all you can is get up and jam on that one...with a lil help from Pharell and company,this is a must have to any Pitbull fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2006
Pit really is one of the more under-rated rappers out there today. He's flow is amazing, his voice is one of the most distinct to come out in a while, and his music is a great blend of hip-hop, crunk, miami bass, latin all rolled into one concoxtion. Sure people might whine that this album's all party and not enough political but I get sick of people always complaining that artist's are a one-trick-pony. Either all they do are serious songs and get critizied to lighten up, or they do party songs and get ciritcized to get serious. A lot of music fans are too stuck up, if artists like party songs, that's fine, if they like all serios ones, that's fine too. If you don't like it, don't listen to it.

This album has very high energy levels oozing out of it from track to track. Pit has a lot of play between his english and spanish lyrics which add something unique to his sound. Ay Chico is a great, fun song but really the whole album keeps it rocking. The only weak link here is a chopped and screwed track that sounds like it belongs on a mixtape, not a polished, produced album. Overall, it's great fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2006
He's the only true hip hop star to appeal to both black and latino hip hop audiences. The CD underlying message is we are all in the same struggle being minorities in this "great" country of equality. He doesn't need to come out and say this directly, he knows he is going to get spins and records sold with club hits, but it is NOT entirely a club CD. Just listen to the floetry on intro and outro tracks, he addresses the death of his father and friend, and also has one of the better spanish rap love songs perhaps every produced with Latin star Ken Y. Of course he is going to make club songs, it's not like many other southern rappers got anything else to say. Their whole crunk/southern rap is either how hard they are or how crunk they can get, atleast Pitbull mixes it all into one + more. Great CD, not the best but great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2007
I truly believe this has to be one of Pitbull's greatest album, if not the best one. His songs range from so many different genres, such as the old school feel to "Fuego" or "Hey, You Girl", or the slow jam "Dime". There are also some really good 'hype' songs, such as "Ay Chico" and "Be Quiet". All in all, I recommend this album to anyone who is a fan of hip-hop, rap, or Pitbull.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2006
This isn't a reggaeton album, Pitbull has NEVER been a reggaeton artist, so I have no idea why people expect this to be reggaeton. The production on this album is the best I've heard out of any hip hop album in a while. There are a LOT of party tracks, but overall they're tight. 5/5 best album too come out in a year
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2013
I like how he keeps his music fresh and used some old school music to mix it up a bit
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2006
Man this album is hot from beginning to end, its got great beats and amazing hooks. Pitbull killed it on this one.

Peace!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2006
I'm a hip-hop dancer, and I have 2 words for this album: F*cking Sexy. Owwwwwww!!!! (Jealouso's one of my faves)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.