Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Installment in the Dead Space series. An EPIC chapter in the story
Lets cut to the chase. Dead Space 3 is fantastic

I've read plenty of other peoples perspectives on the game, and as usual, I'm somewhat baffled at the negative reviews. I'll refrain from commenting on the source of the negative reviews, as we're all used to these awful reviews for video games each time a new one comes out. Its become almost silly how the...
Published 21 months ago by Nanohead

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not that good.
I loved the previous two entries in the series. The first had by far the best plot, the second cleaned up some of the action, had more diverse environments, and the gameplay really flowed. But this one.... Well, it's intentionally designed to be played as a cooperative game, which makes it harder to get into. Playing a horror game with major co-op elements inevitably...
Published 22 months ago by Mark E. Zuckerman


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Installment in the Dead Space series. An EPIC chapter in the story, March 11, 2013
By 
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
Lets cut to the chase. Dead Space 3 is fantastic

I've read plenty of other peoples perspectives on the game, and as usual, I'm somewhat baffled at the negative reviews. I'll refrain from commenting on the source of the negative reviews, as we're all used to these awful reviews for video games each time a new one comes out. Its become almost silly how the insanely toxic negative reviews come out 2 hours after games become available. Obviously people don't play through the games to understand them.

Now, onto DS3. This is an operatic continuation to the DS series, with much of the critical mass of DS2 being picked up on, including some of the characters, and a portion of the storyline, and the gameplay in spirit at least. The action is nearly identical to DS2, with the same feeling of the controls, and same basic pacing. There are plenty of disgusting necromorphs to kill. They explode beautifully into a pile of creature debris....

This installment is much more story driven than the previous games. Its worth it to watch the 2 Dead Space movies if you can find them (they are on various streaming services). The whole story line will fill in for you, and Dead Space 3 will make much more sense. The story is actually quite ambitious and fulfilling, even if it is an amalgamation of numerous space/horror shooters.

The storyline is even bigger and more ambitious than the previous installments, as the characters are now closing in on the source of the plague and the original markers. A portion of the game is in space, where the feeling of weightlessness and disorientation is better than ever. There's an amazing portion where you are in a space suit, and you have to maneuver through a huge debris field in deep space, picking parts and junk from all sorts of broken space craft. Its really awesome, if not dizzying.

The planet bound adventures take place on a variety of locations, with lots of new baddies to shoot. The ice planet is filled with interesting nooks and crannies, that hide creatures as well as stuff. There are plenty of scares to be had, but candidly, we're all used to the creatures jumping out of all sorts of crevices now, so we're all ready for it...it probably feels less shocking than the first game, where you had no idea what was going to happen.

As far as the gameplay, its a refined version of what we saw in DS2. Some things succeed, while others take a bit of time to understand and may work less optimally. The whole resource gathering to make weapons thing is a bit tough to get the hang of, and probably didn't need to exist. Its confusing and wasn't necessary, although the notion of gathering junk to make new weapon types isn't anything new to video games (RPGs mostly) While it clearly makes sense in the Dead Space series, it doesn't actually add to the game, as you can only have 2 weapons, and none are all that great anyway. It takes till much later in the game for the whole weapon construction thing to start being useful. Its definitely not a high point, although there is nothing wrong with it in concept, the execution of the whole thing leaves a bit to be desired. You never really know what weapons are good, bad, useless, are slow, fast, etc. You have to make them, then try them, then disassemble them, etc. There have been much more reasonable and successful weapon crafting mechanisms/schemes in many other games (Fallout 3 comes to mind, as do many others).

All video games have annoying things to them, even the great ones. DS3 has too many boss type battles during the course of the early part of the story for my taste, as I find they waste inordinate amounts of time, and while they're mostly straightforward, they are annoying. The save system has become totally automated, and now it becomes even more consolish in nature, where you have to play based on the developers time checks, rather than yours. This leads to the terrible feeling of doing checkpoints over and over and over and over till you want to pry your eyes out of your head. Additionally, the save system exhibits some random behaviors, where you can't tell where you are each time you start playing. They've also introduced something called "start from the storyline", which is different than starting from your last save. I have NO idea what the difference is. Totally confusing and borked to say the least.

So all in all, this is an incredible game, even if it does have some dopey operational decisions made by the designers. The Save system is definitely a low point, but it does do something, even though we're all not sure exactly what it does most of the time. Other than that, the other annoyances are very minor, in comparison to how amazing the overall game and story are.

And finally, the music is AMAZING. The score is epic.. just incredible. The voice acting is terrific as well, and the entire aural experience is otherworldly. All in all, this game is remarkable in its ambition, its sweep, and its breadth. Hope they keep making them

FINAL POINT: If you like the story, and scifi in general, its definitely worth it to watch the animated Dead Space movies on whatever streaming service you may have. It makes a world of difference to how you may think about the game and the whole series in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not that good., March 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
I loved the previous two entries in the series. The first had by far the best plot, the second cleaned up some of the action, had more diverse environments, and the gameplay really flowed. But this one.... Well, it's intentionally designed to be played as a cooperative game, which makes it harder to get into. Playing a horror game with major co-op elements inevitably makes the characters seem moronic at times. They need to keep coming up with ways for you to explore things all by yourself, even if that means everyone else sits around the one safe place while you have to go explore the creepy facility crawling with monsters all by yourself. The story was at times pretty silly even beyond that; the love triangle bit seemed particularly forced. The explanation of the markers, while perhaps consistent, ends up coming across as completely absurd. The main character also suffers from a similar problem as John McClane from Die Hard: the first time you see him, he's a regular guy, doing the best he can in a crazy situation. But now it's almost like he's a superhero, just mowing through guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They finally did it.As good as re5 and 6., August 4, 2014
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
1 was ok.2 was good.this is the best imo.

graphics:clear, colorful and still retains the artstyle of the first 2.

gameplay:Still has some chore areas but bearable compared to the first two.

story: was not a strong point in any of them but it got the job done.

Online:almost perfect.

Sound design:One of the best in gaming history.These people took their time with the sound design.Masters of synthesis and sampling.

Things to consider: easy mode in this is normal mode in the first two.
Certain things that made the first two tense show up more.puzzles are longer but not as dull.More difficult "sequences in space"
the store is replaced with the gear areas.Boss battles for the most part lack the scope of the first one's finale.
Shooting the monsters in the chest is not effective at all, so these will be scarier and actually makes you hesitant to proceed further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ds3, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
If you liked the first two games then this is a worthy game in the series for sure. It has the same feel as the first two but is refined alot more by allowing you to create your own weapons and has some side missions for metal etc. you my want or need. Graphics look good as well and game is pretty long so i think you get your moneys worth of playing time plus replay value is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game and an ok story, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
The game itself is pretty good but a little too easy even on the highest difficulty. Although it would be a while before I try it again, those who like a challenge should play the game in classic mode. I would say the story could have been better. It's a good story that was completely destroyed by its climax. The game play is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, June 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
This is a good game, and I especially love the graphics. My only complaint is Origin. I hate EA's Origin, and I wish they would just use Steam. Origin is a hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
I don't play co-op or multi-player so I can't comment on that aspect, but as a standalone single player game Dead Space 3 is great. The graphics, sound, atmosphere, etc are top notch just like in DS 1 and 2 (Both great too!). There is a bit of subplot between Isaac, Ellie and the new guy in her life but I actually like that. It adds some depth to the game. I'm running Win 7 64 with an older Radeon 6770 vid card and the game runs flawlessly on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very fun coop game, May 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
I played this game all the way through with coop and I highly enjoyed it. While fans of the past might be turned off by its more action oriented nature, I still found the game very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
I loved, to play Dead Space complete trilogy. The best one is Dead Space 2, but is a trilogy you must play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular game!, April 12, 2014
By 
Charles Young (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
Great follow up to the series. Better than 2 in my opinion, but lesser than the first, but that's just how it goes, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dead Space 3 [Download]
Dead Space 3 [Download] by Electronic Arts
$19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.