Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonus Features, Price Make This an Enticing Offer
It's been almost forty years since Jimi Hendrix's untimely death. As part of a reissue program, Experience Hendrix has reissued deluxe editions of his classic studio albums. For this longtime fan, ELECTRIC LADYLAND from 1968 is the ultimate Hendrix album. It's the album where he most fully untilized the studio to create his most enduring album.

There's not...
Published on March 13, 2010 by Steve Vrana

versus
74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 4th time this Album has ben re-mastered.....is it necessary? (review on remastering only)
First off, "Electic ladyland" was remastered for a 3rd time in 1997 and by the Estate of Jimi Hendrix, the brought in no other than the iconic Eddie Kramer (who was the original engineer and produced much of Jimi's original recordings)plus they said on the 1997 remasters to have used the original mix-down tracks, I mean why 13 years later do we all a sudden need a new...
Published on March 31, 2010 by </><


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonus Features, Price Make This an Enticing Offer, March 13, 2010
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
It's been almost forty years since Jimi Hendrix's untimely death. As part of a reissue program, Experience Hendrix has reissued deluxe editions of his classic studio albums. For this longtime fan, ELECTRIC LADYLAND from 1968 is the ultimate Hendrix album. It's the album where he most fully untilized the studio to create his most enduring album.

There's not much to add to everything that's been written about this album, so I'll limit my comments to what's new with this 2010 edition:

The CD: The sticker on the shrink wrap says "Digitally Remastered," but I'm not sure there is a difference between this and my 1997 reissue. I'm not saying the sound isn't great; I'm just saying I don't notice a difference. [Note: my guess is they are simply playing fast and loose with the wording. After all, it IS digitally remastered; it's just not NEWLY remastered.Both releases were remastered by Eddie Kramer and George Marino.] This reissue contains all 16 original tracks--no bonus material. Running time - 75:27

The Booklet: Thirty-six pages. Lot's of great photos, including an alternate image (which Jimi hated!)from the UK cover photo session. An essay by Derek Taylor. Six pages of Jimi's original handwritten notes for the album. [Everything from the 1997 reissue is included in this booklet with additional photos and some minimal changes in the original layout.]

The DVD: There are no complete songs. A very limited amount of concert footage and nothing filmed during the actual sessions. Mostly on camera interview with original sound engineer Eddie Kramer playing snippets of tracks from the album. Also includes on camera interviews with Chas Chandler, Mitch Mitchell and Noel Redding. At no time during the video does Jimi talk about the album. Overall, an interesting video, but won't bear repeated viewings. The inclusion of this short DVD is the major difference between this and the 1997 reissue. [The 2010 reissue also has a triple gatefold sleeve.] Running time - 12:15

If the bonus features aren't enough to sway you to pick up this new edition, the price makes it hard not to. However, if you already own the 1997 edition, ten bucks is a bit pricey for a 12-minute DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 4th time this Album has ben re-mastered.....is it necessary? (review on remastering only), March 31, 2010
By 
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
First off, "Electic ladyland" was remastered for a 3rd time in 1997 and by the Estate of Jimi Hendrix, the brought in no other than the iconic Eddie Kramer (who was the original engineer and produced much of Jimi's original recordings)plus they said on the 1997 remasters to have used the original mix-down tracks, I mean why 13 years later do we all a sudden need a new re-master? Jimi has been "remastered" now so many times its a joke! The catalog first came out on CD in 1990 on reprise records and they sounded like shiet! Then they were very quickly re-mastered, actually within just months of their intitial release, they were deemed so horrible that they were quickly remastered and resold with just a small sticker on the box (they had CD's in long narrow boxes then) the sticker just said "remaster". This wasnt a true remaster but a quicky job using some system called "sonic solutions", a way to remove static and such from the songs, but thats about it, but still big improvment. Also to be noted, Electric ladyland was originally released as a 2 CD set, the remaster changes it to 1 CD. Then in 1993 when Alan Douglas moved to the MCA label, they were agian re-mastered and given new CD covers (dumb idea) they all looked liked the "Voodoo Soup" ill fated CD cover. Those were true remasters and said to use the original mater tapes. Then in 1997 Al and Janie Hendrix wins there lawsuit over Alan Douglass and all the CD's were once again remastered, just 2 stupid years later! The gimmick this time was they went back to the original mix down tracks and remastered from those plus as well as brought back the original artwork. Then now they move to sony/legacy and what do they do.....??? REMASTER the songs......get real!
Then after all that is said....
++ PLUS I can say this: VOODOO CHILD (Slight return) is STILL NOT remastered correctly!
I have this on the original Reprise records vinyl. Voodoo Child starts out with a "hum" or "buzz" in the background, prob from Jimi's amp and it starts out in the left speaker and comes into both speakers within 4 seconds, the buzz tho is heard until the song kicks in after the intro.
The song does NOT fade at all but sounds more like the tape running out. Now this song even had 1 more remaster (if you can believe that!) In 1985 reprise released "Kiss the Sky" a greatest hits and was the very first album to have remastered Jimi songs on it and I first noticed this botch back then, infact the song fades out early and is a few seconds shorter than the original mix put out in 1968. Let me hear it the way Jimi approved it in 1968 with all it's inperfections.
Im just sick of record companies making a huge splash over remastering, you listen to this and listen to the 1997 remaster......the diff is well......you cant tell. many have said these are the same 1997 remasters bogusily being resold as new, whereas some say they are new....whatever the case, its not justifying buying the new cd.....or with the crumy DVD promo film you get with it. Why didnt they throw in the 70 min DVD of the making of Electric ladyland? Na, they want you to buy that as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have - except if you already have it, March 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
The album was a masterpiece when it was released, and remains so. There are some passages of 60's-era experimental, drug-suffused one-upsmanship, lending an occasionally dated quality. For the most part, though, the carefully crafted, inventive character of the album remains timeless. Especially at ~$9, this is a must-have for those who lack this album in their collection. (Stevie Ray Vaughan fans will appreciate the shared sensibilities and vision of these two virtuoso guitarists, each having left us far too soon.)

The CD is clearly a remaster of the original recording, and may be a partial remix as well. The equalization, dynamics, and stereo separation is generally more appealing to the contemporary (i.e., digital-era) ear, though the latter seems to be even more exaggerated than the original (to my recollection). Many of the shortcomings and idiosyncrasies of analog multitracking of that time are quite apparent. What would now be regarded as poor production values underscores the creativity required decades ago to produce such rich, multi-layered compositions with limited technical means. Even though the remaster is strikingly different, I like that the integrity of the recordings was largely maintained - e.g., the amplifier hum behind the lead vocals. Breathing of the noise floor due to compression is occasionally distracting, but it is largely a successful balance between preservation and enhancement.

I already had a remaster dating from the late 1990's - haven't had a chance to do a A/B comparison, but I'm not convinced that this release (if it is different at all) warrants getting another copy, if you already have the earlier remaster. I bought it because of the accompanying DVD mini documentary. Clocking in at around 12 minutes, the emphasis should be squarely on the "mini" part. The interview with Eddie Kramer is somewhat interesting, but the DVD was mostly disappointing, both for its brevity and lack of development. Those looking for footage of Hendrix himself will find only a few seconds of concert snips. Even lacking that, there is little narrative flow or depth to the story. A half-a**ed effort.

I highly recommend this to those who don't have the album, and recommend it to those who only have the original CD (or LP). If you're looking for significant value added over the earlier remaster, especially from the DVD, I wouldn't bother, unless you are obsessed with anything Hendrix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Solid Remastering and Fun DVD, September 17, 2010
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
I can't even recall the number of copies of this album that I have worn out. If you've never heard Electric Ladyland - don't wait act now. I've read a few skeptics that have debated whether the 2010 releases have been remastered. They have been. If you do a direct comparison you'll find that the 1997 remasters focus on the punch of the midrange and drove the highs and lows beyond the limits of most standard equipment clipping the sound. These new remasters are a little quieter but allow for the full dynamic range that this album offers. The bass tones resonate and have a stronger presence than other CD versions. The top range is crisp without being too bright and the mid range has force without overwhelming. This is as close as a digital copy has come to my '68 vinyl version. Is it remastered, yes. For the average listener, the difference is subtle and may not be seeking out, but for the dedicated - this is some hot stuff. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They really blew it, March 16, 2010
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
Three opportunities that were missed when issuing these 2010 remasters:

1) Newly remastering the catalog with the latest technology.

2) Including bonus material: demos, alternate mixes and unreleased live versions of the studio cuts on a second disc (or at the end of a single disc).

3) Offering a high-resolution dvd audio version of the album as the second disc instead of a dvd you'll probably only watch once.

The only bonus we get is a very short video where Eddie Kramer skims over alternate mixes of the studio cuts, assuring us that they are fascinating - too bad we don't get to hear them as bonus cuts. Its a shame, because as a designer, I am very pleased with the amount of work that went into the packaging for these releases - the photos, writing and graphics are all very thoughtfully done.

Sony and his estate had the opportunity to break the vicious cycle of making a quick buck off of Hendrix's name. If they had only gone the extra mile, we could have gotten something really special and Jimi's legacy deserves nothing less. They really blew it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Compressed, December 10, 2010
By 
Allan K. Betz (Ogden, Utah, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
Eddie kramer can't keep his hands off of the compressor. heaven forbid that we have any space or dynamic range in the music of Jimi Hendrix. it's smashed up in your face like modern rock but it's not as bad as the 1997 remasters and the sound is crisp and clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Album But..., June 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
I am in the amen corner of those who question the need for yet another remaster of the timeless Electric Ladyland. Does it really sound BETTER than the MCA remaster of several years ago? The answer is no. Then you ask, what do you get if you already own the MCA release that justifies forking out another ten dollars? The answer is not much. You get a DVD that you will watch once, maybe twice and you get a meaty booklet that differs only slightly from the one that came in the MCA package. Oh, the MCA release was packaged in a jewel box and this one comes in a six-panel digipak. BFD!
Anyway, I succumbed to the temptation to buy this and the two previous Jimi Hendrix albums in this format because of the price and in the case of the first one, the extras. But you get no extras here. So in a way, I poured a little money down the drain, but all things considered I will keep both this and the MCA package.
As for the music, anyone even looking at this CD/DVD set already knows how great most of it is so there is no need to add to what's been said so many times already. If there are any weak spots in this CD, I would have to choose the jivey Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland) and Little Miss Strange. Other than that, Hendrix and Co. are playing at their peak!
So, if you do not have the MCA remaster already, then I recommend this. If you do, then you alone have to decide whether or not you really need the DVD and a few different pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars remastered -- not that big a deal, April 10, 2010
By 
cincinnatislim (Cincinnati, Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
Always fun to see if there's much new in a remastered record. I love this album -- it's the best of Jimi's releases (IMO). The DVD is short and doesn't really tell much. I can't say the remastered copy is much different than the other CD I have. Great record, not so great repackaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a shame, March 16, 2010
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
What a shame indeed. Jimi Hendrix has left a legacy that will continue for centuries. It's a shame that the people in charge of his legacy feel it appropriate to keep pumping out the same repackaged album time and time again. The CD is the same as Jimi released originally. Remastered, yes. But they've already released the remastered version years ago...which most people probably already own. And it also begs the question...do we need remastered versions of legendary albums. Often, the original mix sounds better.
The DVD is atrocious. It's merely a gimmick to get people to buy the album again in hopes of seeing some footage of Jimi. Don't bother. Another half a**ed attempt at the Hendrix family to capitalize on Jimi's legacy.
To clarify, this is a 10 star album! This is a monumental album, probably one of the best ever recorded. The one star rating is for the poor taste of repackaging an album with a worthless DVD.
I guess if you don't already own Jimi's albums, there's nothing wrong with buying this. But, if you already own Electric Ladyland, don't waste your time or money thinking you're getting something you don't already have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be better..., May 19, 2010
By 
This review is from: Electric Ladyland CD/DVD (Audio CD)
"Electric Ladyland" have been a classic for over 40 years, so i'm not going to review the album, but this Deluxe Edition. I'm giving the same review to all these Hendrix "New" Remasters.

The remastered sound is really an improvement if you only listened to the first pressings of it on CD. But, if you already have the '97 remasters, it's just the same thing.

I'm givin' it 4 stars because of the dvd. It's so short, that i really wonder why not to put a CD of demos or live recordings from the era? It would be so better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Electric Ladyland CD/DVD
Electric Ladyland CD/DVD by Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.