Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, but too hard to find what you need
This book has all kind of information - almost everything you ever wanted to know about Oblivion. First, the walkthroughs and discussion about character creation are very valuable and in-depth. There's information on every quest line, every major area, maps of everything - everything you need is in here...

However, what it lacks is a more comprehensive index...
Published on February 16, 2007 by Tim Curtin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its good just not great
The book is not as indepth as I'm used to and the index is not good. But it gives general explanations of the quest.
Published on August 13, 2012 by misha


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, but too hard to find what you need, February 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has all kind of information - almost everything you ever wanted to know about Oblivion. First, the walkthroughs and discussion about character creation are very valuable and in-depth. There's information on every quest line, every major area, maps of everything - everything you need is in here...

However, what it lacks is a more comprehensive index. Say you're in the middle of a quest, you run across an obscure plant you've never seen, and want to know what to do with it? No index entry. How about a person in town who's important to a quest, but you're not sure which one? No index. You pick up an object and it says its a quest item, for a quest you don't have. Want to find out which quest it is? Too bad, unless you want to read through them all.

Basically, its nice to have the maps and such to refer to, but without better ways to find the info in this book, its not anywhere near the useful tool it could be.

Final prognosis - if you're really interested in getting walkthroughs for all the quests, etc, buy this book. If you want to be able to get at specific info, google is a better friend to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource!, March 8, 2007
The guide puts a lot of the difficult decisions into convenient grids so you can make the optimal choices. I have been able to find every quest that I have had questions about and the guide tells you alternative paths so you don't have to save and reload just to figure them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion to the Game., May 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This game guide is a great extra if you own the Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion game. I have it for the PS3, but it covers all systems. It has great tips and walk throughs for the entire game. Especially helpful on those areas that you might get caught up on, or if you're just looking for some additional information on areas that you think you might be missing things in. It has very detailed explanations, very easily followed as well as some good screen shots to go along with it. One of the better game guides I've purchased, I Highly recommend getting it if you own the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying even if you don't own the game, August 13, 2007
The guide is well put together, I borrowed a friends and I had to have my own. If your indecisive on whether or not to get the game after reading this guide and seeing how large and in depth the world of Oblivion is the decision should not be a hard one.....Get the game, get the book in any order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, October 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For a printed guide for such an in depth game, this book is well worth the money. If you don't have the internet or even if you do, this book is a must have for people that have the game. The internet is a great place to find some of the same information, but sometimes I find myself looking in the book for stuff I cannot find online. Both are great resources for for the game. I recommend buying this book if you own the game. Must have for Oblivion fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well-done, but a waste of money, April 8, 2007
i know my title and rating may not seem to fit, but allow me to explain:

normally i do not advocate the use of strategy guides for games, but with Oblivion, you need it. the guide is excellent. it does a good job of covering all of the aspects of the game, everything from the quests to maps to freeform quests to character creation. basically everything you'd ever need. BUT...

there are online resources that are equal to this that are free (like the unofficial elder scrolls wiki, which is incredible). so, if you're going to be near a computer, that is a better idea. but if you're not able to play the game near a computer, this guide is helpful. i recommend saving the money and getting shivering isles, but if you have the money you might as well get this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Get for Oblivion Owners, July 11, 2007
By 
This is a great guide. It has info on all the quests in the game. Tons of maps and info on character creation. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oblivion game book, March 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book for my husband and he uses it all the time and says that it has helped him alot with the game. He said he would not be able to get through some of the challenges. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Questionable Quality, but Otherwise Complete, May 6, 2008
Ah the World of Oblivion.

Quite simply one of the most amazing games ever made, in my humble opinion.

The game guide - well, it could be better...

I had to return the first book - a series of pages were crimped and terribly misprinted. I would have returned the second copy but the retailer did not have another. The text in many of the sidebar sections of the pages are horribly blurred - in some sections completely unintelligible - sections that of course pertain to the main storyline of the game.

Aside from poor printing issues, the book contains an unbelievable amount of information. The book is huge! Especially helpful is an index, which allows you to quickly get help on some of the more obscure topics of Oblivion, such as the magical soul gems, buying houses, and owning horses.

What I especially enjoyed about this book was how it gave you a little "behind the scenes" insight into the story, the characters, and the expansive land that is Cyrodiil. On occassions when I'd get a little trigger happy and skip some dialogue, I could usually go back to the book to pick up the part of story that I missed.

Don't buy a shrink-wrapped copy. Leaf through it to make sure it's legible, then sit down and prepare to use a lot of spare time. Also, be sure to flip through the non-quest information towards the back of the book - there's some pretty neat stuff documented that without this book, most players probably wouldn't even know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, Great help to gaming, January 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book for my son's birthday. I was a little concerned about giving him something that was not new, however I was extremely happy with the condition of the item. I don't think he even would have known it wasn't new had I not told him! He uses the guide whenever he runs into "trouble" in the game, and reminds me often how much time it has saved him. He is very grateful he has it each time he plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.