Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Revised & Expanded: Prima Official Game Guide
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 30, 2012
This is one of the best strategy guide that I have ever seen. There is a lot of content for the price, and that content is highly detailed and beautifully made. The only problems that I have with this product is that it was improperly packaged and it arrived with the corners bent on the first few pages; the map of skyrim that is included was difficult to tear out without tearing the map itself; also, it should be noted that this version of the guide does not include the Dragonborn add on, only Dawngaurd and Hearthfire, so it might be worth waiting to see if they come out with another revised copy which includes Dragonborn. Other than that, this strategy guide is absolutely perfect. There is an overwhelming amount of content, and it is organized in a clear and simple format. Skyrim is one of the few games that are worth buying a strategy guide for because of its immense, complex, and sophisticated gameplay. This guide will definitely help you on just about any subject in the game. 5 STARS!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
This a grea guide book. It's not a book full of cheats or offers answers on how to get past certain boss battles. If you get stuck, use the internet. Where this book really shines is in its ability to keep you on track or explain maybe some of the quests where your quest log is not really clear. In my case, I had a situation where I was sent on a quest to kill someone for the Dark Brotherhood. I told my companion to wait outside while I did the deed. However, I got distracted and left and went onto another quest. The problem is that once I noticed my companion was missing, I couldn't remember which town the contract had been in (it was night and I had fast travelled there so little to go on). I was able to look up the quest, and then go back to that town and find the waiting companion. The only area that I could say the book is lacking in is organization. Quests are not listed by name in the index in most cases, but are all in the table of contents. The problem is that there are so many, it can be difficult to find them. Also, the book is split between quests and game info and the atlas of locations. You have to go back and forth sometimes to follow a dungeon map compared to info on a quest if needed. However, overall, this is the best guide I have ever used for a game.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
You never know with Prima Guides - some are maybe ten pages of information spread over 250 sheets of paper, but not this one. This guide has everything you could possibly need to experience every singly nook and cranny of ES V. 864 pages, indexed, with detailed explanations of everything, maps, screenshots, checklists, comprehensive tables.
If Skyrim is your first Elder Scrolls game you need this book. If, like me, you've been playing since Arena you can relax knowing you are going to experience 100% of Skyrim.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
Is this a dictionary? This thing is huge and crazy informative. Must buy for Skyrim.

Wait, I haven't even played the guy yet, but Ive gone through this guide and its amazing and what a guide should be. Cant wait to finally play Skyrim.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 7, 2016
Great reference for the game, but limited if you buy it used without the poster, so be careful if you're buying it used. Even so, if you get stuck on just one or two difficult spots, the book is worth the investment in the time you would spend trying to get past the spot on your own or researching the problem on the internet. Much easier and faster having everything in one place. Also, print is almost microscopic, so if you have any significant eye issues you'll need glasses and/or a magnifying glass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
This is like the Bible of RPG Skyrim guides. While it may not have anyinfo on the Recent DLC "Dragonborn" I can tell you that this is STILL a must have for any skyrim fan who wishes to have a little help (or a lot) with your game. All secrets are revealed, and quite literally no stone is left un-turned.

Complete walkthrough's of EVERY Mainquest and Sidequest, details on EVERY battle big and Small. Guides to every encounter, this book covers it all. On top of that, it provides hints and tips on alternate ways to complete quests, and even provides for beginners, base character builds for each of the races based on their inherent racial skill set. (It will also encourage other types of roleplaying builds!!!)

I highly recommend this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
This is one of the best strategy guide that I have ever seen. There is a lot of content for the price, and that content is highly detailed and beautifully made. The only problems that I have with this product is that it was improperly packaged and it arrived with the corners bent on the first few pages; the map of skyrim that is included was difficult to tear out without tearing the map itself; also, it should be noted that this version of the guide does not include the Dragonborn add on, only Dawngaurd and Hearthfire, so it might be worth waiting to see if they come out with another revised copy which includes Dragonborn. Other than that, this strategy guide is absolutely perfect. There is an overwhelming amount of content, and it is organized in a clear and simple format. Skyrim is one of the few games that are worth buying a strategy guide for because of its immense, complex, and sophisticated gameplay. This guide will definitely help you on just about any subject in the game. 5 STARS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2012
I am a huge fan of strategy guides. My guide books are a collection unto themselves. My only regret is that this did not come in a hardcover edition. I would love to see guidebooks released pre-tabbed. I end up with yellow stickies all over mine but I guess that's half the fun!
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
Thank God that they make these game guides, there are simply somethings that you either don't want to figure out on you own or have trouble figuring out on your own. This guide pretty much spells everything out for you so do be aware before delving to deeply, but it also can really get you out of jam when you get into one and helps you avoid some nasty pitfalls of the game or plan ahead for good overall character developement. With so much going on in the new edtion of Elder Scolls this guide will help you get through every quest your heart desires and it's fairly well organized to find what you need with alphabet index in the back and a complete list of the main and most side quests in the front plus a huge pull out world map that you can use to find every location or see the world's destination at a glance. Really worth it if you want to find every destination and finish every quest available in the game. You really won't miss much and can help know other ways to play through the game. One of the better game guides I've used for an RPG.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
This book is not for the faint of heart! It's totally overpacked with information, but no walkthroughs... and it tips the scales at 1825 grams!... or almost 4 pounds! At 864 pages it is by far the thickest game guide I have ever purchased... almost 3 times thicker than the guide I bought for Metal Gear Solid 4, yet with all this paper they use a smaller than average font in the printed material... probably 8 or 10 point font. I need a page magnifyer! This is an enormous game real estate wise. I would rate the organization of material at around 6.5 out of 10. Yet, IMHO this is still good reference material... and I would recommend this book to anyone who has the Skyrim game.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse