Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Space 3 is Awesome!
The graphics are awesome at 1920x1080 23in HD LCD Nvidia GTX260 i7 1st Gen 3.0Ghz, AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3Ghz Nvidia 630GT 2GB and just as good on my 14in notebook computer i7 2nd Gen 2.7Ghz with ATI switchable graphics. Graphics are either preset (high, very high, etc...) or configurable with custom. I have mine set to Very High on both desktops and High on the...
Published 17 months ago by Rudolph Puskas

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not that good.
I loved the previous two entries in the series. The first had by far the best plot, the second cleaned up some of the action, had more diverse environments, and the gameplay really flowed. But this one.... Well, it's intentionally designed to be played as a cooperative game, which makes it harder to get into. Playing a horror game with major co-op elements inevitably...
Published 17 months ago by Mark E. Zuckerman


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not that good., March 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
I loved the previous two entries in the series. The first had by far the best plot, the second cleaned up some of the action, had more diverse environments, and the gameplay really flowed. But this one.... Well, it's intentionally designed to be played as a cooperative game, which makes it harder to get into. Playing a horror game with major co-op elements inevitably makes the characters seem moronic at times. They need to keep coming up with ways for you to explore things all by yourself, even if that means everyone else sits around the one safe place while you have to go explore the creepy facility crawling with monsters all by yourself. The story was at times pretty silly even beyond that; the love triangle bit seemed particularly forced. The explanation of the markers, while perhaps consistent, ends up coming across as completely absurd. The main character also suffers from a similar problem as John McClane from Die Hard: the first time you see him, he's a regular guy, doing the best he can in a crazy situation. But now it's almost like he's a superhero, just mowing through guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Space 3 is Awesome!, February 13, 2013
By 
Rudolph Puskas (Philadelphia, Pa. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
The graphics are awesome at 1920x1080 23in HD LCD Nvidia GTX260 i7 1st Gen 3.0Ghz, AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3Ghz Nvidia 630GT 2GB and just as good on my 14in notebook computer i7 2nd Gen 2.7Ghz with ATI switchable graphics. Graphics are either preset (high, very high, etc...) or configurable with custom. I have mine set to Very High on both desktops and High on the notebook and they look great. DirectX 11, don't see an option, but don't think it is needed since the graphic already look awesome! Only two out of three of my PC's would support it anyway.

I started out with Dead Space 2 and then bought 1 and with Dead Space 3, I pre-ordered expecting all the great things two had and more.
Somethings to expect;
1. Good graphics
2. unexpected scares/surprises
3. a new revamped weapon bench that is way better than the first two Dead Space - find the parts to build different weapons like the Pulse rifle, Line gun, or Plasma Cutter (Heavy Elite Frame, Tesla Core, attachment top/bottom tools, top/bottom tips. See the screenshots I posted.
4. auto save, so you don't have to stop at save stations, you can jump back to chapters/side missions with your current weapons.
5. you don't have to do co-op, but it is a neat addition, 2-3 side missions are for co-op play only that I have noticed.
6. power nodes have been replaced with chips (2+ damage -1 reload)
7. all ammo is combined, other supplies - health packs, and stasis.
8. blue prints to build certain weapons or create your own.

This is no doubt an awesome continuation of the Dead Space story and game play with a lot of additions.

UPDATE: 02-20-13 - The Dead Space team really did some work on this game. The details with in the game are some amazing art work. I was amazed with DS2 and bought DS1, but had to configure DS1 so the mouse would work better. Even though DS1 wasn't a perfect port to the PC, it was still a great game to play, which I'm still enjoying. DS2 is an improvement over DS1 for the PC graphics/mouse movement and DS3 is a continuation with more improvements than DS2. I'm playing Game+ mode, which has some new stuff like (Damage +3 Rate of Fire +1) to power up the weapons that DS2 didn't have. I'm also playing a fresh start in Hard mode and it really challenges your skills in shooting accuracy and the ability to build a better weapon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's okay to buy this one!, February 12, 2013
By 
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
I only play Shooters and for this 3rd intallment of the Dead Space saga, there's plenty of shooting for everyone!

What I like:

1. The scene! jaw dropping artwork. the levels and how they're designed is just fun to stop and look at every detail!
2. the continuation of Isaac's torment! I'm glad that EA stuck to the linear story! most game designers forget what had happened in previous installments.
3. it's fun to play. I especially like how the Necromorphs appear not only in front of you, but behind you; on the side; on the ceiling; and from underneath you!

What I don't like:

1. Having to buy the "Extras" in order to really play the game in Butt-Kickin' Mode! it's like the old days when everything on a car was an "Option."
2. the story drops and turns too quickly at some points, and leaves no explanation on what just happened....you'll see what I mean.
3. the cheesy game menu and loading interface. EA copied that crappy game, Hard Reset's pregame loader. whatever....

so, my recommendation? BUY IT! It's just fun to play and re-play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Installment in the Dead Space series. An EPIC chapter in the story, March 11, 2013
By 
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
Lets cut to the chase. Dead Space 3 is fantastic

I've read plenty of other peoples perspectives on the game, and as usual, I'm somewhat baffled at the negative reviews. I'll refrain from commenting on the source of the negative reviews, as we're all used to these awful reviews for video games each time a new one comes out. Its become almost silly how the insanely toxic negative reviews come out 2 hours after games become available. Obviously people don't play through the games to understand them.

Now, onto DS3. This is an operatic continuation to the DS series, with much of the critical mass of DS2 being picked up on, including some of the characters, and a portion of the storyline, and the gameplay in spirit at least. The action is nearly identical to DS2, with the same feeling of the controls, and same basic pacing. There are plenty of disgusting necromorphs to kill. They explode beautifully into a pile of creature debris....

This installment is much more story driven than the previous games. Its worth it to watch the 2 Dead Space movies if you can find them (they are on various streaming services). The whole story line will fill in for you, and Dead Space 3 will make much more sense. The story is actually quite ambitious and fulfilling, even if it is an amalgamation of numerous space/horror shooters.

The storyline is even bigger and more ambitious than the previous installments, as the characters are now closing in on the source of the plague and the original markers. A portion of the game is in space, where the feeling of weightlessness and disorientation is better than ever. There's an amazing portion where you are in a space suit, and you have to maneuver through a huge debris field in deep space, picking parts and junk from all sorts of broken space craft. Its really awesome, if not dizzying.

The planet bound adventures take place on a variety of locations, with lots of new baddies to shoot. The ice planet is filled with interesting nooks and crannies, that hide creatures as well as stuff. There are plenty of scares to be had, but candidly, we're all used to the creatures jumping out of all sorts of crevices now, so we're all ready for it...it probably feels less shocking than the first game, where you had no idea what was going to happen.

As far as the gameplay, its a refined version of what we saw in DS2. Some things succeed, while others take a bit of time to understand and may work less optimally. The whole resource gathering to make weapons thing is a bit tough to get the hang of, and probably didn't need to exist. Its confusing and wasn't necessary, although the notion of gathering junk to make new weapon types isn't anything new to video games (RPGs mostly) While it clearly makes sense in the Dead Space series, it doesn't actually add to the game, as you can only have 2 weapons, and none are all that great anyway. It takes till much later in the game for the whole weapon construction thing to start being useful. Its definitely not a high point, although there is nothing wrong with it in concept, the execution of the whole thing leaves a bit to be desired. You never really know what weapons are good, bad, useless, are slow, fast, etc. You have to make them, then try them, then disassemble them, etc. There have been much more reasonable and successful weapon crafting mechanisms/schemes in many other games (Fallout 3 comes to mind, as do many others).

All video games have annoying things to them, even the great ones. DS3 has too many boss type battles during the course of the early part of the story for my taste, as I find they waste inordinate amounts of time, and while they're mostly straightforward, they are annoying. The save system has become totally automated, and now it becomes even more consolish in nature, where you have to play based on the developers time checks, rather than yours. This leads to the terrible feeling of doing checkpoints over and over and over and over till you want to pry your eyes out of your head. Additionally, the save system exhibits some random behaviors, where you can't tell where you are each time you start playing. They've also introduced something called "start from the storyline", which is different than starting from your last save. I have NO idea what the difference is. Totally confusing and borked to say the least.

So all in all, this is an incredible game, even if it does have some dopey operational decisions made by the designers. The Save system is definitely a low point, but it does do something, even though we're all not sure exactly what it does most of the time. Other than that, the other annoyances are very minor, in comparison to how amazing the overall game and story are.

And finally, the music is AMAZING. The score is epic.. just incredible. The voice acting is terrific as well, and the entire aural experience is otherworldly. All in all, this game is remarkable in its ambition, its sweep, and its breadth. Hope they keep making them

FINAL POINT: If you like the story, and scifi in general, its definitely worth it to watch the animated Dead Space movies on whatever streaming service you may have. It makes a world of difference to how you may think about the game and the whole series in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ds3, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
If you liked the first two games then this is a worthy game in the series for sure. It has the same feel as the first two but is refined alot more by allowing you to create your own weapons and has some side missions for metal etc. you my want or need. Graphics look good as well and game is pretty long so i think you get your moneys worth of playing time plus replay value is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The game is pretty good. It does have a bad glitch, July 26, 2014
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
The game is pretty good. It does have a bad glitch. The game will freeze Isaac in the aiming mode. This means you can't climb ladders, stomp, run or operate the bench. I've tried to play it three times. I've gotten far as trying to get the shuttle going and that's it. I may start over one more time. After that I'm sending a letter to EA asking for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game and an ok story, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
The game itself is pretty good but a little too easy even on the highest difficulty. Although it would be a while before I try it again, those who like a challenge should play the game in classic mode. I would say the story could have been better. It's a good story that was completely destroyed by its climax. The game play is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Origin is terrible, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
never buy anything that has anything to do with origin. this game is awesome and origin only rips you off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, June 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
This is a good game, and I especially love the graphics. My only complaint is Origin. I hate EA's Origin, and I wish they would just use Steam. Origin is a hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Space 3 [Download] (Software Download)
I don't play co-op or multi-player so I can't comment on that aspect, but as a standalone single player game Dead Space 3 is great. The graphics, sound, atmosphere, etc are top notch just like in DS 1 and 2 (Both great too!). There is a bit of subplot between Isaac, Ellie and the new guy in her life but I actually like that. It adds some depth to the game. I'm running Win 7 64 with an older Radeon 6770 vid card and the game runs flawlessly on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dead Space 3 [Download]
Dead Space 3 [Download] by Electronic Arts
$19.99 $17.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.