Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic T. Rex Album Gets Even Better
This is my favorite album of 1971 and one of my all-time favorite albums--period. So I'm not ashamed to say that this marks the fourth time I've bought ELECTRIC WARRIOR. The first time, of course, was on vinyl when it was first released. I then upgraded to CD in the nineties. Then I bought A&M's 30th anniversary edition, but it's Rhino's re-release that got...
Published on June 6, 2003 by Steve Vrana

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misguided effort
If you collect T. Rex CD's you're probably as frustrated as me with this particular album. A few years ago EDSEL records in the UK released pretty much everything in the vaults on CD from 1972-1977 and did a remarkable job artwork and sound quality wise. Every album was re-mastered with expanded original artwork and bonus tracks (mostly rare B-Sides). The problem is,...
Published on October 1, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic T. Rex Album Gets Even Better, June 6, 2003
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
This is my favorite album of 1971 and one of my all-time favorite albums--period. So I'm not ashamed to say that this marks the fourth time I've bought ELECTRIC WARRIOR. The first time, of course, was on vinyl when it was first released. I then upgraded to CD in the nineties. Then I bought A&M's 30th anniversary edition, but it's Rhino's re-release that got everything right.
You get remastered versions of the eleven songs on the original album, plus a number of extras: All of the non-album UK/US singles and B-sides that were released in 1971, a previously unissued acoustic version of "Planet Queen," a nearly 20-minute interview with Marc Bolan, the cardboard digi-pak maintains the look of the original release (lyrics of all songs--including the bonus tracks, a 9 x 14 poster, the drawings on the album sleeve, even the original Reprise logo on the CD).
All in all, this is the definitive version of a classic album. If you haven't upgraded to CD yet, this is the one you've been waiting for. ESSENTIAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Really Is Just Three Chords, June 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
Time has been kind to Marc Bolan. No rocket scientist, Marc always just assumed his boppy elfin schtick set to the simplest of boogie beats would be accepted by one and all as the works of a genius. Initially adored mainly by 12 year old girls in England, his music has grown in stature over the years as tastes changed leaving him high and dry as the sole purveyer of a perculiar (in all senses of the word) style of rock that has over time proved remarkably difficult to reproduce. Electric Warrior is to Bolan what Ziggy Stardust was to Bowie (his friend at the time). Electric Warrior cuts loose from Bolans previous hippie ramblings, best realised on "Beard of Stars", and powered by superb production, and the judicious use of real musicians, the album boogies its three chord wonders into an entirely new domain that retains its unique charms to this day. Not deep, not complex, not even all that sensible, Electric Warrior nevertheless works and provides a telling reminder that 'pop' music is a rush that dosn't have to make sense it just has to make you feel good. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misguided effort, October 1, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
If you collect T. Rex CD's you're probably as frustrated as me with this particular album. A few years ago EDSEL records in the UK released pretty much everything in the vaults on CD from 1972-1977 and did a remarkable job artwork and sound quality wise. Every album was re-mastered with expanded original artwork and bonus tracks (mostly rare B-Sides). The problem is, everything before 1972 (including 1971's ELECTRIC WARRIOR) is being released by A&M, who seem to be working on a budget or something because we don't get the original artwork (aside from the front covers), bonus tracks or even lyrics. When I heard they were putting out ELECTRIC WARRIOR as a 30th anniversary edition with bonus tracks I immediately ordered one sight unseen hoping they would rectify past mistakes. All I can say is I'm bitterly disappointed. Where are the lyrics? Where's the gatefold photo of Marc from the LP? Why do we get Visconti's private pictures of freakin' Flo & Eddie in the studio instead? Aside from all that, the tracks don't even sound good. Mambo Sun even has a complete DROP OUT at one point. Was Tony taking a leak while remastering that one? Oh yeah, and if you were hoping for HOT LOVE or RAW RAMP as a bonus track, we are instead treated to studio outtakes. Interesting, but do we need to hear every bad take of each song? It really spoils the album as a whole for me. If you want a decent copy of this album on CD look for the REPRISE version that's been out for years or the elusive Japanese version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric Warrrior- Finally remastered the right way!!!, February 25, 2003
By 
Thomas Muckinhaupt (Erie, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
Marc Bolan was on the verge of superstardom worldwide, and Electric Warrior almost made it big here, but was never able to obtain the American success he wanted. Sure, Bang a Gong was great, but there are so many more treasures in the T.Rex catalog. I still believe that Warner Bros.didn't release the right choices for singles, but that's just my opinion. The sound quality of this reissue surpasses the import remaster on A&M last year. And this time, the wonderful "Mambo Sun" is not shortened annoyingly like the reissue. The bonus material are all classics and the packaging is superb, also much better than the import version. Included is the cool inner picture of Marc sitting in the chair as a poster!! Well done, Rhino/Reprise. Now release the brown 1971 "T.Rex" album with bonus tracks i.e. Deep Summer and I will be a truly happy man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, February 8, 2008
This review is from: ELECTRIC WARRIOR [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
An excellent album from start to finish. Definitely Marc Bolan's masterpiece.
Be aware that the album does not include bonus tracks as listed on Amazon. It's the album with the 11 songs we know and love. Rhino's remastered CD version does include extra tracks and an interview. The album is pressed on 180 gram vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNIQUE, April 7, 2001
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
Where do I start? This is still my favorite T-Rex album. Marc did something remarkable and very cool in the early '70's: fusing commercial-sounding guitar-riffs with a melancholy, sublime and highly poetic sentiment that was unmistakably his own. Just listen to that strange elfin voice, crooning such deep wistfulness on the slow tracks like "Cosmic Dancer". Listen to the bizarre campy feeling of "Rip Off", when he affects a growling sort of shout. If you're interested in glam-rock, you should know that Marc Bolan was a close friend of the "king" of glam-rock, David Bowie, and Bowie's song "Lady Stardust" was inspired by Marc, who sang his "songs of darkness and disgrace" most beautifully on Electric Warrior.
To complain about the commercial aspect of this album is to miss the point. The commercial-ness consists only in the deliberately campy guitar-riffs, which were balanced by Marc's beautiful croon and the excellent percussion section by Mickey Finn, to which were added the eerie background vocals. That's what glam-rock was about- the conjunction of lowness with stateliness.
My favorite song is "Life's a Gas": "I could have turned you into a priestess/ I could have burned your fate in the sand/ Bu-uut it a' really doesn't matter at all/ No it a' really doesn't matter at all/ Li-ife's a gas- hope it's gonna last!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not allow Marc Bolan to be forgotten! Buy this album!, July 8, 2000
By 
Rahshad Black (Moreno Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
In the early 70's rock landscape, few things had the power of pure glam-rock. David Bowie, Roxy Music, New York Dolls, and of course T Rex all gained popularity, sometimes underground, and more in England than the U.S., but are all worth a second listen. Bowie lives on, as does his musical legacy; Roxy Music gets their due from numerous band citing them as an influence; New York Dolls were a mere Rolling Stones clone in bad drag, and they still get more credit than Marc Bolan and T Rex. Unfourtunatly, his wandering lyrical ideas and softer-than-Ziggy glam pop didn't catch on this side of the Atlantic. "Mambo Sun", "Jeepster" and "Planet Queen" typify their moving, mid-tempo style that is both catchy and well orchestrated. Quicker, riffy songs like "The Motivator" and the hit "Bang a Gong (Get it On)" take this style a step further. A pleasant Beatles influence is found on "Girl" and "Rip Off" displays a nod to the Rolling Stones heavy rhythm style without sounding derviative. Overall, everything is made into a singular experience, with the aide of the behind-the-scenes glam superhero, producer Tony Visconti. This album is a classic, and should be rediscovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth The Upgrade, June 26, 2003
By 
Thomas Shea (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
This is one reissue that is definitely worth your money. The remastering makes this classic album punchier and even more delectable. In case you don't know, Electric Warrior is a blast. It's one of those rare albums that sounds like a band having a party in the studio. There is nothing deep about this music. It's just uplifting, sexy, rocking grooves that make you shake your ***.

I'm no T. Rex/Marc Bolan expert. But compared to the few other T. Rex albums I've bought, this one is their most nuanced and varied. This was the record that Bolan was hoping would break them in America (as mentioned in the bonus interview). When that didn't happen, he sank into obscurity and eventual self-parody. Never again would T Rex sound as fresh and exciting as they do on Electric Warrior.

Anyway, this is one of the crucial rock albums of the 1970s and probably THE quintessential glam rock album. Sure, Bowie's Ziggy Stardust was a higher-concept affair, but it is also much more dated. The Rhino remaster freshens up this already timeless album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most influential albums of the 1970's, June 3, 2006
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
In my opinion, T.Rex is one of the most underated bands of all time. I also belive this is one of the greatest rock n' roll albums of all time. Next to Bowie's Ziggy Stardust, this is the most difinitive album of the Glam Rock era. Every song is great, and the extras make the album even better. Marc Bolan was a true musical genious, and one of the great forgotten artists. I would recomend this to any fan of old school rock.

HOGEY OUT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Hard Album to Top, October 23, 2001
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
This is one of my all time favorites - if not THE favorite album in my collection. I remember seeing a picture of Marc Bolan in the early 80's and thought to myself, man, this guy looks wild - I've got to hear what his music is like. Thus began my odyssey to get my hands on anything associated with Marc Bolan.
This album was the starting point - and it's a true gem. From the opening track, the hypnotic, sultry "Mambo Sun" to bombasitc guitars and violins on the closer "Rip Off", it's the perfect album - the centerpiece of UK Glam rock in the 70's.
Tony Visconti's involvement here brings the album full circle. The mix of Bolan's poems set to music mingled with Tony's production and orchestral arrangements are captured perfectly in "Cosmic Dancer," my favorite track on the album.
There's not a bad song here. If you're curious and want to know more about Marc Bolan and his band, T.Rex, look no further than this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Electric Warrior
Electric Warrior by Marc Bolan & T Rex (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.