Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great singers and wonderful songs!
I really love this album, Elaine Paige still has an amazing voice and her well chosen duet partners help make it even better. Wonderful and varied song choices, I especially like Closest Thing To Crazy and Amoreuse. The only new song, It's Only Life, which EP does with Sinead O'Connor is also stunning. Beautifully dark and dramatic!

Think this would be the...
Published on November 10, 2010 by Mirald

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Elaine, Say It Ain't So!
Man, talk about lunch bag letdown.... I've been a Paige fan for three decades now and have had the good fortune of seeing her live in concert once and in five different musicals. After enduring a tiresome run of greatest hits compilations, I heard there was a new album coming. Imagine my disappointment in finding that one of the best voices in music has been saddled...
Published on November 30, 2010 by NYC critic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Elaine, Say It Ain't So!, November 30, 2010
By 
NYC critic "Mac" (NEW YORK, NEW YORK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
Man, talk about lunch bag letdown.... I've been a Paige fan for three decades now and have had the good fortune of seeing her live in concert once and in five different musicals. After enduring a tiresome run of greatest hits compilations, I heard there was a new album coming. Imagine my disappointment in finding that one of the best voices in music has been saddled with corny and trite songs and many past-their-relevance singers. Pairing Elaine with Mathis, Anka, Warwick, Secada, and Ocean is like the sonic version of a "star-studded" Love Boat episode. It's oxymoronic. Does anybody ever need to hear some of these schmaltzy ballads again? ("Just the Way You Are," "Thank You for Being a Friend," "Make It With You," "The Prayer" (with Manilow, no less) and "All the Way," I'm looking at you!) Please, songsmiths of the world unite and write an exceptional album for this talented woman--one with vitality and originality. This is one Elaine Paige album that won't be added to my collection, and that's a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great singers and wonderful songs!, November 10, 2010
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
I really love this album, Elaine Paige still has an amazing voice and her well chosen duet partners help make it even better. Wonderful and varied song choices, I especially like Closest Thing To Crazy and Amoreuse. The only new song, It's Only Life, which EP does with Sinead O'Connor is also stunning. Beautifully dark and dramatic!

Think this would be the perfect Christmas gift for anyone who enjoys listening to great singers and equally great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and necessary addition, November 9, 2010
By 
Erica (Baltimore, MD, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
I highly recommend this album for any music lover. It encompasses haunting ballads such as the new song "It's Only Life" with Sinead O'Connor and "Amoureuse" with Olivia Newton-John as well as lighter tunes such as "Just the Way You Are" with Paul Anka and "It Might Be You" with Johnny Mathis. Beautiful and enjoyable to sing along with or play in the background. You will be very glad you added it to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Even So-So, March 6, 2011
By 
SoCalGal (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
This album was probably not worth the wait. I'm flummoxed just wondering who chose these songs and then who chose the singers for the duets. It's baffling to say the least. The whole product is so trite and so unimpressive. Would Streisand EVER come out with an album like this? Would Streisand EVER have such puny arrangements? And sorry to say this but here and there EP couldn't hit the notes in the lower range. I can't imagine this was the album EP was thinking about when she decided to do duets. Better luck next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elaine Paige and Friends, August 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elaine Paige & Friends (Audio CD)
Beautiful singer and nice to find the perfect gift for my sister. She had mentioned this singer as her favorite. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Compilation, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
What is not to love about Elaine Paige? Listen and listen again to this CD! A recording for the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elaine Paige and Friends, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
Elaine Paige is my favorite popular singer. I would rather hear her sing alone. If you like Elaine Paige and all the famous popular singers she sings with, you will like this. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elaine and friends, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
I loved the song selection and noone can sing like Elaine. This is a fabulous CD that people of all ages will enjoy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Story Behind the CD, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
I was particularly looking forward to this CD as Elaine described the process of selecting her duet partners. These are singers that I also listened to when I was young. Unfortunately, voices change and don't quite have the fine quality that they had decades ago. Still a good idea and I am sure the participants had a great deal of joy in recording these tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The phenomenal Elaine Paige!, December 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elaine Paige and Friends (Audio CD)
I've enjoyed Elaine Paige's talent as an actress and as a singer for years...and this new CD is the BEST! She teams-up with some of the best singers of this generation & they make beautiful music together. Don't miss this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elaine Paige and Friends
Elaine Paige and Friends by Elaine Paige (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.