Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Class, but Decent Book
If you have to take this class, all I can say is I'm so sorry and best of luck. It's difficult because of all of the math jargon. I got an A in my class (which had a horrible professor) because I was able to decrypt the equations and processes in the book.

Best advice I can give is to check out the MIT Open Courseware for the areas where you are struggling. The...
Published on December 29, 2012 by ReviewBoard

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How not to write a textbook.
The good: none.

The bad:
Techniques are taught in examples, not beforehand.
Ridiculously confusing notation.
Large steps in arithmetic and logic are left out.
Messy algebra for the sake of messy algebra -- what's the pedagogical value?
Overly difficult word problems that assume prior knowledge.
$150 for this?

Just...
Published on March 3, 2011 by sciencestudent


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How not to write a textbook., March 3, 2011
This review is from: Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (Hardcover)
The good: none.

The bad:
Techniques are taught in examples, not beforehand.
Ridiculously confusing notation.
Large steps in arithmetic and logic are left out.
Messy algebra for the sake of messy algebra -- what's the pedagogical value?
Overly difficult word problems that assume prior knowledge.
$150 for this?

Just another bad university textbook. Move along, nothing to see.

Update:

I'm still using this book in my differential equations II class. This book really is the epitome of garbage. Chapter 10 flawlessly exemplifies the confusing notation, blatant use of a CAS, and pointlessly messy algebra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good at all, March 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (Hardcover)
Save your money and buy Ordinary Differential Equations by Tennenbaum and Pollard, or use Paul's online math notes. I PROMISE you will not learn ANYTHING from this book. The exposition is confusing at best, and many important concepts are left as exercises. If you must use this book for a class, purchase an earlier edition for a cheaper price. If you are trying to learn differntial equations solely from this text, it will be rough sailing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 9th Edition, You Say?, January 4, 2011
Textbooks are big money; everyone knows that. But, now they aren't even trying to hide that new editions are only about the money. People make mistakes, even the infallible textbook authors, and improvements can often be made on anything, but after a few editions maybe it's time to give it a rest. You can go to any college library and find a plethora of great and decent differential equation books , almost all of which approach the subject much better than Boyce and DiPrima.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Class, but Decent Book, December 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have to take this class, all I can say is I'm so sorry and best of luck. It's difficult because of all of the math jargon. I got an A in my class (which had a horrible professor) because I was able to decrypt the equations and processes in the book.

Best advice I can give is to check out the MIT Open Courseware for the areas where you are struggling. The online lectures are extremely helpful.

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to follow, February 10, 2014
This review is from: Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (Hardcover)
Many of the exercises skip important steps in the process leaving the reader to interpret and over-analyze the exercises. It also doesn't help when there are often just one exercise for certain methods of solving ODEs. It makes learning the subject much more difficult. When it comes to doing the problems, sometimes they lump the hardest and most tedious ones right at the start, instead of allowing you to ease into them. The explanations are written in lengthy paragraphs which also seem to over complicate things. Overall, I would only buy it if it is required to do the problems, but otherwise a horrible book for learning differential equations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Found it Difficult to use on its own, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (Hardcover)
I personally do not like the writing style of this book. The authors go on winded explanations for paragraphs at a time, and I did not find the examples in the book particularly helpful. I can typically teach myself the majority of a course's material by reading the book, but in this case, it only served to confuse me.

Once my class had gone over the material already, I was able to follow each section of the book, but this was not very useful just from the way I learn and study. I would advise choosing a different book that gives more concise explanations than this.

I do however, need to admit that it goes over a fantastic variety of materials, and has a great deal of good problems at the end of each section, so if you do in fact know what you're doing (at least, more than me), than this book should certainly be very useful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars international edition warning, August 28, 2010
This review is from: Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (Hardcover)
okay, this is strike two according to my patience.

the 9th international edition (the paperback version) of this text does not match the 9th domestic edition in problem set ordering.

everyone knows why this is, i don't need to rant about it. just be forewarned. if you need this for a class, you'll be SOL unless you can use a friend's book or cramster to make sure you're on the right problem.

should i pretend to make this a review of the book, i'd be wasting my time. everyone else with complaints has already done my job. it's a difficult and confusing text with a lot of obscured operations in examples and a lot of numeric solutions that don't illustrate anything about what the answer represents. (it's a bit difficult to recognize 0.54406157 as 1-e^(-pi/4)). the SSM is terse and covers only a handful of the problems at that. ...oh wait, my bad, this isn't a review of the book.

this is a review of getting taken for a ride again by a publisher that feels the need to drag its market back into the sandbox by force of sheer aggravation. for that, i give it one star. i was more forgiving last time this happened, but maybe i'm a bit miffed by having to deal with the university's follett bookstore and have a little lower tolerance for this kind of tired old game.

cheers. (he says with a scowl)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The authors seem to assume we are geniuses, April 27, 2014
This review is from: Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (Hardcover)
Compared to textbooks for other math or math heavy courses I have taken this text gives far fewer worked examples. It also leaves students to work through quite a number of proofs or to derive formulas on their own. The written text does a poor job of helping the student to understand and develop strategies for solving problems. I also find that the text will leave too much out of explanations, assuming the reader will intuit the missing information. If it helps with credibility, I'm generally an A or A- student in math, and I would not recommend this textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version is Unuseable, August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This not a commentary on the content or the book itself, but the Kindle transfer is worse than useless. Equations are difficult to impossible to read (some are graphics that are far too small, some are "text" with overlapped, obscured or missing symbols). The representation even varies substantially between different versions of the Kindle app, but none are acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY A KINDLE EDITION, November 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the most difficult book to navigate using a kindle. The blotchy representation of pages on the Kindle and the Kindle app are difficult to read. You can not blow up the grainy images that are used to present the problems - some problems are represented as regular Kindle text and some are images. Many of the examples are images that do not expand in size and are difficult to read. It is too hard to move from page to page and nearly incomprehensible without that ability to reference previous pages. Please do not buy or rent the Kindle version it may turn out to be as frustrating for you as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems
Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems by Richard C. DiPrima (Hardcover - October 27, 2008)
$199.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.