Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explosive fun
An Irish dynamiter, blowing up Nazis. In an "open world" Paris of the 1940s. What could go wrong? Well, not much, actually - apart from a slight lack of polish in a few places (the enemy A.I. for instance, although on the PC that's fully adjustable at the file level). This PC game is a lot of fun for someone who's never played GTA or Assassin's Creed (both games which...
Published on December 15, 2009 by Stokie Dave

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent shooter
The Saboteur was a decent diversion, though not quite what I expected. I'm a big fan of the Hitman series, and I thought that this game would be similar, given the title. While there are a number of stealth missions, the Saboteur is primarily a standard third-person shooter with some stealth elements thrown in. Once you realize this, you can accept the game for what it is...
Published on March 9, 2011 by Andrew C.


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explosive fun, December 15, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Saboteur - PC (Video Game)
An Irish dynamiter, blowing up Nazis. In an "open world" Paris of the 1940s. What could go wrong? Well, not much, actually - apart from a slight lack of polish in a few places (the enemy A.I. for instance, although on the PC that's fully adjustable at the file level). This PC game is a lot of fun for someone who's never played GTA or Assassin's Creed (both games which The Saboteur borrows from). The art direction is excellent and is consistently imaginative, although the lack of forced PC anti-aliasing and the chunky on-screen interface both detract somewhat from your view of the beautiful game-world. The sharp and funny script is written in the style of a 1940s pulp novel (think Doc Savage), and the black and white graphics and art-deco models certainly help to evoke the period. Period 1940s cabaret and jazz music is used. Dialogue is suitably hammy and over the top, but some of the accents can be strained. The game's "open world" is genuinely large (12 square miles in total, with 1940s Paris recreated in about 3.5 square miles) and genuinely free-roaming. The game installed perfectly and ran perfectly for me on Windows 7, with excellent frame-rates even when all eye-candy was set to maximum. Talking of eye-candy, there's plenty here of the young female variety - this is a game that's resolutely targeted at a male audience. Your hero hides out in a classy brothel, venturing out for a wide variety of stealthy "quiet in, noisy out" missions. Hardcore gamers may have seen all The Saboteur's elements before, but for those who have never played GTA or the mass of me-too WWII shooters, and who have been attracted to The Saboteur for its novel premise and unusual visual aesthetic, the game is an engaging and genuinely fun experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing game that absolutely DOES work on ATI cards, April 23, 2010
By 
Softy (New England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Saboteur - PC (Video Game)
Just a quick note for those worried about picking this game up to play with their ATI card. It absolutely DOES work once you download the 1.03 beta patch. In fact, it works so well I've been playing it every waking second since I picked it up last week. It's so immersive and addictive it's actually cutting into my work productivity.

I did have to turn some of the video settings down to run the race portions, and I've had a -very- occasional crash (once per 48 hours of solid play, on average), but that's better than some recent games with full support.

I'm not usually a fan of sandbox games. The only GTA game I could finish was 4, because the idea of a hoodlum protagonist just didn't appeal to me. I was drawn to the game for the stealth action aspect, which has not disappointed. This game is much more forgiving than Hitman or Death to Spies, but is no less fun. The use of color and environment really adds to the atmosphere.

In short, if you're at all a fan of stealth action or sandbox play, this one is definitely worth checking out. And if you have an ATI card, just google "saboteur beta 1.03 patch." It's a small, fast and easy to find download. One click install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, January 17, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur - PC (Video Game)
This game is a blast. Even after the story line is done with there are still over 1,000 different objectives. You can play for 10 hours just clearing objectives and find that a small portion of the map was actually cleaned of Nazis.
The game play and graphics are quite good and each scene is different from the last. The controls are the same as any first person shooter and fit very nicely into the game. There is an extreme amount of freedom in how you can play each mission. Guns a blazin or clean and quiet, or maybe a combination of both. Think of this game like GTA and Assassins Creed based in Nazi occupied France. Definitely goes into my top 10 games of all time. Have fun with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past, April 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur [Download] (Software Download)
This is a gritty action game that lets you take a little trip back in time with plenty of explosive action. It was so fun I've been playing non-stop for a month.

I found the gray-world scenario strangely compelling, and yet at the same time a little corny. It's a conceit that lends itself more to a cartoony version of 1940s occupied Paris... especially when you cross the line into a "fight-back" zone and notice the stark contrast between the colors, the sudden jump from dark, cloudy sky to bright blue sky. On the other hand, the black and white areas do create a very ominous atmosphere which is very effective in re-creating the horrors of Nazi occupation.

I loved Sean's climbing ability. It was quite challenging sometimes to get up certain buildings, and it often came in quite handy in evading the Nazis. Being able to climb up chimneys and then shimmy across on a wire was pretty awesome.

The vehicles were great - fun to drive and much more easy handling than in a lot of other games such as GTA. Things really got fun when I was able to snag a tank.

I liked the fact that I learned of some of my missions via notes which were passed to me by random NPCs - I mean REALLY random. At one time, it was from a Nazi guard whom I only just happened to be standing near by pure chance. Perhaps I would have got that note from some other NPC if I hadn't happened to go near that Nazi - but then who knows.

The environment was pretty well-crafted. There were spots where the terrain got spotty, especially near the edges of playable space, and there were a couple of glitchy spots, where Sean ended up trapped in some wonky geometry and I had to make him kill himself in order to get out. But for the most part it's pretty solid and doesn't feel as repetitive as a lot of open-world games.

I found the open world free-play much more challenging than many other games of this type. Even thought the Nazis are rather dumb, they are a lot more alert than I'd thought, especially when I'm in disguise. They also have a crapload of firepower and fast vehicles which are difficult to evade in the narrow Paris streets.

Other actions such as finding the way up buildings to get to certain freeplay targets (such as scenic viewpoints) and just finding where a target might be was extremely challenging. In fact I'd submit that some of the freeplay targets were more challenging than the scripted missions. You really have to use your wits and ingenuity.

There are a lot of resources for making an interesting freeplay experience and setting up situations that either distract or delay Nazi pursuers. Such as setting up small roadblocks using all the cars you can snag. Or simply driving right at them when they're not paying attention. Doing this, I've been able to remove the guards from several targets without even raising an alarm.

The variability of the Nazi's alertness worked well - in some places you really have to keep alert in case you are seen, while others it seems they seem oblivious to you, but then do notice you if you make just the wrong moves. But once the Nazis do sound an alarm, getting away or getting to a hiding spot can be great, rowdy fun, which is a nice contrast to the tension of creeping along trying not to get caught.

About the scripted missions, I felt the number and variety of them was just about right. The missions were just staggered enough to where you didn't feel like you were trapped in a one-way, linear storyline (such as in Mafia 2) but you could play the story as you saw fit, along with all the freeplay objectives. The characters and story were interesting and didn't detract much from the action.

Now for the things I wasn't so crazy about...

-the music was too unvaried, and some of those songs were repeated so much that they started going through my head at random times when not playing the game. Also, Ella Fitzgerald sang a lot better songs than "Caravan."

-Also about the music: Some of the songs are anachronistic. "Feelin' Good" by Nina Simone was not even released until 1965. There was also a song I heard in the Cabaret headquarters, which is done by a modern group (I forgot the name). I would have liked a lot more classic 40s stuff such as Andrews Sisters, Bing Crosby, and Glen Miller.

-American music was banned by the Germans, who considered jazz to be an inferior art form. So you wouldn't have been able to ride around playing it on your car radio (even if you'd been allowed to have a car radio at all!).That's a minor concern, but it might have made some interesting freeplay if the Nazis heard the music and got suspicious.

-People wouldn't have been allowed to drive or walk around at night when the Nazis imposed curfews. Just getting around at night would have been another interesting and challenging freeplay opportunity if they'd enforced the curfew.

-The dialog from random NPCs was pretty lame. Rather, it wasn't dialog so much as people walking around talking to themselves and always about the same things, no matter where you went. I got sick of hearing about "gunfire before the bombing raid" Sean's random dialog was pretty dumb too. I felt the game could have done without any dialog at all unless it was made to sound more like natural conversation.

-Nazis were not the only ones to fear during the occupation. In fact, the Vichy goverment of France itself were as fearsome as the Nazis. They just didn't have quite as much firepower. Anyway, that could have been yet another freeplay or mission opportuntiy - to somehow play the Nazis against the Vichys and vice versa.

-The black marketeers would not have been able to operate quite so openly as in the game. However I don't quibble with that too much, as it made my dealers much easier to find!

Overall, a good, rolicking fun game which I highly recommend if you like sandbox-type games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, January 9, 2011
This review is from: The Saboteur [Download] (Software Download)
This game offers an excellent open environment in occupied Paris. Graphically, the game is very nice (though a little short of Mafia II's excellent graphics), although I love the artistic touch of making the heavily occupied portions of Paris in black and white, and the parts that have been somewhat freed are in color. The gameplay is a mixture of driving (primarily) and shooting, stealth, climbing buildings, etc. It's a lot of fun to drive around the city, kill Nazis and shoot down German Zeppelins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game, close to being a great game, April 16, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Saboteur - PC (Video Game)
Complaints:
-They didn't go far enough with some of the aspects, occasionally you feel like you're playing a mediocre shooter, a bad racing game etc.
-Kind or frequent clipping issues, and damage to car disappears and reappears frequently.
-A few more vehicles would be nice- other motorcycles without a sideccar, planes, boats.
-BIGGEST COMPLAINT-Terrible camera control when driving, seriously, you stare down at the car to the side or even behind the car for 50% of the time especially when driving fast. I always had to switch to 1st person so i didn't crash because I could not see what was coming any other way.

Despite these it's still a lot of fun, read on for what I liked:

The game runs fine on highest settings on a homebuilt with an AMD phenom processor, nvidia 9600gt, 4gb ram, vista 64bit. A few crashes, maybe 5 over the entire length of the game. I played to 100% completion, which takes some time. The feel is similar to a gta game, but instead of a criminal you're killing nazis. Being the good guy is a nice change for the genre. It's also a lot like assassin's creed with climbing, finding viewpoints, hiding from alarms etc. No haystacks to jump in sadly. Graphics are nice, especially some of the car models. It runs smooth, even with twenty people running and shooting. Damage to cars is extremely unrealistic, as is their handling on dirt roads, but it makes the game easier, and maybe more fun. I was dissapointed in the lack of planes or boats to drive, but there are quite a few street cars, tanks, and some race cars. The map will tell you where all "freeplay" objectives are. It's actually fun to do them, not like typical collection side missions in gta. If there's a nazi V-2 base with sniper towers, AA guns etc., you can scout it out, stealth kill a patrolling guard, steal his uniform, sneak in and plant some explosives, and blow the place. Then escape from pursuing troops. It may grow tedious for some, but a lot of the freeplay targets throughout the map give unique situations. There's also a perk system based on accomplishments in the game, like getting 10 "double kills" with a sniper rifle. These unlock new cars, guns, or skills. I enjoyed it, and now that the price has dropped it's definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished game a lot of fun, May 29, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur - PC (Video Game)
This is a 'sandbox' game much in the same style as Grand Theft Auto or Mercenaries. You control a character who is undermining the Nazi presence in France by blowing things up, running missions for the resistance, and otherwise being a pain in the butt for those 'jackbooted arseholes'. The graphics are good, but what really stands out is the gameplay. Rarely in this game was I aggravated due to control issues or clipping. There is a lot of polish in this game. I have not experienced any crashes during gameplay (once in awhile if I exit to windows) and there is so much to do in this game so it's always interesting. A majority of the side missions consist of blowing things up; however you can approach your targets in a number of ways, and some are harder than others. You can earn perks for your character which is similar to 'leveling up' and it provides you with abilities such as 'no knockdown from explosions', or 'steadier hand when aiming with sniper rifle'. You also can earn the ability to call in resistance fighters to help you if things get sticky (and they always do). You can drive a number of different cars including tanks, motorcycles, and racing cars, all of which, once you jack them, can store in your garage to be called into service whenever you want. The controls are great, the driving is alot of fun, maybe a bit unrealistic, but fun nonetheless. This is a worthy title to add to anyone's collection with good graphics, great gameplay, tons of things to do, and yes, there is lots of nudity, if that's your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, December 28, 2009
By 
nhwf (California) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Saboteur - PC (Video Game)
This game is so fun from the sound effects to the storyline it is all complete. Everything you would want in an open world game and the fun aspects are very paid attention to. By fun aspects I mean the attention to detail and disregarding what other open world games tries to do which is make everything so real. As an example the being able to climb and jump makes it fun and the health meter which is similar to Call Of Duty games in that it recharges is one feature I've grown to love after playing COD Modern Warfare 2. This type of gameplay makes games what they are supposed to be, FUN! The Storyline is linear too and doesn't allow too much freedom, for instance if you want to be nasty and kill everyone in the club you can't because your character checks all his weapons at the counter, a scene that is only seen once. Good fun open ended games need direction and this one has it. Not to mention Action, if you want to unload a clip on an unsuspecting Nazi you will be very satisfied from the graphics to the sound of the gun popping off, not some cheap tinny crap sound effect but the sound of an actual gun going off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little-Known Treasure, February 6, 2012
By 
Nathan Seltzer (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur [Download] (Software Download)
I browse occasionally for cheap games that look like they might be fun. I picked up this gem and I'm glad I did.

If I had to sum up the game in a phrase, I'd say its Grand Theft Auto in WW2 Paris. But its really much more than that. It has a solid plot, with great characters and just a touch of film noir.

While the combat is fun and challenging, the driving is tight, and the cut scenes are very cool -- its the missions that are really the heart of the game. You get a series of missions that involving sabotaging the German invaders in occupied Paris. The missions range from assassinating a high ranking general in a guarded compound, to bombing a railroad bridge, to rescuing your fellow insurgents from prison camps. The missions all build on one another in a plot arc that culminates-- well I wont ruin it.

Along the way you acquire faster and cooler vehicles, evade the SS, rescue damsels in distress and become the most wanted former IRA member in Paris. What could be better?

5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent shooter, March 9, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur - PC (Video Game)
The Saboteur was a decent diversion, though not quite what I expected. I'm a big fan of the Hitman series, and I thought that this game would be similar, given the title. While there are a number of stealth missions, the Saboteur is primarily a standard third-person shooter with some stealth elements thrown in. Once you realize this, you can accept the game for what it is and have a bit of fun with it. However, if you are expecting this game to be about something other than firefights and explosion, then you'll be disappointed.

Gameplay: The Saboteur is a mix of various gameplay mechanics. It wants to be a stealth game (like Hitman), an urban sandbox (like GTA3), and a shooter (take your pick). Nonetheless, it does not bring all of these elements together successfully. Sean Devlin, the main character, is interesting and comical enough, and the world in which he lives (WWII Paris) is certainly big and well realized. However, the game does not really let you consistently roleplay Sean as a shadowy saboteur working for the French resistance. Most mission degenerate into a run-and-gun frenzy, even if you try to keep things quiet and secretive. Actually, the game just feels more natural when you are just unloading on Nazis, despite its half-hearted encouragement of the stealth approach. Again, once you get past the hopeless idea of playing this purely as a stealth game, it seems to make more sense, though it hardly distinguishes itself from every other WWII shooter out there.

There are some roleplaying elements in the Saboteur. Sean is more anti-hero than anything else, and his wry humor, gratuitous profanity, and uncanny exploits help to flesh out some of the characters around him. While Sean himself does not noticeably improve over the course of the game, he can unlock various weapons, perks, upgrades, cars, and other things. And there is a good deal of stuff to blow up, from watch towers and fuel depots to tanks and military installations. However, outside of the story missions, just blowing up random things around Paris gets old after a while. The only real payoff is a few dollars here and there and the colorizing of the black-and-white landscape, which is a nice effect. On the PC, the game controls are what you would expect for a shooter and work well. I found the in-game map screen to be a bit wonky, but no big deal.

Graphics: The game looks good. It has a very stylized feel and nicely captures the atmosphere of the time period. Character models and animations are well done, and Paris is beautifully portrayed. There is a lot of attention to detail, and nothing comes off as sloppy in this department. Note: There is some female nudity in the game, but it is not presented in a raunchy way.

Audio: The game has a great soundtrack, and the character accents are very convincing. Also, sound effects--such as gunfire, explosions, and car engines--are all what you would expect. No problems here.

Technical issues: The game comes with a thin manual, though it is functional. There are a lot of in-game tips, so no one should feel at a loss for how to play. I did experience about 5 crashes and freezes during about 30 hours of gameplay (even using the latest beta batch). However, I am not sure whether it was the game's fault or whether it was due to some recent overclocking that I've done to my CPU. Anyhow, the game was largely stable. Also, the DRM system consisted of only a disk check--none of the online authentication foolishness that you find in many PC games today. Finally, I just hated the checkpoint save system, and the game loses a star for this needless frustration.

Value/Replayability: I picked up this game for less than $10, so I feel that I got good value. It might be worth another playthrough in the future, but it is merely a decent game overall. As long as you don't go into this thinking that you are going to play some ultra-smooth character who does all of his work in the shadows, you might otherwise enjoy at least parts of this game. Bottom line, the Saboteur is mostly just a stylized shooter with some limited stealth gameplay.

Pros:
+Graphics and atmosphere
+Music
+Car collecting
+a few of the missions
+Nice selection of weapons
+Reasonable DRM

Cons:
-Not much stealth required or allowed
-Checkpoint save system
-Gratuitous profanity
-Possibly a few bugs

Overall score: 3.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Saboteur [Download]
The Saboteur [Download] by Electronic Arts
$19.99 $19.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.